• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Labour Chief said Min Wage is Crap?

songsongpunggol

AsiaOne

Singapore's approach is 'more than a minimum wage'
AsiaOne - ‎1 hour ago‎

SINGAPORE - Labour chief Lim Swee Say rejected renewed calls from Members of Parliament for a minimum wage system in Singapore. Speaking on the second day of the Budget debate, he said that Singapore's model of Workfare Income Supplement, ...
Related Singapore »
Wage credit may help big boys more: MPsBusiness Times (subscription)
Economic restructuring, wage credit to dominate Budget debateStraits Times

Can't you just post the complete article or at least a link? How are people able to discuss what he said based on these few words...

http://www.straitstimes.com/st/print/887102

The Straits Times
Published on Mar 06, 2013

LIM SWEE SAY, WAGE
Budget 2013: Singapore's approach is "more than a minimum wage model"

By Robin Chan

Labour chief Lim Swee Say on Wednesday rejected renewed calls from Members of Parliament for a minimum wage system in Singapore.

Speaking on the second day of the Budget debate, he said that Singapore's model of Workfare Income Supplement, Workfare Training Support and a progressive wage system, works better overall than a minimum wage.

"With the WIS, WTS and the progressive wage model, we believe we have now a minimum wage model - in fact, it is more than a minimum wage model - whereby we can actually maximise the upside for the low-wage workers, and at the same time, minimise the downside," he said.

The perennial call for a minimum wage was made in the House over the past two days by MPs such as Mr Inderjit Singh (Ang Mo Kio GRC) and Nominated MP Laurence Lien, as they shared concerns that wages at the bottom are not rising fast enough, even with recent Budget measures.

Labour MP Zainal Sapari (Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC) had also expressed concern that the recently announced $3.6 billion Wage Credit Scheme - a centrepiece of the Budget - would have limited impact for these low-wage workers.

Under the scheme, the Government will co-fund 40 per cent of the pay increases of all Singaporean workers for the next three years up to a gross monthly salary of $4,000, but some low wage worker contracts may be already be fixed for the next two to three years, Mr Zainal said.

But while acknowledging Singapore was in the minority, as more than 90 per cent of countries today have a minimum wage, Mr Lim said that system had limitations, and was a "zero-sum game".

"You cannot have high upside, and at the same time a low downside," he said.

Upturn? Downturn? Upside? Downside?

LOL! Someone should organize a competition for talking cock. Zorro Lim will win the gold medal.

There is a mistake with the thread title.
The words "said Min Wage" were wrongly included.

Min wage is indeed crap. Artifical sense of wage increase. What's the use of lifting wage when everything correspondingly go up due to more expensive labor?

I propose a salary ceiling - 6K for our ministers.

Y is he spewing crap in parliament when the labour minister is not squeaking ?

Since Tharman seems to be doing some real work, whether you agree with the results or not, he should get 12K.

Wait, don't worry, the shortfall need not come from the taxpayers. It will come from _ _ _ _ _

Since Tharman seems to be doing some real work, whether you agree with the results or not, he should get 12K.

Wait, don't worry, the shortfall need not come from the taxpayers. It will come from _ _ _ _ _

Open to that option. Spreading the same amount of butter around.

Good thing...
If ministar did not accept min. wage, then someone raises for max./ cap... started with all ministars and G/H scales civil servants.

This Lim Sway Sway is a very smart & bright chap!
He knows with the implementation of minimum wage system, he would not be even worth the minimum wages for his laziness, tardiness & just senseless sentences let alone the "WORK" that he claimed to have done & the "CONTRIBUTIONs" that he claimed he has made!

With this type of calibre ,no skills,no leadership,cannot speak properly and clearly,he can only survive as a minister without portfolio or cho-bo-lan in the PMO.As a fake union leader,he is a disgrace to the trade union movement in singapore.Amazing Singapore !:D

It's OK if there is no minimum wage. But I want to implement maximum wage at $8000. Anyone who earns more than $8000 will have to forfeit the excess wages and pump it back into society for charitable purposes, etc.

There are many people who deserve to earn more than $8000.
But don't worry, they can earn more and the shortfall need not be made up by the charities.
The shortfall can and should be made up by _ _ _ _ _ .
In fact they should claw back all his past earnings for no value added.

I second your proposal!!
And I suggest imposing a penalty for MPs who say wrong things and give wrong info.
No punishment, no cause for them to be more careful and hence, no improvement.

There must be something right or good why the majority are having a min wage system.

http://www.straitstimes.com/st/print/887102
But while acknowledging Singapore was in the minority, as more than 90 per cent of countries today have a minimum wage, Mr Lim said that system had limitations, and was a "zero-sum game".

Now this, I cannot understand. Very cheem. But layman thinking - why Ministers salry can be high high, but ordinary citizens low low.

"You cannot have high upside, and at the same time a low downside," he said.

Upturn? Downturn? Upside? Downside?

LOL! Someone should organize a competition for talking cock. Zorro Lim will win the gold medal.

1. aiyoh!
2. zorro monkey-face is farting again via its backside:D
3. it is only suitable to be some clown:p

in developed angmo countries labour chief most important job is the organise a strike if collective bargaining for improved wages fails.

in singapore our labour chief makes sure our wages stay low and once in a while dress up as zorro and sing upturn downturn song while receiving min wage of millions of dollars and letting you know he feels very happy when he sees his cpf statement.

see the difference?