Self Awareness - Capability Axis

Self awareness is possibly one of the most under-rated qualities around.
There are obviously many other qualities besides self awareness and capability, which determines whether a person is successful, will be responsible for himself and his family, can contribute to society, etc or whether he will be a pest to society and others.

But looking at a self awareness - capability axis should be interesting to assess many people we know in daily lives or even public figures.

There will usually be no problem with those who rank high in both. Probably successful, responsible and can contribute to society. Although this of course does not consider personal qualities like compassion, empathy, arrogance, temperament, etc. People with high self awareness will generally be able to control themselves.

Those who are high in capability but low in self awareness may be underachievers or "fail to reach their potential", but they will unlikely be a burden to society and others.

Those who are high in self awareness but low in capability will likely work hard, live within their means, be frugal, prudent, self conscious, but will unlikely infringe upon others as well.

The problem is usually those who rank low in self awareness and capability. Can't be far from the truth to say that most problems in the world, a country or society are probably caused by this lot.

The point therefore is that if we are not capable, at least have self awareness. :)

Self awareness is possibly one of the most under-rated qualities around... The point therefore is that if we are not capable, at least have self awareness. :)

bro,

one question: what about idiots who over-rate themselves? how do we deal with them?

There is a fine line here. Too much "self awareness" may cause one to be short-sell oneself and also understate one's own capability.

In fact, many people are too self conscious and thus set low goals for themselves. This is especially a problem for many native Singaporeans as its not our culture to be confrontational or "boast" about our talents or capabilities. Of course there are always exceptions to this rule.

The Ang Mohs have been great at self promotion all this while and I'm sure many would have noticed that in MNCs, Ang Mohs do all the talking whilst we native Singaporeans do all the work.

In recent times, I would add the vocal Pinoys and India Indians to the group of self promoters too.

Perhaps its our culture or education that caused this. But the younger generation is different and are more ready to speak up.

... The problem is usually those who rank low in self awareness and capability. Can't be far from the truth to say that most problems in the world, a country or society are probably caused by this lot.

The point therefore is that if we are not capable, at least have self awareness. :)
dey dun have ze capability of being self aware dat dey r not capable ... :o

... The Ang Mohs have been great at self promotion all this while and I'm sure many would have noticed that in MNCs, Ang Mohs do all the talking whilst we native Singaporeans do all the work. ...

Perhaps its our culture or education that caused this. But the younger generation is different and are more ready to speak up.
sporeans oni shoot own sporeans down ... but go diam-diam wen angmohs boast ... :o

bro,

one question: what about idiots who over-rate themselves? how do we deal with them?
In my view, it depends on who these people are to you bro.
If you don't like them and know they over-rate themselves (i.e. lack self awareness) but they are not part of your family, circle of good friends or organization, then let them be. Eventually they will self destruct.
If their behaviour or performance is of interest to you, then advise them tactfully to have self awareness.

There is a fine line here. Too much "self awareness" may cause one to be short-sell oneself and also understate one's own capability.

In fact, many people are too self conscious and thus set low goals for themselves. This is especially a problem for many native Singaporeans as its not our culture to be confrontational or "boast" about our talents or capabilities. Of course there are always exceptions to this rule.

The Ang Mohs have been great at self promotion all this while and I'm sure many would have noticed that in MNCs, Ang Mohs do all the talking whilst we native Singaporeans do all the work.

In recent times, I would add the vocal Pinoys and India Indians to the group of self promoters too.

No, by definition, a person who has self awareness will seldom short sell himself or understate his capability. Self awareness is not the same as self consciousness, although being self conscious is a part of being self aware.

That's why I said that a person who has high capability but low self awareness may underachieve or fail to achieve his potential. If you are capable and self aware you will know when to speak, what to say and when to tell off a noisy ang moh or indian national talking nonsense. Or for that matter a prc national. A capable person with low self awareness would not.

Ahh...threads on psychology always interest me.

I wonder self-awareness can help oneself out of a vicious circle or not? :(

tink can la ...

if u got self-awareness, u r aware whether u r inside or outside a vicious circle ...

if u got no self-awareness, u dun even noe whether u r inside or outside a vicious circle ... lidat how u get out of a vicious sucker? ...

How do we increase self-awareness ?

Does sniffing out clone in SBF consider ...:D

The 66% are all capable of voting for opposition to take down MIW. But their complete lack of self awareness are causing them not even attempting to try it.

KNN must be the fault of self awareness that causing me many miserable years.

Opposition, have you heard it. Please, your lumber one priority is go talk to the 66% and raise their self awareness.

:mad:

Contrary to what you think, you DO NOT know yourself best, Read up more on the Johari window.

Johari%20Window.jpg

Of course it will. In fact, it's probably the most important factor.
Once you have self awareness, you will understand why you are in the vicious circle and perhaps even why you sub-consciously continue to stay in it.
The problem is how to achieve self awareness.....................

The 66% are all capable of voting for opposition to take down MIW. But their complete lack of self awareness are causing them not even attempting to try it.

KNN must be the fault of self awareness that causing me many miserable years.

Opposition, have you heard it. Please, your lumber one priority is go talk to the 66% and raise their self awareness.

:mad:
"Capability" here does not mean simply being able to mark a X against the right name or party.
It would include understanding the issues on hand and what would help to make lives better.

The issue of elections is in fact more than just capability and self awareness. Because many people who are capable of understanding the issues and problems and are aware how these issues affect themselves, will come to the conclusion that they are not affected. It also take qualities like compassion and empathy to understand that even if these issues don't affect them personally, they affect others.

Contrary to what you think, you DO NOT know yourself best, Read up more on the Johari window.
Interesting that you brought up the Johari window.
Self awareness is not necessarily knowing yourself best. It's more like the willingness + ability to reflect upon yourself.
That would cover the left side of the window and some parts of the right, because some people have blind spots precisely because they don't want to know or don't want to face the reality. Having self awareness means that you are willing to face the truth and you will inevitably discover some of the right sided factors.
You will not discover all. Being self aware does not mean that you are perfect and know everything about yourself including every single strength and weakness.

Go read any book on EQ, Chapter 1 is always (yes always) about Self-awareness.

It's somewhat similar to Buddhist teachings on meditation of being aware.

If you are interested, can do some further readings.

Since this the subject you raised and very relevant for you.

Look at quadrant 2 by RogueTrader. You should pay more attention to it.

And cut the crap ( lorsoh ), be more KISSable in your reply or message. Do not bore others more then the required info. Read into the the core of the issue rather then border on the in consequent details.

People like me have no patient to hear stories. :D

"Capability" here does not mean simply being able to mark a X against the right name or party.
It would include understanding the issues on hand and what would help to make lives better.

The issue of elections is in fact more than just capability and self awareness. Because many people who are capable of understanding the issues and problems and are aware how these issues affect themselves, will come to the conclusion that they are not affected. It also take qualities like compassion and empathy to understand that even if these issues don't affect them personally, they affect others.

Since this the subject you raised and very relevant for you.

Look at quadrant 2 by RogueTrader. You should pay more attention to it.

And cut the crap ( lorsoh ), be more KISSable in your reply or message. Do not bore others more then the required info. Read into the the core of the issue rather then border on the in consequent details.

People like me have no patient to hear stories. :D
What is the core of your issue?
Isn't it about how self awareness and capability affect elections?
I was trying to understand and respond to your post.
There are many more factors/qualities besides self awareness and capability.

It's not about details of my post or your response. It's about effective communication, you have good knowledge about issues but you have very poor deliveries.

It's the later that I am trying to highlight.

What is the core of your issue?
Isn't it about how self awareness and capability affect elections?
I was trying to understand and respond to your post.
There are many more factors/qualities besides self awareness and capability.