• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

sheng siong ipo,should subscribe???

they giving away 90% revenue out of their profit. sounds good leh...buy and keep in fridge, shld be good buy. any good suggestion???

The stage is being set up for the grand marriage.

With this listing, Sheng Siong can fight with NTUC liao. They can start by replacing all wet market into Sheng Siong type "WET" Market.
家族企业! 一定赚钱.

Sheng-Siong-2.jpg

oi, what do u mean?

One of the owner's son is is currently dating the eldest grandchild of a very powerful clan in Singapore. Marriage was said to be on the way with some taxi drivers even speculating the 5th generation PM could be a lady.

Food for thought:
1) few years ago, sheng siong was just another dirty cheap super market who targets mainly prcs and Indians. Their standard was worse than a wet market. Suddenly, the last few years seen then taking up spaces meant for NTUC, a major revamp of their image and marketing, the supermarkets become clean and well run like NTUC and the soon to be IPO.
2. Why do you think they allow mad tin tin and fool me hard into the political scene this time round? Surely there are better candidates? It's simply to test water and to get people to be used to such young candidates sprouting out during the next elections.

Anyway, just my conspiracy theory. Take it with a pinch of salt. :)

buy a stock in a bubble becoz of dividends...........................no surer way to lose money................

Besides analysis, I also believe in luck.

Remembered that they tried listing twice before and given up because market was bad. So they are listing again which may mean market is going south - just pure speculation

When I was opening my Malaysian trading account the fella recommended Malaysian Telecom shares:)

If I were to put my own $$ I'd invest in M'sian Telecom shares rather than Sing Song.
With SS you really don't know how much "profit" will be left after family members get their cut:D

the dividends they give you can't compensate for big drop in stock prices mah...................

they're not making billions a year, right ?
profit last year 40+ million....heard they paid staff up to 10 months bonus.....supermarket so good ah?

Forget about it - post-IPO, the biggest winners are the Sheng Siong family who get to pay themselves 90% of the profit per share they own, and who still sit on top of a holding worth millions. This is the kind of bullshit HK tycoons used to pull off on a regular basis.

With 90% of profit down the drain for the next two years, where is investment / development going to come from?

I don't buy IPO. Any IPO also don't buy, don't apply, don't waste time and money.
1. Good IPO that sure go up on opening also sure ballot, you get little lot or none, even you get, make little money.
2. Bad IPO that sure go down on opening sure you can get whatever you can afford, but sure lose money too.
There're many other ways to trade shares and make money, IPO is only good for institution placement, not retail.

yes, what i heard was decade ago,like singtel or smrt ipo, you subscribe, you make but nowadays, ipo market also not as good. the problem is that me once got money in bank, sure spend, so may as well buy some stocks and keep it in the fridge. at 33cents per share, even lose,won't lose much.

agree there are many ways to make money but as a green horn, you have to be extra careful. i used to make tens of dollars just by backing high and laying low on horses. until become greedy, chose to back horses completely but there is where i learn to select good horses. but i observed in recent times, they have pple monitoring any strange activity in the sports exchange. but always practice caution.

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/MMs3SfXiV8U?version=3"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/MMs3SfXiV8U?version=3" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="390"></object>

another thing on the internet, whether you are learning some new skills, dun have to pay for it. just search and participate in forums, learn it yourself and experiment,more interesting this way. put it simply, i dun believe in buying on the internet to learn something, be it photoshop or some word processing techniques.

I don't buy IPO. Any IPO also don't buy, don't apply, don't waste time and money.
1. Good IPO that sure go up on opening also sure ballot, you get little lot or none, even you get, make little money.
2. Bad IPO that sure go down on opening sure you can get whatever you can afford, but sure lose money too.
There're many other ways to trade shares and make money, IPO is only good for institution placement, not retail.

Good point bro, I didnt read their stuff, but my general worthless 2c

1. 10% profit retention per year, post IPO.
2. Where is the money gonna come for post IPO biz expansion or if there is room to expand? More FT? Loans?
3. Majority, if not all their products are imported, exposure to forex risk, as well as inflation in source country. Need reserves one lei. 10% buildup per year, enough? Even there is exising reserves, there is risk of eroding the reserves given a 10% profit retention.
4. After paying expenses:D, directors and grassloot employees plus the above, how much distributable profits will be left?
5. Currently SGD40mil np? Ask and check what are the usual tactics to qualify for listing.;)

There are lots of questions to be asked if want to invest in them.

Why IPO in under such market sentiments? Forecasted to get worse?

End of the day, the current shareholders will benefit more from the IPO and the subsequent roller coaster;) in the share price from speculation.:rolleyes: Thereafter, still get paid salary for daily maintenance. Imo, it is early cashout and reinvestment in other areas.

Oh, one more question. After IPO, who are the shareholders at the suppliers end ah? Spiderweb? Just need to be mindful.

Maybe buy for capital maintenance, but high growth?:*:

I am not an expert, but imo these are some of the questions to ask and not just sold by marketing news.

Forget about it - post-IPO, the biggest winners are the Sheng Siong family who get to pay themselves 90% of the profit per share they own, and who still sit on top of a holding worth millions. This is the kind of bullshit HK tycoons used to pull off on a regular basis.

With 90% of profit down the drain for the next two years, where is investment / development going to come from?

The most funny part about IPOs for some companies is when they talk about having an IPO to raise a few million bucks for "growth and expansion".

The few existing directors and shareholders could easily pull together that few million bucks if what they really wanted was "growth and expansion".

It's pretty obvious what's the purpose of some IPOs.