• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shocker! Absolute STUPID Ang Moh Stunt caused the latest luxury cruise Titanic

uncleyap

Man-slughter charges is necessary to put the matter into right place. I got clues about that now.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/world/europe/6267630/Pre-planned-cruise-stunt-flagged-on-Facebook

[h=1]'Pre-planned' cruise stunt flagged on Facebook
icon_gallery.gif
icon_video.gif
[/h] [h=2][/h] MEGAN LEVY

Amateur video captures moments immediately after the Costa Concordia cruise ship ran aground and capsized off Italy's coast.

The captain of a luxury cruise liner that capsized off Italy's coast may have steered the ship too close to shore so that its head waiter could salute his family in a pre-planned stunt that was posted on Facebook.
Just minutes before the Costa Concordia struck rocks and began taking on water, the head waiter's sister updated her Facebook status to say: "In a short period of time the Concordia ship will pass very close. A big greeting to my brother who finally gets to have a holiday on landing in Savona."
At least six people were killed in the accident, with 14 people still missing and fears that a fuel leak could cause an ecological disaster in the area.
Captain Francesco Schettino, 52, reportedly invited the head waiter, Antonello Tievoli, on to the bridge as he steered the vessel towards the coast of Giglio on Friday night.
"Come and see, Antonello, we're right in front of Giglio," the captain told Tievoli shortly before the crash, according to Italy's Corriere della Sera newspaper.
It also quoted witnesses who claimed the waiter had warned Captain Schettino just before the accident, saying: "Careful, we are extremely close to the shore."
Captain Schettino may have performed the sail-past also as a salute to an old colleague, a former admiral from the cruise line, who was not even on Giglio on Friday night.
Claims have emerged that a similarly close "sail-past" last year prompted a mayor to send a congratulatory email to the captain for helping entertain the island's tourists.
Giglio mayor Sergio Ortelli said "Costa ships often pass close to the island".
"Tourists and locals gather on the jetty to see the ships go by. We light up the [stone tower built to spot pirate raids during mediaeval times]. It's a great sight," he said.
Costa Crociere, the Carnival line that runs the ship Costa Concordia, said early indications were that the captain had made "very serious judgments" and failed to follow company emergency procedures.
In a statement, the company said Captain Schettino, 52, sailed too close to the island off the Tuscan coast. "Preliminary indications" were that he had committed a "significant human error", the company said.
Captain Schettino is facing charges of multiple manslaughter, abandoning ship and causing a disaster, and has been taken into custody. He claims that the reef had not appeared on the nautical charts or the ship's navigation systems, and denies abandoning his passengers.
When the head waiter eventually reached land after evacuating the ship, he reportedly told friends and relatives on Giglio that he would "never have imagined that I'd end up disembarking on my own island like this".
The Corriere della Sera said Tievoli was "tormented by a sense of guilt", even though he did not request the sail-past.
His 82-year-old father, Giuseppe Tievoli, who lives on Giglio, told the newspaper: "Antonello called me earlier to say the ship would be passing by the island at around 9.30 and they would come and give us a whistle to say hello. It was something they often did.
"The ship obviously came too close. I don't know if Antonello asked the captain to come near, but the responsibility is always and only the captain's.
"It was only coincidence my son was on board. He was supposed to have disembarked at Savona (on a cruise the week before), but the person who was supposed to replace him wasn't well, so he had to stay on board."
Hopes are fading of finding any more survivors on board the partially submerged 17-deck ship, which slipped on a rocky shelf under the sea overnight, sparking fears that the giant hulk could sink entirely.
Italian Environment Minister Corrado Clini warned that "urgent action" was needed as the wreck posed a serious risk to the area around Giglio, while that mayor said it was an "ecological timebomb" as there were 2380 tonnes of fuel on board.
Crews put down anti-spill booms as fears of a leak rose and local officials called for strict curbs in the future on shipping routes through the area of outstanding natural beauty.
- © Fairfax NZ News

i was overseas in the US in the 80s and something similar occured although on a lower scale than this.

A newly qualified air force pilot was trying to impress his girlfriend and flew a low level pass near where she lived.

His skill did not complement his gung- ho antics and his plane met the ground.

Deviating from safety procedures is a bad thing and could be hazardous to your health.

can't really fault italians for wanting to get close to family. :p

:*::*::*::*::*::*::confused:

Mentality of 14 years old children?

WAF? 4000+ lives on board! Ang Mo CB:oIo:

pity it did not occur near sentosa water else would have granted bail and left singapore....ala romania killer-driver and new zealand thug

1. bro, if that is to happen.
2. the mixed blood sheep would declare that the straits of sheep is just not deep enough for the cruiser mah!
3. so not the fault of its captain but the depth of the waters.
4. there is nothing to be done about it.

http://hk.news.yahoo.com/郵輪靠岸取悅乘客島民釀禍-疑開始漏油-恐釀生態災難-212629269.html

[h=1]郵輪靠岸取悅乘客島民釀禍 疑開始漏油 恐釀生態災難[/h]

<cite class="byline vcard">明報 – <abbr title="2012-01-17T00:10:42+00:00">11小時前</abbr></cite>

[h=3]相關內容[/h]

【明報專訊】豪華郵輪「歌詩達協和」號觸礁傾覆釀成至少6死,另仍有16人失蹤,相信凶多吉少。意國檢察部門估計,郵輪擱淺是由於船長想取悅乘客並向岸上朋友鳴笛致意,刻意駛近岸邊。意大利傳媒稱,出事的島嶼是郵輪領班的家鄉,船長駛近是為討好領班。
檢察部門指,「歌詩達協和」號(Costa Concordia,下簡稱協和號)周五晚駛至托斯卡納海岸的吉廖島(Giglio)離岸約150米處觸礁。惟船長斯凱蒂諾(Francesco Schettino)堅稱,當時離岸300米,距離海圖上標示的岩礁仍有百多米,導航系統未發警報。
駛近領班家鄉討好 未理警告
意 國傳媒昨指,「協和」號出事當晚,時值乘客享用晚膳,上層甲板亮起璀璨燈光,郵輪駛近廖吉島「巡航」,既可討好首晚上船的乘客,又可博得島民歡心,未料樂 極生悲。《晚郵報》稱,郵輪出事前,船長曾將領班蒂沃利(Antonello Tievoli)召到駕駛室向他說:「看,我們很接近你的吉廖島。」報道指,蒂沃利原本休假,但因沒人替更而要留守郵輪當值,船長為令他高興一點,將船駛近該島。消息稱,蒂沃利當時有向船長警告:「小心,我們很接近岸邊。」
《新 聞報》則稱,協和號駛近吉廖島其實已非首次,有關安排的意念,源自上任船長甘巴林奧(Massimo Gambarino)。該報周日刊出吉廖島首長奧爾泰利(Sergio Ortelli)去年8月寫給甘巴林奧的信,讚揚他近距離駛經島嶼,為島上遊客帶來「壯麗景觀」及「非凡娛樂」。甘氏當時答:「這是美好的活動,我希望可 成為傳統延續下去。」
曾被讚「為島上客帶來非凡娛樂」
奧爾泰利周末曾稱,有關的郵輪航線,一般會駛至吉廖島3至5公里附近, 很多郵輪都會駛近鳴笛,向島民致意,「船上的燈都會亮起,島上的古塔亦會亮燈,在島上欣賞會很壯觀」。消息人士亦稱,此一鳴笛做法由來已久,曾有郵輪高層 的妻子住在島上,因此駛近「慰妻」,後來演變成向島民打招呼的習慣。
但奧氏周日卻改口風,否認郵輪駛近或鳴笛是慣常做法,僅稱部分歌詩達郵輪的退休船長在島上安享晚年,其舊同事有時會向他們三度鳴笛致意,但強調這通常在「安全情况下」進行。托斯卡納政府稱,郵輪應在取悅乘客與航行安全之間取得平衡,將敦促環境部門確保郵輪遵照航道。
船長肇事兩小時登岸 可囚12年
調 查員已尋獲郵輪其中一個黑盒。紀錄顯示,郵輪在周五晚9時45分觸礁,但海岸警衛隊在1小時後才接到警報。報道又稱,船長於當晚11時半登上救生艇,前往 岸邊,但估計當時仍有230名乘客在船上等待疏散,當中包括兩名嬰兒及4名傷殘人士。海岸警衛多次要求他返回船上協助疏散,但被拒絕。部分乘客怒轟他是 「懦夫船長」。他已因涉嫌誤殺及放棄乘客不顧而被捕,若罪成可囚12年。至於被困船艙36小時後獲救的意籍客艙服務事務長詹佩得里(Marrico Giampetroni),則被乘客讚揚不顧自身安危,助乘客脫險。
意大利環境部昨指,郵輪開始滲出液體,懷疑是燃油,形容它是「生態計時 炸彈」,需盡快採取行動。郵輪公司稱,在泵走船上燃油後,會考慮以巨型浮筒將郵輪浮起,儘管難度極大。船公司估計,今次災難造成約9500萬美元損失,同 時否認為省錢大減安全開支,又說公司不會因今次聲譽蒙污而考慮改名。

when they board the ship, there was an emergency drill schedule on the day after the accident, so the people do not know where to go during emergency, when the ship list, half of the lifecraft on one side cannot be deploy, therefore there is not enough for all. It seem to me that cruise ship is not safe at all.

singveld said:
no concordia is larger, but not much larger than titanic.

According to what I read, this ship was carrying more than 4000 passengers. Titanic only carried 2453 passengers. Costa Concordia has 17 decks, Titanic only 9. Titanic's gross tonnage was only 46k. Concordia is more than double in weight at more than 110k. In length, Titanic was 269m, Concordia is 290m. The difference is quite substantial.

whichever company that insured them would have taken insurance themselves thru a reinsurance company.

for shipping its different. all ships got insurance under P&I clubs. Protection and Insurance Clubs. They are damn rich and big. do a search and you will know what i am talking about. for example, one tanker with certain capacity gotta insured at least 10mil for oil pollution only. only those P&I clubs can accept this type of insurance.

ah ok. Tnks for the info bro.

for shipping its different. all ships got insurance under P&I clubs. Protection and Insurance Clubs. They are damn rich and big. do a search and you will know what i am talking about. for example, one tanker with certain capacity gotta insured at least 10mil for oil pollution only. only those P&I clubs can accept this type of insurance.

The death toll is fortunately low because the 4000+ passengers were near to shore and rescue wouldn't be as hard as if they were in the open ocean. Otherwise you would had seen a 3 figure or 4 figure death toll.:eek:

The captain & his team are really silly 笨蛋拿【烂】敲头。 Use dick to whack own heads - so to speak.:*:

If they are residents of that Island they should had known the sea of that area better than any other captains, like the fishermen know their own fishing spots. How can they don't know the water depths around? They had made biggest jokes around that whole Island.

You imagine one bunch of SG Ah Beng became Star Cruise captain & 1st mate etc, pass by SG port and want to impress Ah Lians living in Marine Parade HDB flats end up running the ship aground on Sentosa? :eek::*:

Kam Gong Kia! 砍赣仔!Literally!

Fortunately did not sink in the middle of ocean, otherwise easily reached 1000 death toll. Stupid Ang Moh!

意救援人员在触礁游轮上又发现5具遗体

1月17日,在意大利吉利奥岛附近,海军潜水员乘坐小艇接近触礁搁浅的 “科斯塔·康科迪亚”游轮,继续搜救工作。据当地媒体报道,救援人员当天下午在“科斯塔·康科迪亚”游轮上又发现5具遗体,遇难者人数上升至11人。随着 时间的流逝,剩余24名失踪人员生还的希望非常渺茫。新华社记者王昀加摄

122598829_11n.jpg

122598829_21n.jpg

122598829_31n.jpg

122598829_41n.jpg

122598829_51n.jpg

122598829_61n.jpg

122598829_71n.jpg

122598829_81n.jpg

122598829_91n.jpg

122598829_101n.jpg

122598829_111n.jpg