• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SHiFT: Scheme for Housing of Foreign Talent by JTC. 40% Discount for Foreigners!

[h=2]SHiFT: Scheme for Housing of Foreign Talent by JTC[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
November 10th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

579142_437368512991153_103477832_n.jpg

This is not yet another swanky property launch.

Believe it or not, the PAP Government has this public rental housing scheme
called ShiFT (short form for “Scheme for Housing of Foreign Talent”), which aims
to provide foreign “talent” with affordable housing at monthly rental of up to
40 per cent lower than market rates.

Managed by JTC, the Scheme was launched in 1997 and is still available, based
on a check on the agency’s website:

http://www.jtc.gov.sg/RealEstateSolutions/Housing/Pages/default.aspx

The rental units are located in Wessex Estate, Chip Bee Gardens and various
HDB estates and based on the marketing pitch put up by JTC, they are certainly
luxurious compared to the pigeonholes that many of our low income or elderly
folks live in.

Here’s a description of Wessex Estate taken from JTC’s website:

“Nestled amidst lush greenery off Portsdown Road and within the one-north
development, Wessex Estate provides an excellent housing option for the working
population in one-north. Priority is given to applicants working in the
Biomedical Sciences, Infocomm Technology, Media, Physical Sciences and
Engineering industries within the one-north development.”

Quite a steal (pun intended), don’t you think?

The Alternative View

[Source]: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Alternative-View/358759327518739

kingrant

The govt agencies have been so hard-wired to bend over backwards for foreigners that they have forgotten they are paid by taxpayers who are Singaporeans.

Devil Within

That's what you get for having a WW2 traitor to run your country. A traitor will always be a traitor.

What a contrast! Sinkees wait long long to get rental flats from HDB (and need to be poor enough to apply) while FTrash gets 40% discount for rental flats.

MBSSLOTS

PAP uses our Taxpayers money to FUND foreignor housing and let its own citizens die? TATS PAP! VOTE THEM OUT!

Einfield

Spot on Devil, Sinkies will cover their eyes, ears and mouth for monitory gains but they forgot to cover their ass.

Some like to call him founder / father and all kinds of ball carrier shit, you will be shock when one day, we get to see his bank account.
He is absolutely right to call Sinkies daft.

That's what you get for having a WW2 traitor to run your country. A traitor will always be a traitor.

Bigfuck

Consider yourself lucky. If you consider what we charged for X'mas island, this is still valuable. Can you imagine when JTC starts pricing value of raw materials piled in the dump area per square feet? Man, those black and white bungalows aint worth 10 cents psf amortized over 20. What we are charging is still a rip-off.

watchman8

no wonder Mabok Tan cannot see any housing problems during his reign till 2011. Whenever he mingled amongst this bunch of foreigners, everyone feedback that the housing in Singapore cheap and good.

The rest of his time was spent at golf courses, shopping for properties around the island, and making sure that Gardens by the Bay project is 50% above initial approved budget.

cunnosieur

This SHIFT Scheme is a real thing.

I just bought a HDB in a PRIME and MATURE estate from JTC.

According to the agent, they have rented it out to Ah Tiongs by JTC.

JTC is 'quietly' letting go these HDB flats in batches now...especially with the slow down in foreigners intake. Many fkats are in good mature estate.

But what buffers me is that, should JTC, a stat-commercial entity, be allowed to purchase HDB flats and rent out to foreigners in the first place, when S'poreans are asked to queue long long for new flats in ulu Seng Kang, Choa Chu Kang and Punggol, etc?

Lanchiao

This is downright despicable. Shouldn't they make as much money from the foreigners ? Shouldn't they allow locals to make money from rentals ?