• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shell Exit SG... We are 100% a True Financial Center liao... Hurray

ilovechinesegal

Sinkie got big firms pump on semiconductor industry leh unless if msia political improve then all shift to msia. This is very very unlikely.

Manufacturing like coke etc moving out of sg. As for oil refinery, shell move out of sg shld be saving costs too. Sinkie here is for rich foriengers invest properties make it until sinkie can't afford. Then poor foreigners under cut pay make many sinkies have to become taxi grab drivers.

I dontch think you all understand. Ships are forced to use clean fuel.no more dirty fuel. Therefore the shell bunker fuel depot will get less and less business. No more coal power plants. No more fuel oil. Soon, no more diesel too. Banks won't finance these projects.
So we need to generate huge smount of power to create e carbon neutral fuels from renewable sources. That is the future, lng is safe for the mid term.

Loofydralb

The fact that Exxon and src just across on jurong island is doing exceptionally well gives clear indication of the failure of the local managers managing Shell in SG.
My sources say that they have been bleeding since 2000 and these egotistical managers never got off their butts to do anything because they're obscenely paid with multiple months of bonuses. Some are even manipulative and plays politics until allowed to work till their late 70s and some even practises nepotism calling in their children and dropping them and manoeuvre then into higher mgmt positions, when the rest can see they are incompetent.
But when SHTF, they blame those at the bottom.
Shell HQ would be wise to sack these top layers for non performance.

The fact that Exxon and src just across on jurong island is doing exceptionally well gives clear indication of the failure of the local managers managing Shell in SG.
My sources say that they have been bleeding since 2000 and these egotistical managers never got off their butts to do anything because they're obscenely paid with multiple months of bonuses. Some are even manipulative and plays politics until allowed to work till their late 70s and some even practises nepotism calling in their children and dropping them and manoeuvre then into higher mgmt positions, when the rest can see they are incompetent.
Is that how this chap got to the top? Of lebanese descent. Wael Sawan.

1687078179457.png

If the refinery closes, where will our neighbours get their petrol, aviation fuel etc? The refinery is the most advanced in SEA...and please don't believe the hype that fossil fuels won't be needed etc
Thigh land. It happening for a while now I tink. :unsure:

oliverlee

the future of sinkie is big data mining (the job of CECA serfs) and vax production. Look at the number of fucking biochem factories that are being set up here this year alone. That's why this CB cuntry is one of the few doggie nations that refuse to relinquish the vax mandate. Ask the whore

Loofydralb

Is that how this chap got to the top? Of lebanese descent. Wael Sawan.

View attachment 185104
Wael isn't the problem. Shell operates autonomously. Local managers are allowed lots of leeway to manage the local operations. They have been given a free hand to make Bukom profitable, but for decades has leeched it instead.
For all these time they have not lifted a finger to reduce operational costs nor able to motivate the workforce to be more productive. Incompetent managers.
I once sent my friend to work in the morning at the jetty where they take the ferry to Bukom. He says daily, contractors can amount to thousands going into the island. He said it was beyond abnormal that a refinery of that size in other countries would have a fraction of contractors daily. Even Exxon and SRC next door don't have even 20% of Shell Bukom contractor force.
It clearly points to bad management, bad maintenance or simply cannot be bothered about excessive spending, he said.
Any manager worth their salt would have prevented and uncovered the recent oil heist that went on for years. That heist was in the multi millions! And still no manager was sacked for it.
My friend says most of the managers are technically illiterate.
Anyway for us, it is good Shell is exiting the place as now PAP can build more condos on that island and sell it to billionaires. We don't have to smell the soot and pollution anymore. The place is an eyesore!

The Crow

Like that SG can truely focus of being a Financial Center, not distracted by Petrol Hub, Technology center nonsense ler
Medical Hub, Educational Hub, R & D Hub, logistics & Shipping Hub, Innovation Hub, etc etc ... :o-o:

bushtucker

What will happen to Pulau Bukom? Become another sentosa cove for money launderers to park their yachts?

Pinkieslut

This is what happen when you have Sinkies running the show. Hence FTs are clearly needed for this country to move ahead.

Loofydralb

This is what happen when you have Sinkies running the show. Hence FTs are clearly needed for this country to move ahead.
You are right about Sinkies being incompetent managers.
They plan to sell it.
https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...hs-to-explore-singapore-refinery-sale-sources

The fact that they had to engage a broker to sell bukom means no one wants to buy. It's a sign of desperation.
The headline says sinopec is interested, but that is just bait for the other fishes to bite. Sinopec isn't interested as they have more than sufficient refining capacities elsewhere.

My contacts in shell say that other assets of shell, when sold, didn't need a broker.
It's been infested with cecas mostly on marine side. Not sure about other departments.
My friend say they have infected the whole island and that makes things worse. They even demanded their own temple on the island!
The recent retrenchment, only locals kana, CECAkroaches exempted.

Shell taps Goldman Sachs to explore S’pore refinery sale, China’s Sinopec said to be keen: Sources​

2 of 2
2023-07-27T102122Z510855220RC28QZ9XEJ15RTRMADP3SHELL-EUROPE-GAS.JPG

FILE PHOTO: Wael Sawan, the CEO of Shell, speaks during the CERAWeek energy conference in Houston, Texas, U.S., March 9, 2023. REUTERS/Callaghan O'Hare/File Photo REUTERS
2023-08-23T114728Z431427898RC2MT2A1BFV3RTRMADP3SHELL-SINGAPORE-REFINERY.JPG

Shell's energy and chemical assets on Singapore’s Bukom (above) and Jurong islands are being reviewed. PHOTO: REUTERS
UPDATED

24 AUG 2023, 8:14 PM SGT

FacebookWhatsApp

SINGAPORE - Shell is considering a sale of its Singapore refining and petrochemical plants as part of a broader strategic review and has hired investment bank Goldman Sachs to explore a potential deal, said several sources close to the matter.
Companies that are reviewing Shell’s Singapore assets include Asia’s largest refiner, China’s Sinopec, as well as global trading companies Vitol and Trafigura, the sources said.
The global energy major’s new chief executive Wael Sawan is targeting spending cuts over the next two years to boost profitability, while remaining committed to achieving net-zero emissions by 2050.

My friend say they have infected the whole island and that makes things worse. They even demanded their own temple on the island!
The recent retrenchment, only locals kana, CECAkroaches exempted
Sinopec will settles issues wrt ceca.

k1976

As I've mentioned before, it's about time Jurong Island gets turned into another casino/beach resort.

I don't think Shell will want to operate in a geopolitically volatile area anyway,
Tiagong, many ATB coming soon De woh