• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sideswipe Column - Article 3 - Belmont Lay

Preamble

The Sideswipe column features writers, commentators, observers of politics as well as politicians who have taken the trouble to write about a matter that they have no clue about, inadvertently put their foot or both feet in their mouth or on a trajectory for the wrong kind of fame. Belmont by now is no stranger to this ilk.

One day, someone should sit down with him and ask him who Cherian's brother-in-law is and why he is working in a Govt organisation. Belmont who was rejected by SPH as a cub reporter and the other half of Nicole Seah and a potential cousin in law of our most recognised forummer was the chap who wrote the sterling article on TKL or should it be hatchet job.

Enjoy
[h=2]_________________________________________________________________
In George we trust
[/h]Posted on 26 December 2011

check-big.png

Cherian George haters be damned.
By Belmont Lay
Cherian George has been researching about media ever since "The Internet" was known as "Cyberspace".

In the past few days, a lot of haters have come out to lay the smack down on NTU’s Cherian George.
Why? Because they are unhappy with what they deemed to be Cherian’s unwarranted criticism of The Online Citizen’s lax reporting standards.
Cherian, you see, pointed out that one of TOC’s blogivists applied quotation marks rather luxuriously on Seng Han Thong’s mis-speech on BlogTV, fudging the meaning of what the beleaguered MP actually said and meant.
I don’t know about you, but let me insist on this: Haters, be damned.
Look, Cherian plies his trade as a media academic. It is his right to speak authoritatively, especially about media-related issues, without fear or favour.
If TOC cannot use quotation marks properly, he can tell them to get their shit together and learn how to better punctuate.
No big deal.
Moreover, I am certain that long after this debacle featuring Seng Han Thong is over, I, for one, can still count on Cherian to continue his scholarship in media research and related topics in Singapore.
What can the haters contribute?
It doesn’t take a savant to understand this: Most of Cherian’s scholarship will continue to go towards informing our understanding of policies and politics in Singapore from the media’s perspective.
Plenty of his past work have helped countless students, academics and lay observers appreciate and manoeuvre the profundities of the Singapore system in the media domain and beyond.
Obviously, Cherian’s sagely advice will be dependable in the future when it comes to the media because he has been where almost no one else in this country has been: From going up the ranks in the SPH news room to the hallways of NTU where he lectures and researches from.
His experience is vital. And his comradeship even more so.
Basically, he’s been at it ever since “The Internet” was known as “Cyberspace”.
Last but not least, I definitely can trust Cherian to sustain a logical, principled argument.
It is pretty evident that after three blog posts into discussing his perspective in this messy Seng Han Thong debacle (check out blog posts number 1, 2 & 3), the only things still left standing and intact are Cherian’s principled approach and logical stance.
You will unwittingly notice how the dissenters and haters conspicuously decline in volume in the comments section with each passing post.
To sustain an argument is not so much for Cherian to have the last word.
Rather, it is for him to hone his rationale and methods to ensure they become unimpeachable – long after the haters have dissolved in their own bile.
Because he is, after all, a man with a reputation. A reputation which is a by-product of the good work he has done so far.
You can go take a look for yourselves. The books and articles he has edited and published under his name are for everyone’s scrutiny.
For further proof, observe his blog posts in addressing the haters, public-at-large and even himself.
In his introspective and almost-apologetic-bending-over-backwards concession that he might be “selfish” when dealing with this present issue, he explains thoroughly why he is not siding with TOC or going after the PAP.
And you know why? It is because he steadfastly refuses to turn the tables on whichever of his critics at the moment by employing PAP’s or haters’ tactics of arm-twisting and name-calling.
He simply does not want to mimic the ways of such hardliners that he cannot respect in the first place.
Cherian even writes charitably: “So I treasure truthfulness in politics, and – since I am not seeking votes or eyeballs – would rather lose a battle of words than push an untruth”.
How fucking cool is that?
In comparison, three days in, just where have all his haters gone? (As of now, Dec. 26, 2011, 4 a.m., there are no comments on his third post.) They have neither the intellectual stamina nor fortitude to see through a proper argument.
And I’ve yet to hear a squeak from Sonia Suka, the original blogivist who is credited for breaking the SHT story on TOC.
If you, dear reader, had to take sides in this issue, I have only this advice to offer: Place your bets on whoever is in this for the long term, or even for good.
You should know who to choose by now.
And with regards to TOC? What can be said about them choosing to go head-to-head against Cherian George?
It shows two things:
Their resolve to prove that they are right at the expense of conceding a point is laudable, but their display of pig-headedness is unfortunate.
Because to insist there is outright racism on Seng Han Thong’s part by jumping up and down and crying out loud that there is, the case, nevertheless, is still insurmountably difficult to prove.
Even Alex Au of Yawning Bread pretty much calls it much ado about nothing. (In fact, Au’s exact words are: “…it is difficult to make too much of those words (by Seng Han Thong)”.)
And for TOC to insist on being right on this issue, regardless of what naysayers think, would only solidify the consensus that they have an agenda in going after the PAP.
Whatever political capital they might have accumulated in the days leading up to last week, some of it is inevitably lost in the past few days.
Simply put, for those of us who are not thoroughly convinced of TOC’s point-of-view on this particular matter, their phoniness has been exacerbated.
As with Cherian haters and dissenters, it shall be the same for TOC once this moment has passed.
They’ll be off banging on about some other topic in time to come.
For Cherian, it is back to doing the grunt work. Whatever reputation he has attained inside and outside of academia, will always be a by-product of the consistency of his thinking, research and his even-handedness.
In other words: Cherian will still be around doing what he does best.
And here’s the point of today’s missive: For that reason, I’m counting on him.
With TOC, unfortunately, all bets are off for now.

Most of Cherian’s scholarship will continue to go towards informing our understanding of policies and politics in Singapore from the media’s perspective.
Plenty of his past work have helped countless students, academics and lay observers appreciate and manoeuvre the profundities of the Singapore system in the media domain and beyond.

If this is the quality of his work, I really have to be a savant not to see that it will bring only more damage to his readers' brains.

I think he wants to be noticed by C. George and still hankering to be a reporter. Using bombastic English will only screw up his chances, but then, what do I know?:rolleyes:

I don’t know about you, but let me insist on this: Haters, be damned.
Look, Cherian plies his trade as a media academic. It is his right to speak authoritatively, especially about media-related issues, without fear or favour.
If TOC cannot use quotation marks properly, he can tell them to get their shit together and learn how to better punctuate.
No big deal.

Without putting a name to the article, sounds like it was written by a pasty-faced adolescent.

As with the rest of the article, I agree with Windsor. He's definitely carrying balls. All learned behaviors growing up and working in Singapore. Well done Bel Monte!

Maybe he thinks simple and grammatically correct english is sibei low class lor:(

I think he wants to be noticed by C. George and still hankering to be a reporter. Using bombastic English will only screw up his chances, but then, what do I know?:rolleyes:

The BOYFRIEND of Nicole See-har. This is not the first article he wrote that stinks. In fact all his articles stink.

I agree with you all views including the part on Bedok Reservoir. After his article on TKL, I too could not understand how Nicole see anything with this guy. The article is quite an interesting as it had many themes and poorly addressed or poorly done. Supporting Cherian G is one thing but grovelling, apple polishing is actually a fine art but this failed the elementary stage. It was crass, and I am sure Cherian G would have felt immediately how light he was. He should attend PAP/PA Youth Leadership just as Eugene Tan did. Secondly, bombastic language and attempting to sound cool, decadent and liberal are 2 sides of the wrong coin. Its like wearing a G string at the bottom and tuxedo top and being a male. Rather confusing to imagine. Lastly, his approach in terms of aggression expressed in the column gives me the notion that he thinks that he has been in the thick of local politics for the last 30 years. He needs to wipe his nose every 10 minutes before he learns how to sing properly. As to Cherian George. CG has to realise that he is a trained journalist and he is now training journalists. The guys in TOC are not but game for the course of changing Singapore for the better. Technically they might have erred but the message was not distorted and it was clear. They did not call Seng a racist but it was obvious that it was freudian slip where he exonerated the Chinese but agreed where the Malays and Indians were concerned. "Chinese" was actually mentioned between Malays and Indians. Alternatively his remit is to look after Chinese interest so might have chosen to drop it intentionally without realising the consequences. Cherian's comments however took a minor technical issue and gave the impression that the whole article mislead readers. Which in my opinion is a bigger sin. Interestingly I always felt that his wife and Yaacob' sister who is with SPH and used to the Political Editor before the Chua sycophant took over was always fair. CG used to be like that. I am aware that he attempted to start his own business with his sister but it did not go anywhere and now remains in the hands of the very lot that he struggles with. He has to learn from Baliji who operates like a mercenary and to the highest bidder with no conscience and yet gives the impression of impartiality. Balji worked for Durai and lately for the good doctor who charged millions for a dying patient. This is one of the reasons why OMS Scholars who are strong in Chinese and Chinese culture were not happy allowing poorly educated one like Seng representing their race in parliament and formed their own entity.

If he is still by her side come 2012, I will one of the most vocal anti-Nicole person in SBF. Even if I am not in Singapore, I will do it as I think a person not level-headed enough to dump a guy who is a handicap to her aspirations does not deserve my support.

I already am most vocal anti-Nicole person in SBF...... you can fight with me...

by the way ... iosnt this forum no hold bar ??? why gotch mod 1 ?

bird of feather flock together..... dun tell me he dun sarpork her political view..... he may be the brain behind her looks.... she is quite air head if you can read past the media-polished anwers in her replies

Dear Scroobal,

Apparently there is "competition" between TOC and New Nation. That actually explains the kind of aggression embedded within his article.

New Nation has never taken off as something "mainstream" and one of their editors has actually lamented that they suffered from low readership. But this has nothing to do with other people but only the way they write. Look at their language and sometimes, the kinds of topic they chose to put up. They would be like the internet version of TNP.

I am quite surprised by the apple polishing as well. There is no necessity to do it that way.

Goh Meng Seng

I agree with you all views including the part on Bedok Reservoir. After his article on TKL, I too could not understand how Nicole see anything with this guy. The article is quite an interesting as it had many themes and poorly addressed or poorly done. Supporting Cherian G is one thing but grovelling, apple polishing is actually a fine art but this failed the elementary stage. It was crass, and I am sure Cherian G would have felt immediately how light he was. He should attend PAP/PA Youth Leadership just as Eugene Tan did. Secondly, bombastic language and attempting to sound cool, decadent and liberal are 2 sides of the wrong coin. Its like wearing a G string at the bottom and tuxedo top and being a male. Rather confusing to imagine. Lastly, his approach in terms of aggression expressed in the column gives me the notion that he thinks that he has been in the thick of local politics for the last 30 years. He needs to wipe his nose every 10 minutes before he learns how to sing properly. As to Cherian George. CG has to realise that he is a trained journalist and he is now training journalists. The guys in TOC are not but game for the course of changing Singapore for the better. Technically they might have erred but the message was not distorted and it was clear. They did not call Seng a racist but it was obvious that it was freudian slip where he exonerated the Chinese but agreed where the Malays and Indians were concerned. "Chinese" was actually mentioned between Malays and Indians. Alternatively his remit is to look after Chinese interest so might have chosen to drop it intentionally without realising the consequences. Cherian's comments however took a minor technical issue and gave the impression that the whole article mislead readers. Which in my opinion is a bigger sin. Interestingly I always felt that his wife and Yaacob' sister who is with SPH and used to the Political Editor before the Chua sycophant took over was always fair. CG used to be like that. I am aware that he attempted to start his own business with his sister but it did not go anywhere and now remains in the hands of the very lot that he struggles with. He has to learn from Baliji who operates like a mercenary and to the highest bidder with no conscience and yet gives the impression of impartiality. Balji worked for Durai and lately for the good doctor who charged millions for a dying patient. This is one of the reasons why OMS Scholars who are strong in Chinese and Chinese culture were not happy allowing poorly educated one like Seng representing their race in parliament and formed their own entity.

This is one area where there has been no or little presence. TOC cannot cover the entire segment so all others are readily welcome. TOC is not driven by profits and after the gazetting, the initial PAP sponsorship has gone away.

This guy wants to make his mark the fastest way possible and he is looking for instant recognition and it appears he goes for broke. Truly an idiot.

The damage to Nicole would be immense.

Dear Scroobal,

Apparently there is "competition" between TOC and New Nation. That actually explains the kind of aggression embedded within his article.

New Nation has never taken off as something "mainstream" and one of their editors has actually lamented that they suffered from low readership. But this has nothing to do with other people but only the way they write. Look at their language and sometimes, the kinds of topic they chose to put up. They would be like the internet version of TNP.

I am quite surprised by the apple polishing as well. There is no necessity to do it that way.

Goh Meng Seng

Personally, I really hope that Nicole could last till next GE. But having said that, I am rather worried for her.

She may not understand fully the implications of the battle of Marine Parade. She has literally slapped on a big shot and the people linked in the network may be on the lookout at all times for opportunity to take "revenge". Every steps she takes, everything she does knowingly or unknowingly would be monitored closely and scrutinized. They may keep certain information they have gathered for the time being but only to release at the most critical time. This is the usual political tactics used.

Her boyfriend may become a liability eventually if he continues to write the way he writes. But that is just may be a small matter when the crunch comes.

Goh Meng Seng

This is one area where there has been no or little presence. TOC cannot cover the entire segment so all others are readily welcome. TOC is not driven by profits and after the gazetting, the initial PAP sponsorship has gone away.

This guy wants to make his mark the fastest way possible and he is looking for instant recognition and it appears he goes for broke. Truly an idiot.

Nicole Seah is really crap. Play up by media to offset impact another crap Tin Pei Ling only. (Ram, please dont infract and ban me like you do to Bus 64, I know she your cousin but I say true opinion only)

The link between Nicole and Belmont has already been established since the last elections. Time for her to say goodbye or else be included in all his stupid actions as a party to his shenanigans. What he does should not be affecting her but since she is already a public figure, the connection is there. It will backfire on her and she has all to lose, not him as he is not in the public eye.

I see nothing wrong with CG's words. The Online Citizen just can't take criticism and wouldn't own up their mistakes. It was just a freudian slip. Even if TOC really did not label SHT as racist, they certainly mislead readers. Being untrained jounrnalist is not a good excuse.

As for BL, he just wants his 5 mins of fame and traffic to his site going.

Personally, I really hope that Nicole could last till next GE. But having said that, I am rather worried for her.

She may not understand fully the implications of the battle of Marine Parade. She has literally slapped on a big shot and the people linked in the network may be on the lookout at all times for opportunity to take "revenge". Every steps she takes, everything she does knowingly or unknowingly would be monitored closely and scrutinized. They may keep certain information they have gathered for the time being but only to release at the most critical time. This is the usual political tactics used.

Her boyfriend may become a liability eventually if he continues to write the way he writes. But that is just may be a small matter when the crunch comes.

Goh Meng Seng

What liability? A small group of people talking here can destroy Nicole See-har, har?

The link between Nicole and Belmont has already been established since the last elections. Time for her to say goodbye or else be included in all his stupid actions as a party to his shenanigans. What he does should not be affecting her but since she is already a public figure, the connection is there. It will backfire on her and she has all to lose, not him as he is not in the public eye.

too late. i think she has already chosen him for her bed.