<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - SG outraged by PRC scholars' attitudes</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Feb-26 7:43 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>29275.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Singaporeans outraged at PAP for providing free tertiary education to PRC scholars for them to work in China
February 27, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines
Leave a comment
Written by Our Correspondent
Two days ago, we published an article on PRC NTU scholars applying for positions back home in China instead of Singapore which has sparked an outcry in cyberspace. (read article here)
We were tipped off by a reader who worked as a HR manager in China who received 78 resumes from PRC NTU students on government scholarships for positions in Shanghai, some of whom are on the Dean’s List.
The stunning revelation sparked a series of discussion threads in Singapore’s blogosphere with many netizens lampooning the ruling party for its pro-foreigner policy.
Some questioned why locals have to serve National Service while foreigners are given free scholarships to study at Singapore universities sponsored entirely by taxpayers’ monies.
Shutterx from fuckwarezone forum wrote:
“for 4yr engrg prog, what each china student gains and does not hv to contribute back:
[figures are approx]
4yrs of full school fees = $33k * 4 = $132,000
on-campus housing = $10,320
4yrs of living allowance = $23,200
3 air tickets of $500 each = $1500
TOTAL = $167,000
meanwhile, every SG kkj must go thru NS/ICT/RT to ’serve the nation’ and pay ur CPF/income tax…ur life is cheaper http://www.fuckwarezone.com/img/forums/styles/hwz/smilies/redface.gif;pv1b0f321a388249ee
may I suggest that our govt gives them FREE s’pore woman, FREE wedding dinner and a FREE flat, maybe more of them will stay here.”
gwzc wondered why local scholars are publicly shamed for bond-breaking while PRC scholars are allowed to get away “scot-free”:
“I still remember last time got some scholars break their bonds to join the private sector. tio flame and shame on national news like no tomorrow. now leh?? how many of these tiongs had come here on taxpayers’ monies/ tution grants/ scholarships to snatch places in our universities then run back to their countries when they finish their studies??”
Tsuteki summed it up nicely:
“1 thing can say Local is dirt and FT is treasure. full stop”
Over at Channel News Asia forum, netizens are equally incensed.
paladin126 wrote it’s true that the Singapore government has sponsored the tertiary education of PRC students:
“It is quite true that Sing Govt sponsor education of PRC students and gives them allowance of $500 per month. When I was in uni, my allowance from parents was less than that, and I just served NS. The next statistics we need is the percentage of PRC student who leave without fulfilling their bond because they have to work in Singapore for 3 years after their sponsored education.”
Molvis felt the government should have invested on its own citizens:
“Don’t be stupid….do you really think they will be grateful? Such money should be spent on Singaporean instead.”
Damnit added:
“Many using Singapore as a stepping stone including getting Singapore passport to apply for PR/Citizenship elsewhere. And the worse part is that the Singapore Government acknowledges this fact but hopes that many will fail and so “forced” to stay in Singapore. How did we as a nation end up being so pathetic? Don’t need Ah Tiongs to tell us we are stupid, our Gov. policy on this matter speaks for itself.”
Most of the comments are directed at the PAP rather than the PRC scholars. Some Singaporeans claimed that they would have done the same if they were in their shoes. After all, who doesn’t want a free lunch in this world?
Unfortunately, it appears that the PAP leaders are still blissfully ignorant of the reality on the ground.
PAP’s strongman Lee Kuan Yew said in an interview with the National Geographic magazine lately that it is a “good thing” that Singapore has welcomed so many Chinese immigrants (mainly from China) who are more “hard-driving” and “hard-striving” than locals.
Despite the desperate attempts of the PAP to attract mainland Chinese to study, work and live in Singapore, an increasing number are shunning the island state for other countries after witnessing for themselves how shabbily it treats its own citizens.
In a Gallop poll done in July last year, the top three emigration destinations for college Chinese students are United States, South Korea and France. Singapore was not even featured within the top five.
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
February 27, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines
Leave a comment
Written by Our Correspondent
Two days ago, we published an article on PRC NTU scholars applying for positions back home in China instead of Singapore which has sparked an outcry in cyberspace. (read article here)
We were tipped off by a reader who worked as a HR manager in China who received 78 resumes from PRC NTU students on government scholarships for positions in Shanghai, some of whom are on the Dean’s List.
The stunning revelation sparked a series of discussion threads in Singapore’s blogosphere with many netizens lampooning the ruling party for its pro-foreigner policy.
Some questioned why locals have to serve National Service while foreigners are given free scholarships to study at Singapore universities sponsored entirely by taxpayers’ monies.
Shutterx from fuckwarezone forum wrote:
“for 4yr engrg prog, what each china student gains and does not hv to contribute back:
[figures are approx]
4yrs of full school fees = $33k * 4 = $132,000
on-campus housing = $10,320
4yrs of living allowance = $23,200
3 air tickets of $500 each = $1500
TOTAL = $167,000
meanwhile, every SG kkj must go thru NS/ICT/RT to ’serve the nation’ and pay ur CPF/income tax…ur life is cheaper http://www.fuckwarezone.com/img/forums/styles/hwz/smilies/redface.gif;pv1b0f321a388249ee
may I suggest that our govt gives them FREE s’pore woman, FREE wedding dinner and a FREE flat, maybe more of them will stay here.”
gwzc wondered why local scholars are publicly shamed for bond-breaking while PRC scholars are allowed to get away “scot-free”:
“I still remember last time got some scholars break their bonds to join the private sector. tio flame and shame on national news like no tomorrow. now leh?? how many of these tiongs had come here on taxpayers’ monies/ tution grants/ scholarships to snatch places in our universities then run back to their countries when they finish their studies??”
Tsuteki summed it up nicely:
“1 thing can say Local is dirt and FT is treasure. full stop”
Over at Channel News Asia forum, netizens are equally incensed.
paladin126 wrote it’s true that the Singapore government has sponsored the tertiary education of PRC students:
“It is quite true that Sing Govt sponsor education of PRC students and gives them allowance of $500 per month. When I was in uni, my allowance from parents was less than that, and I just served NS. The next statistics we need is the percentage of PRC student who leave without fulfilling their bond because they have to work in Singapore for 3 years after their sponsored education.”
Molvis felt the government should have invested on its own citizens:
“Don’t be stupid….do you really think they will be grateful? Such money should be spent on Singaporean instead.”
Damnit added:
“Many using Singapore as a stepping stone including getting Singapore passport to apply for PR/Citizenship elsewhere. And the worse part is that the Singapore Government acknowledges this fact but hopes that many will fail and so “forced” to stay in Singapore. How did we as a nation end up being so pathetic? Don’t need Ah Tiongs to tell us we are stupid, our Gov. policy on this matter speaks for itself.”
Most of the comments are directed at the PAP rather than the PRC scholars. Some Singaporeans claimed that they would have done the same if they were in their shoes. After all, who doesn’t want a free lunch in this world?
Unfortunately, it appears that the PAP leaders are still blissfully ignorant of the reality on the ground.
PAP’s strongman Lee Kuan Yew said in an interview with the National Geographic magazine lately that it is a “good thing” that Singapore has welcomed so many Chinese immigrants (mainly from China) who are more “hard-driving” and “hard-striving” than locals.
Despite the desperate attempts of the PAP to attract mainland Chinese to study, work and live in Singapore, an increasing number are shunning the island state for other countries after witnessing for themselves how shabbily it treats its own citizens.
In a Gallop poll done in July last year, the top three emigration destinations for college Chinese students are United States, South Korea and France. Singapore was not even featured within the top five.
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>