• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SGD tiagong will huat big big liao..

k1976

Singapore dollar’s heydays seen numbered as exports lose steam​

Published Mon, Oct 09, 2023 · 8:49 am Updated Mon, Oct 09, 2023 · 8:51 am

Analysts at Standard Chartered Bank, Oversea-Chinese Banking and Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken expect the Singapore dollar to underperform its Asian counterparts in the coming months.

“We see limited scope for further Singapore dollar outperformance, given the poor external backdrop,” said Nicholas Chia, macro strategist at Standard Chartered. He estimated that the currency’s so-called nominal effective exchange rate is trading in the upper portion of the policy band, limiting the room for significant appreciation against the currencies of major trading partners.

k1976

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...lars-heydays-seen-numbered-exports-lose-steam

THE Singapore dollar has held up fairly well against the stronger greenback this year but its resilience may soon be tested.

Even after a 2 per cent decline since the end of December, the currency has stayed near the top of the pack in Asia. However, it’s vulnerable to a drop in the rankings as Singapore’s economy loses traction and investors turn to the safety of the US dollar amid rising Treasury yields.

k1976

Singapore’s non-oil exports declined for an 11th month in August, signalling deteriorating global demand will be a challenge for the local dollar given the economy’s reliance on trade. The city-state has already cut its growth projection for 2023 and third-quarter economic growth data due this week may show a slower pace of expansion on a year-on-year basis.

One thing the currency has had going in its favour this year is the Monetary Authority of Singapore’s (MAS) exchange rate policy stance. It has let the currency appreciate against a basket of its major trading partners to cool inflation. Focus is now turning to the policy announcement due Oct 13.

k1976

The challenging export backdrop will likely continue to weigh on third-quarter GDP in ultra-open Singapore,” said Brian Tan, an economist at Barclays Bank. Yet, he does not see a dovish tilt from the central bank as “inflation concerns are very much alive”.

Unlike other central banks that use interest rates, the MAS responds to inflation by guiding the local dollar higher against a basket of the currencies of its major trading partners. It targets the Singapore dollar’s nominal effective exchange rate or S$NEER within a policy band and any decline in its slope should put pressure on the local dollar.

“We ascribe a material probability of 40 per cent that the Monetary Authority of Singapore may reduce the slope of the S$NEER band slightly should it place more weight on the weakening external outlook,” said Peter Chia, FX strategist at United Overseas Bank. BLOOMBERG

congo9

Cool inflation ??
Sure ??
Why my eggs is costing so much now ? 30 pieces for $8.

Across mudland, they are selling at 30 pieces at 12.90rm

k1976

SINGAPORE: Singapore is turning to robots to open new doors for young talent and help labour-intensive companies cope with the manpower crunch.

Professor Quek Tong Boon, chief executive of the National Robotics Programme of Singapore, said it is looking at robots that can assist people in demanding or dangerous roles.

Sinki can idle at home or WFH , while robot do the hard work....no worries de woh

k1976

If u continue to use Mudland cheap labour's, there is simply no differentiation on skill levels from Jiuhu, how do we make our products to be more competitive than them.in international market??
Cool inflation ??
Sure ??
Why my eggs is costing so much now ? 30 pieces for $8.

Across mudland, they are selling at 30 pieces at 12.90rm

congo9

Our costs structure is too high.
It a fact that too liberal a migrant and FT policy has lead to unintended consequences.

Talking about inflation. Mudland has been able to control their inflation better then us. Our inflation are mostly government induced.

k1976

Our costs structure is too high.
It a fact that too liberal a migrant and FT policy has lead to unintended consequences.

Talking about inflation. Mudland has been able to control their inflation better then us. Our inflation are mostly government induced.
Leemember, we are the price taker mah

congo9

There's no high tech in Singapore. No value added in Singapore ,no value creation.We are still a sub con to MNC.
Our only option is to wash more money. But our money laundering scheme has been badly exposed by crooks. The inept and the care-less attitude is being demonstrated in recent time via Parliament.

Correction: Singapore's money laundering hub days are numbered. :cool:

'Exports lose steam' your see lang tao... you are not the sweatshop of the world. Don't bedek until like this lah, insult our intelligence. 一群装逼的傻逼. :rolleyes:

congo9

That is why we must lower our cost of living. First thing first is via our housing. We can prebuild our flats, Not in BTO style. We can lower our cost of transport by having different types of transport and different variation. Not everything has to be profit maximization or revenue maximiz.

If you leave too much revenue to the government they will be reinvesting your money via GIC, That's where the risk comes.

k1976

There's no high tech in Singapore. No value added in Singapore ,no value creation.We are still a sub con to MNC.
Our only option is to wash more money. But our money laundering scheme has been badly exposed by crooks. The inept and the care-less attitude is being demonstrated in recent time via Parliament.
Switzerland of the East mah

k1976

Correction: Singapore's money laundering hub days are numbered. :cool:

'Exports lose steam' your see lang tao... you are not the sweatshop of the world. Don't bedek until like this lah, insult our intelligence. 一群装逼的傻逼. :rolleyes:
We have a lot Kong Kum Kia de woh...all have mental health issue de