• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

She's molested, asks where's our Kampung Spirit?

peasantJUDGE

Of course, I feel sorry for her. It must have been a bit traumatic. Her letter...she asks, where's our Kampung Spirit? Why nobody bothered to jump to her rescue when she needed it? Good question, something we have been asking for the longest time.

I have some questions too. Would she have been the first to jump up from her mahjong game if it was someone else needing help?

Kampung Spirit didnt just disappear into thin air. It's almost non existent because most people have lost their own sense of civic mindedness. And only in times of personal tragedy does he/she suddenly ask "what happened to civic mindeness?" I'd say, it died because most people, like herself, dont practice it.

Trouble in the neighbourhood LAST Tuesday, I lodged a police report after I was molested by a foreign worker near my home at night. It happened while I was walking my dog along Upper Changi Road, near Tanah Merah MRT. The foreign worker, who reeked of alcohol, exploited the fact that the area was deserted and attacked me as we were walking past each other.
I fought back and chased him around the residential estate, shouting for help. But no one came out to help me although there were residents sitting in the front yard of their homes, playing mahjong. Thanks to a passerby, a middle-aged Singaporean who stopped to help, I managed to catch the culprit. But he escaped before the police arrived.

My main concern relates to the safety of women who live in residential neighbourhoods such as Tanah Merah, where foreign workers congregate after work, and usually engage in beer and liquor-drinking sessions.

Before I became a victim, I had noticed groups of foreign workers often leering at women walking past. Some made lewd gestures. My question is why the Government or related agencies allow these workers to congregate and consume large amounts of alcohol - which usually leads to trouble and indecent behaviour - in residential areas.

I find it increasingly hard to feel safe as a woman in Singapore. Have a male escort, you say. But it is impossible nowadays to take this safety precaution all the time because of our hectic lifestyles.

As a student of the National University of Singapore, I agree that freedom of movement is a universal right. But, is it right to endow freedom to workers who terrorise and rob us of the freedom we are entitled to in our own country, and especially where we live?

I also understand that these foreign workers, like the molester who attacked me, contribute to our economy.

But is safety a worthwhile trade-off?

Finally, I am dismayed over the lack of 'kampung spirit' - a term Singaporeans trumpet - which went missing when I was attacked.

Tyla Teng Ning (Ms)

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Story/STIStory_270631.html

seeyourhead

ya we can tend to be quite bochup..last time kampung everyone oso stepped up to help whenever something bad happens? i dun think she's got 1st hand experience since the fact that she's an nus student very likely means she is in her early 20s...unless she is some1 older of course.. which means...she got stay in kampung before?

the place she got molested was deserted...den y she is she there in the first place?

dun blame others for your own folly la.

american

I fought back and chased him around the residential estate, shouting for help. But no one came out to help me although there were residents sitting in the front yard of their homes, playing mahjong. Thanks to a passerby, a middle-aged Singaporean who stopped to help, I managed to catch the culprit. But he escaped before the police arrived

These guys are playing mahjong, maybe a lot at stakes, they can't leave the table. At least, you have a passerby who stopped to help. :biggrin:

Of course, I feel sorry for her. It must have been a bit traumatic. Her letter...she asks, where's our Kampung Spirit? Why nobody bothered to jump to her rescue when she needed it? Good question, something we have been asking for the longest time.

Kampung Spirit has no woman charter. In other words, Woman charter is not a kampung spirit. It is a Sinkie Spirit.

she is a liar!! :mad:

wong kan seng say spore very safe.. our crime rates are among the lowest in the world..:p