• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ship Kena Hijacked Just Outside SG, But RSN Froze!

[h=2]Hijack: What has happened to our Maritime security?[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
June 22nd, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

newthread.php
RSN patrol vessel

This morning, there was a hijack which is believed to have taken place. The vessel was just outside Singapore, between the mainland and the well-known Horsburgh Lighthouse. At around 1000 hours, the vessel lost communications with the owner. The owner tried for about 2 hours before calling 999. To be fair, it was already not under the PCG’s (Police Coast Guard) jurisdiction since the vessel was outside the area of responsibility.
For unknown reasons, the RSN (Republic of Singapore Navy) was made aware of the hijack. The RSN even knew the entire ship details but was not able to prevent the hijack from taking place. As we were informed, hijacking is not similar to usual Search and Rescue Operations.
The maritime users in this region know that there have been many hijacks recently. We are very concern about our safety as the hijackers are armed.
Open questions to RSN, PCG and MPA (Maritime Port Authority):
1. When a report is received at the first instance, how long does it take to mobilise rescue boats or ships to the site?
2. We are aware that there is a Maritime Security Task Force and they operate a very expansive control and command system. The RSN knew all the details of the hijacked ship but for unknown reasons, they were not able to rescue the ship.
3. Is rescuing a ship in distress less important than clearing red tape?

VERY CONCERNED MARITIME WORKER

* Submitted by TRE reader.

Editor’s note:
http://www.janes.com/article/39374/singaporean-malaysian-navies-rescue-tanker-from-pirates
Vessels from the Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN) and Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) conducted a combined operation to rescue a Honduras-registered oil tanker in the South China Sea on 15 June, the RSN told IHS Jane’s .
The tanker, Ai Maru , was carrying 1,520 tonnes of marine gas oil (MGO) from Singapore to the Gulf of Thailand when it was boarded at about 20:30 pm on 14 June, off Eastern Peninsular Malaysia, by seven men from three speed boats.
The armed attackers tied and locked up the crew while they siphoned 620 tonnes of MGO onto an unidentified vessel. Also seized were crew personal belongings including laptops, money, and mobile telephones. Ai Maru was placed on a south-easterly course at a speed of about 4.5 kt while the MGO was being taken

aw_bark_kark

chicken crap SAF is abolutely SAME as chicken crap Little India mata.

Talk big talk cock of anti terrorism all rubbish HOAX.

oh dearie me,u mean after 13 billion budget this is all we get?after all the advertisments and videos about Navy being a fighting force,heros and whatnot,soliders manning machine guns and missiles launching,this is all we get?

tonychat is right,this is why sinkieland will always be a failure,no matter how much money u pump into them,how much training and equipment u give them.it doesnt matter cause they DONT HAVE BALLS.

kryonlight

This is why I advocate that we must have a professional defense force manned by true-blue citizens who are passionate in such jobs. Our military budget will be well spent.

Conscription is not the way forward for our nation's security anymore, especially with the inclusion of second-generation PRs who are not committed to Singapore. You wouldn't get a top-notch defense force by coercing people to carry arms.

This is why I advocate that we must have a professional defense force manned by true-blue citizens who are passionate in such jobs. Our military budget will be well spent.

Conscription is not the way forward for our nation's security anymore, especially with the inclusion of second-generation PRs who are not committed to Singapore. You wouldn't get a top-notch defense force by coercing people to carry arms.

hahahaahhahahahahhahahaahhahahahahahha dont kid urself,our country is a country of paper generals,it dont matter how professional u get,we are nothing but a fighting force of scholars and booksmarts......not men who were born on the battlefield,leading combat units into hellfire....

i think if we hire ISIS to become our professional army they will do a better job,and cut our defense budget from 13 billion to 1 billion.

Maximum Restraint in Action? AGAIN?

They have to check where the boundary is, they have to check with HQ, who have to check with the minister, who have to check with......that is where the restrain comes from. BUT if those pirates were flying the flag of WP, SDP etc.. ( for illustration) you can bet, they will blow the pirates off the water & into smithereens, yes sir, NO RESTRAIN & accurate too... ha ha ha ha

songsongjurong

Our sea scout good only fo anti people smuggling across causeway.
LKY will need to sanction even firing warnng shot..please dont wake him up at odd hours,btw,he still drawing annual $200,000/- MP allowance?

lianbeng

They have to check where the boundary is, they have to check with HQ, who have to check with the minister, who have to check with......that is where the restrain comes from. BUT if those pirates were flying the flag of WP, SDP etc.. ( for illustration) you can bet, they will blow the pirates off the water & into smithereens, yes sir, NO RESTRAIN & accurate too... ha ha ha ha

lianbeng replies: they can always re-draw the boundaries mah! :biggrin:

escher

chicken crap SAF is abolutely SAME as chicken crap Little India mata.

Talk big talk cock of anti terrorism all rubbish HOAX.

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Dark Knight

Most of the so called Patrol Vessel (designed and built by ST) can't take much punishment from rough sea.
Once out of Horsburgh Lighthouse, the vessel and her crew cannot perform and handle effectively that sort of sea state environment.
I can tell you if it happens to be in South China sea, everything inside the vessel and the crew will goes haywire.

What RSN worry or they scare.
War navy ship vs light boat with maybe few machine gun.
If have chance just shoot it as live traning.

Hans168

Most of the so called Patrol Vessel (designed and built by ST) can't take much punishment from rough sea.
Once out of Horsburgh Lighthouse, the vessel and her crew cannot perform and handle effectively that sort of sea state environment.
I can tell you if it happens to be in South China sea, everything inside the vessel and the crew will goes haywire.

Time to bring in FTs...........PRCs who can handle this matter

Hans168

Dun we have top notch generals n admirals? We pay good money, we shud get good military leaders... many of whom get better paying jobs in post military jobs...NO?

It would appear there is hint of lawlessness in the waters near singapore. The navy can do a little more given current resourses but in the long run that would be unsustainable as it would stretch resources to near breaking point. I request another additional 1000 men be assigned to enable more frequent patrols to be made.