• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG created 106,600 jobs for Pinoy PMETs

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - SG created 106,600 jobs for Pinoy PMETs </TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">snablogspot <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">Mar-12 3:18 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 34) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>45783.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>http://www.philstar.com/Article.aspx?articleId=665361&publicationSubCategoryId=63
Pinoy professionals in Singapore outnumber maids - Aquino
By Delon Porcalla (The Philippine Star) Updated March 12, 2011 12:00 AM
SINGAPORE (via PLDT) – Contrary to public perception, Filipino professionals and highly skilled workers outnumber domestic helpers in Singapore.
President Aquino said many Filipinos in Singapore work as accountants, financial managers and advisers.
“There has been a transformation on the composition of our OFWs here,” he told Manila-based reporters in an informal gathering at the Shangri-La hotel Thursday.
“Many professonals have come here. We have a lot of engineers, a lot of them women.”
Aquino ended his productive three-day state visit here yesterday.
Of the 177,600 Filipinos in Singapore, a sizeable number, or 106,600 are professionals, while the remaining 71,000 are domestic helpers, according to data from the Philippine embassy.
Presidential Communications Secretary Herminio Coloma said problems regarding domestic helpers are “adequately” addressed by the embassy, the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) and the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE).
“No major concerns… that’s not being handled adequately by the embassy, DFA and DOLE,” he said.
“And I think the most significant fact is, the balance is now in favor of more professionals and highly skilled workers. So, in general, the problems have become less in number and in magnitude.”
“No complaints so far. The ambassador (Minda Calaguian-Cruz) also didn’t mention anything. Their Trade Union Congress is a very strong entity here,” Aquino said.
“I would assume that they would also be informed of their rights. So, until I see proof to the contrary I would have to presume that things are all right here.”
Coloma said the condition of Filipinos working in Singapore has improved tremendously as a result of the continuing cooperation between the two countries.
Coloma said around 108 Filipino associations are operating in Singapore, including the bayanihan centers.
“This is being sustained by the two countries, the Philippine and Singaporean governments,” he said.
“And I think this is the reason why there is a significant drop in the problems of OFWs in Singapore.”
Aquino thanked Singapore President S.R. Nathan and his people for the excellent arrangements during his visit.
“I am grateful for the support you have extended my nation – in the form of investments that have generated jobs for my countrymen and of enhancement capability programs undertaken in the spirit of solidarity,” he said.
Aquino also thanked the Singapore government for hosting the more than 177,000 overseas Filipino workers during a speech at the state banquet hosted by Nathan.
“Drive toward progress was fueled by the desire to empower your people so that they may live better lives,” he told Nathan.
“I spent the past day seeing this first-hand: how a people so diverse were able to unite under one vision and one banner; how an island a little more than 700 square kilometers was transformed into a hub of culture and enterprise in the region, if not the world.”
Aquino said every Singaporean has been empowered to fulfill his or her potential.
“I believe that the same potential holds true for my own people,” he said.
“You made me realize what we can someday achieve.”
He was grateful to the Singapore government for the example of what can be achieved, Aquino said.
Aquino invites investors to Phl
Aquino also invited Singaporean businessmen to invest in the Philippines.
Speaking at the Singapore Business Forum/International Enterprise Eminent Leaders Lecture, Aquino said it would be a “wonderful opportunity” to be partners with leaders of Singaporean commerce as the Philippines “rises to the sky.”
Aquino said the Philippines stood to learn and earn a lot from doing business with Singapore.
“I met with your business leaders inside the Fullerton, and learned that it was once a post office building,” he said.
“But rather than let it fall into disrepair and neglect, you have transformed it into one of your country’s prime hotels.”
Aquino said what was done with the Fullerton inspired him and offered a clearer picture of what being the President of the Philippines entailed.
“I see myself as a sort of building administrator, tasked to look after a building in a state of disrepair,” he said.
“I lead a nation that has for so long been neglected. My job is to fix the things that need fixing, so that the building – my nation – may perform to its fullest capacity, and my people may live better lives.
“The challenge is to find the things that need to be fixed; the need to redesign, retrofit, and enhance the building while the occupants continue to use it, while at the same time making their occupancy more comfortable while reconstruction is ongoing.”
Aquino lauded Singaporeans for showing the way to achieving this not so impossible feat.
“Your nation has shown the world that good leadership translates into progress,” he said.
“We intend to join your ranks among developed nations; the next question, then, is how?”
With Singapore’s example, the Philippines has embarked on “redesigning the building of state, the culture of governance, alleviating poverty by curbing corruption; by instituting reforms in the military, where faulty procurement practices have robbed our soldiers of decent equipment and dignified living standards; in the judiciary, where Lady Justice’s scales have tipped toward the privileged few; and all across the bureaucracy, where a lack of integrity and competence has been the norm, rather than the exception,” he added.
Aquino said other reforms include: addressing the challenges rooted in a lack of infrastructure that will make the Philippines a more attractive investment destination by pursuing greater cooperation with the private sector through the public private partnership program; cutting red tape and ensuring the proper and responsible use of government resources.
“Your government has already signified its willingness to help a brother nation reach the same heights that you have reached; I invite therefore the Singaporean business community to take part in this wonderful opportunity as the Philippines rises to the sky,” he said.
“Partnering with us holds both tangible and intangible rewards; it means also a commitment to lifting the lives of a people who only recently had learned how to dream again.”
Singapore is the biggest trade and investment partner in ASEAN for 2010 with total trade amounting to $12.1 billion, up 102 percent from 2009.
Philippine exports to Singapore are valued at $7 3-billion (14.3 percent of total exports), while imports amount to $5.2 billion (14 percent of total imports), thus posting a trade surplus of $2.1 billion for the Philippines.
The Eminent Leaders Lecture by President Aquino on the theme “Philippines: Partn...[Message truncated]
<HR SIZE=1>Edited 3/12/2011 3:19 am ET by SingaporeNewsAlternative.blogspot.com (snablogspot)</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Ha ha.........
President Aquino reveal the secret where Singapore government reluctant to give exact Philippine FT figure.
more than 170k in total.

khunking

This is interesting. Part of our GDP may have been exported via remittance.

Philippine exports to Singapore are valued at $7 3-billion (14.3 percent of total exports), while imports amount to $5.2 billion (14 percent of total imports), thus posting a trade surplus of $2.1 billion for the Philippines.<table class="msgtable" width="96%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgbfr1" width="1%">
</td><td style="vertical-align: top;">
</td><td>
</td></tr><tr><td style="vertical-align: top;">
</td><td style="vertical-align: top;">
</td><td class="msgtxt">
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

khunking

Overseas Filipinos sent record $18.8B in ’10

<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td class="padbox" valign="bottom">
logoinq7.gif
</td> </tr> <tr> <td class="padbox" valign="top" width="100%"> Inquirer Money / Top Stories <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td valign="top" width="0" align="left" bgcolor="#cccccc" height="0">
clear.gif
</td> </tr> </tbody></table> <table width="100%" border="0"> <tbody><tr><td>http://business.inquirer.net/money/topstories/view/20110215-320454/Overseas-Filipinos-sent-record-188B-in-10</td></tr> <tr><td><table width="100%" border="0"> <tbody><tr><td>Overseas Filipinos sent record $18.8B in ’10

</td></tr> <tr><td>By Michelle Remo
Philippine Daily Inquirer
</td></tr> <tr><td>Posted date: February 15, 2011
</td></tr> <tr><td>
MANILA, Philippines—Remittances grew faster than expected in 2010 to post an all-time high as the recovery of the global economy from the recent turmoil led to growth in job opportunities abroad for Filipinos.The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas on Monday reported that remittances from Filipinos based overseas reached $18.76 billion last year, the highest ever recorded by the country.
It was an 8.2-percent growth from the $17.07 billion registered in 2009 and exceeded the government’s forecast of 8 percent.
In December alone, remittances amounted to $1.69 billion, rising 8.1 percent from $1.57 billion in the same month of the previous year.
The BSP said the robust growth in remittances, which fuel local consumption, partly aided the economy’s sharp rebound last year from the slowdown in 2009.
“The stable flow of remittances continued to provide strong support to domestic demand, with the remittance level for the year accounting for close to 10 percent of the country’s gross domestic product [GDP],” BSP Governor Amando Tetangco Jr. said in a statement.
GDP grew 7.3 percent in 2010, the fastest pace in about three decades.
Remittances largely came from Filipinos based in the United States, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom, Japan, United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Italy, Germany and Norway.
The increasing number of job markets, as well as the expanding network of remittance centers serving Filipino workers, should be credited for boosting the amount of money sent by Filipinos to their families and other recipients in the Philippines.
“The continuing innovation of financial products and services [such as web-based remittance services and cash cards] being offered in the market to facilitate money transfer have likewise contributed to the resilience of remittances throughout the year,” Tetangco said.
The BSP said that as of end-2010, there were 4,581 remittance centers, banks and other offices all over the world serving the remittance needs of Filipinos. This was up from 3,730 registered as of end-2009.
Citing documents from the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA), the central bank further reported that 46,238 job orders for Filipino workers by foreign employers were processed and approved last year. There are an estimated 10 million Filipino workers abroad.
While the growth in remittances has a positive impact on the economy in the form of increased consumption by recipients, it reflects the view of many Filipinos that job opportunities in the country are lacking.
The National Statistics Office earlier reported that the unemployment rate in the country stood at 7.1 percent in October 2010, just the same as that in the same period of the previous year.
</td></tr> </tbody></table>
</td> </tr> <tr> <td class="padbox" valign="bottom" align="right">^ Back to top</td> </tr> <tr> <td class="fontsmall" valign="bottom" align="left"> ©Copyright 2001-2011 INQUIRER.net, An Inquirer Company</td> </tr> </tbody></table>

LeeLaoPeh

Pinoy professionals in Singapore outnumber maids - Aquino
By Delon Porcalla (The Philippine Star) Updated March 12, 2011 12:00 AM
SINGAPORE (via PLDT) – Contrary to public perception, Filipino professionals and highly skilled workers outnumber domestic helpers in Singapore.
President Aquino said many Filipinos in Singapore work as accountants, financial managers and advisers.

hotel bar band singer is highly skill professioner or not ?

batman1

This sums up the failure of singapore education system in singapore .Plus we have very bad role models from Prataman to MM to SM.Tragedy in the making !

Equalisation

This situation is infuriating to say the least !!:mad:

Thousands of jobs are given freely to the FTs ....:o

Can't help wondering what will happen when another 1.5 million FTs flows into this country !!:(

no_faith

dun anyhow give them the term professionals can or not?:mad:

the increasing of pinoys is fucking alarming.:oIo:

our sg has no talents to fill up the postion meh?:oIo::oIo::oIo:

KNNBCCB

170k pinoys : Mam..,
I love Sinkapoor! Look at how those useless sinkies going NS and defending us ! I love Sinkapoor !

borom

The solution is SIMPLE.

Vote them OUT-the government that gives job to foreigners at the expense of locals.

no_faith

generate of jobs to your ppl? of course lah cb.:oIo:

scarifice of 1 singaporean for 1 of your breed.:oIo:

this also means we have almost 170k sgporean out of job.:oIo:

Re: Overseas Filipinos sent record $18.8B in ’10

1. aiyoh!
2. no wonder man!
3. there is some pinoy soap on local tv during primetime.

This is interesting. Part of our GDP may have been exported via remittance.

The price of housing a Pinoy in your home, as maid

1. pay their fees monthly, and as such it is your money she is remitting back to Pinoyland,

2. house them and if there is room, the man of the house may slip into her cage and pay a fee which is then remitted back to Pinoyland,

3. you feed them and she eats your food you buy then she saved money on food and in (1) remit back to Pinoyland,

4, she needs kotaks and tampons, you pay for it through her fees she charge,

5. She goes to Luck Plaza every weekend to find her shot and go for sperma-matic injection you lose your deposit,

6. Then she return back with a new identity and the vicious cycle continues.

Your wife is like a line phone, cheap and easy to maintain. The pinoy maid is like mobile phone, expensive to maintain and if no money her services are cut off.

peterpan777

This sums up the failure of singapore education system in singapore .Plus we have very bad role models from Prataman to MM to SM.Tragedy in the making !

Totally, agreed. if the government claim that Singaporean not able to compete with Foreign talent, then, they serious need to look at the education system what exactly gone wrong. Why Singaproe education system unable to produce citizen to compete with Foreignt Talent.

Ha ha.........
President Aquino reveal the secret where Singapore government reluctant to give exact Philippine FT figure.
more than 170k in total.

Yes, u are right. Its pretty sad when sinkies has to rely on another govt. to give them truthful and accurate information. If the average PMET job pays just $2500 per month X 106,600 = $266 million a month or just about $3.2 billion a year in wages that could have gone to sinkies. Fucking PAP and Old Goat

Totally, agreed. if the government claim that Singaporean not able to compete with Foreign talent, then, they serious need to look at the education system what exactly gone wrong. Why Singaproe education system unable to produce citizen to compete with Foreignt Talent.

It has nothing to do with education system. These pinoys are just willing to work for a lot less. Most of them their uni degree is not worth toilet paper.