• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore’s government lost US$600 million… what now?

no_life_boy

Who's bringing this up in Parliament?

What does a failed real estate deal in New York City have to do with an island nation 9579 miles away?

http://asiancorrespondent.com/104218/singapores-government-lost-us600-million-what-now/

In 2006, Tishman Speyer Properties and BlackRock Realty bought housing projects in Stuyvesant Town and Peter Cooper Village (both in Lower Manhattan) for US$5.4 billion. Built in the 1940s, it was meant to provide affordable housing in a city where costs were constantly going up. Laws were enacted to stabilise and regulate the rent.

The two real estate companies thought that money could be made from buying the housing projects, getting the rent-regulated tenants out and moving new tenants in at market rates. But when they were blocked after the tenants association went to court, the whole deal fell apart.

In its report, the NPR interviews Charles Bagli, a journalist who covered the purchase and went on to write the book Other People’s Money:

“They pretty much went through it unscathed,” Bagli says, “but CalPERS [the California Public Employees' Retirement System], the largest pension fund in the country, lost $500 million. Poof — gone. … Another pension fund down in Florida lost $250 million. The government of Singapore, well, they lost the most — over $600 million. It all just went poof.”

Over $600 million. This was Singapore’s loss from a deal that collapsed in 2010. In fact, an article published in January 2010 in The New York Times said:

The Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, which made a $575 million secondary loan, and invested as much as $200 million in equity, stands to lose all of that.

This is not the only time Singapore’s sovereign wealth funds have lost money; plenty more have been written off through failed investments like in Wall Street banks. In 2008, Temasek Holdings – the country’s other sovereign wealth fund – admitted to losing over US$46 billion in just eight months, from March to November. GIC is expected to have lost at least the same amount.

Every time such a loss occurs, a small fuss – usually online – may or may not occur. Coverage in the local press will probably come in the form of a straight report without much more – after all, Singapore’s press doesn’t usually subscribe to the ‘Fourth Estate’ role. Then the whole thing will fade away and things will continue with little or no significant change.

It’s a situation that may work out very well for those who have escaped taking the rap for botched investments, but doesn’t help Singapore or Singaporeans in the long run. The lack of accountability makes it a dangerous game – large amounts of money have already been lost without anyone really being the wiser, making one wonder if we will ever hit that moment when too much money is lost. If that ever happens, it will be far too late for us to demand accountability.

All we’ll be able to do then will be to ask ourselves, “Why didn’t we pay attention sooner?”

sinkie, just suck thumb and pretend nothing is happen and keep on paying ur taxes and vpf as usual... that is what sinkie do best.

enterprise2

Who's bringing this up in Parliament?

What does a failed real estate deal in New York City have to do with an island nation 9579 miles away?

http://asiancorrespondent.com/104218/singapores-government-lost-us600-million-what-now/

In 2006, Tishman Speyer Properties and BlackRock Realty bought housing projects in Stuyvesant Town and Peter Cooper Village (both in Lower Manhattan) for US$5.4 billion. Built in the 1940s, it was meant to provide affordable housing in a city where costs were constantly going up. Laws were enacted to stabilise and regulate the rent.

The two real estate companies thought that money could be made from buying the housing projects, getting the rent-regulated tenants out and moving new tenants in at market rates. But when they were blocked after the tenants association went to court, the whole deal fell apart.

In its report, the NPR interviews Charles Bagli, a journalist who covered the purchase and went on to write the book Other People’s Money:

“They pretty much went through it unscathed,” Bagli says, “but CalPERS [the California Public Employees' Retirement System], the largest pension fund in the country, lost $500 million. Poof — gone. … Another pension fund down in Florida lost $250 million. The government of Singapore, well, they lost the most — over $600 million. It all just went poof.”

Over $600 million. This was Singapore’s loss from a deal that collapsed in 2010. In fact, an article published in January 2010 in The New York Times said:

The Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, which made a $575 million secondary loan, and invested as much as $200 million in equity, stands to lose all of that.

This is not the only time Singapore’s sovereign wealth funds have lost money; plenty more have been written off through failed investments like in Wall Street banks. In 2008, Temasek Holdings – the country’s other sovereign wealth fund – admitted to losing over US$46 billion in just eight months, from March to November. GIC is expected to have lost at least the same amount.

Every time such a loss occurs, a small fuss – usually online – may or may not occur. Coverage in the local press will probably come in the form of a straight report without much more – after all, Singapore’s press doesn’t usually subscribe to the ‘Fourth Estate’ role. Then the whole thing will fade away and things will continue with little or no significant change.

It’s a situation that may work out very well for those who have escaped taking the rap for botched investments, but doesn’t help Singapore or Singaporeans in the long run. The lack of accountability makes it a dangerous game – large amounts of money have already been lost without anyone really being the wiser, making one wonder if we will ever hit that moment when too much money is lost. If that ever happens, it will be far too late for us to demand accountability.

All we’ll be able to do then will be to ask ourselves, “Why didn’t we pay attention sooner?”

The gahment is saying 'So what if we lost $600 m, we made more than $1000 mil' should we be concerned with this logic?

Bigfuck

The gahment is saying 'So what if we lost $600 m, we made more than $1000 mil' should we be concerned with this logic?

Which was made at a loss of 60,000 million. P&L is based on annual realization. Limbeh look at 10 years. LKY could have begged I banks to help him to level out his losses and wins with us paying for the rollovers made to look like investments when it is interest payments. It is a very simple math game to play.

CPF minimum sum raised to $1,000,000 in line with resale flat value, withdrawal age raised to 75 years of age. Retirement age at 65 years, up ten years from current 55 years.

Bigfuck

CPF minimum sum raised to $1,000,000 in line with resale flat value, withdrawal age raised to 75 years of age. Retirement age at 65 years, up ten years from current 55 years.

Make it 76 lah, in line with life expectancy, 9 years higher than the first pension payout age suggested in Germany. Then pay you 1K a mth but decreases 100 per mth every year as you need less as you grow old. So at 87, must pay 100 per mth back to govt for living too long.

Bigfuck

Make it 76 lah, in line with life expectancy, 9 years higher than the first pension payout age suggested in Germany. Then pay you 1K a mth but decreases 100 per mth every year as you need less as you grow old. So at 87, must pay 100 per mth back to govt for living too long.

cunnosieur

images

coogans

They should have used the money and done online betting then maybe their returns would have been better. Some of the bros here could have given them sound advice on how to do this type of betting.

escher

600 million loss is peanuts to those maggots in white.

They will give themselves bonuses for losing so little compared to the fucking billions that they lost here there and everywhere.

One wonders if the CPF is solvent. The government doesn't publish the financials of the CPF or GIC or Temasek. And these are the three entities that are controlling the country's wealth. What does the government got to hide?

Bigfuck

One wonders if the CPF is solvent. The government doesn't publish the financials of the CPF or GIC or Temasek. And these are the three entities that are controlling the country's wealth. What does the government got to hide?

Too many things. No department is aware what the other is doing. Like the cowards the fake scholars are, each one tries to hide the failure they did by pumping up fake numbers and wait only to get promoted to the next division. As such such there is no long term plan of anything. CPF is defacto zero. Or else, the game would have had been to make HDB cheap and lock 250K into the special account.

knn ..... cpf duit loongjoong habis !!!:oIo::biggrin:

Already habis long time ago. Only daft Sinkies dream of one day taking out non-existent money which is nothing more than indirect taxation eating into your disposable income.

Can you 'take back' money which you have given to the IRAS when you file your taxes?

How to make them accountable? It is high time the president start asking questions instead of shaking hands only.