the govt has exploit us and still is.
sinkapore allowing strangers to our home and daylight rob us.
when i speak wif some frenz regarding such issue. omg, they told me wa lau stop behaving like uncle lah.
talk about this for what.
they are at extreme low.how badly we need these foreign talent because "we are not good enough".
Sinkies, besides being stupid and gutless, suffer from poor self-esteem as well.
I had a similar experience. I once explained to a group of Sinkies on how we are being fucked over by our ridiculous immigration policies. It soon turned into a loud argument, with me defending my position against SIX of them, who accused me of being unreasonable and then went on like a broken record about how badly we need these foreign talent because "we are not good enough".
Sinkies, besides being stupid and gutless, suffer from poor self-esteem as well.
How did you come to the conclusion that 48K flats to Foreigners = high when 48K flats out of 992K(992000 Residential Units see Page 3) only consitute to < 5% of the total number of flats in SG yet the total PR population(about 500K PR vs 3257K citizens(check Singstatsfor numbers)) consistute 15% of resident population in SG. Don't look at pure numbers. Look at materiality
In the first place, why are PR allowed to buy HDB flats meant for Singaporeans? They can buy/rent private properties.Hello wMulew,
Appreciate your post and argument with housing and population statistics.
However I would like to point out that the total number of public housing available is probably about 10% lower at 883k (See pg 7), not 992k as you suggested which is the total units built to date. Hence PRs currently own 5.6% (49k/883k) of all HDB dwellings in Singapore.
It is also disingenuous to compare the number of PR vs citizens in this context. That is because a PR may have a citizen spouse or vice versa, and the 49k flats are strictly units owned by PRs-only households. Shall I draw you a Venn diagram?
Therefore it is not unreasonable to assume each flat represents one PR household in Singapore. 49k PRs-only household against a total resident household of 1150k would mean PRs-only household account for 4.3% of total households in Singapore.
So we have this phenomena where PR-only households accounting for 4.3% of households in Singapore owning 5.6% of total available HDB flats in Singapore. It is an anomaly and that is what you ought to be looking at.
In the welfare thread I mentioned that HDB flats are a form of welfare for the community. What is the rationale for the Singapore government to extend this right/welfare to non-citizen residents who do not share in the obligations of citizenship?
Blah Blah Blah
Hello wMulew,
Appreciate your post and argument with housing and population statistics.
However I would like to point out that the total number of public housing available is probably about 10% lower at 883k (See pg 7), not 992k as you suggested which is the total units built to date. Hence PRs currently own 5.6% (49k/883k) of all HDB dwellings in Singapore.
It is also disingenuous to compare the number of PR vs citizens in this context. That is because a PR may have a citizen spouse or vice versa, and the 49k flats are strictly units owned by PRs-only households. Shall I draw you a Venn diagram?
Therefore it is not unreasonable to assume each flat represents one PR household in Singapore. 49k PRs-only household against a total resident household of 1150k would mean PRs-only household account for 4.3% of total households in Singapore.
So we have this phenomena where PR-only households accounting for 4.3% of households in Singapore owning 5.6% of total available HDB flats in Singapore. It is an anomaly and that is what you ought to be looking at.
In the welfare thread I mentioned that HDB flats are a form of welfare for the community. What is the rationale for the Singapore government to extend this right/welfare to non-citizen residents who do not share in the obligations of citizenship?
I don't have a big problem with PRs who owns flat married to locals. Wouldn't that also indicate that more likely then not, the PR is staying put. As for your estimate it's still way below the level the 15% population ratio. So no that's still not an anomaly
As for welfarism and HDB. PRs CANNOT buy direct from HDB, they can only buy from the resale market hence there is little in terms of benefit yet it benefits the local who bought at a subsidized rate earning a profit from the sale of their flat to PRs.
BTW your might want to revise the figure upwards. I was looking at the marriage stats. Last year Citizen to non citizen marriage was at 40%
http://www.singstat.gov.sg/stats/themes/people/popinbrief2011.pdf See Page 11