• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Security qsts about PC?

I've got a spare PC loaded with Win XP & firefox, which I plan to use for surfing & retrieving email.

I don't want to install any anti-virus software because of performance issues.

I don't plan to download any software from the internet or open any enclosures in emails.

Is this a safe thing to do? Is it possible for someone to remotely mess with the machine:confused:

I've got a spare PC loaded with Win XP & firefox, which I plan to use for surfing & retrieving email.

I don't plan to download any software from the internet or open any enclosures in emails.

Is this a safe thing to do? Is it possible for someone to remotely mess with the machine:confused:

No way Jose! even if you use IE with safe surfing or firefox...safe sites ( so-called) even channel liar asia...will attempt to install cookies on your system.....unless you have anti-virus sw..

use a MAC..it is safer..but not foolproof..bette than win-based..

or download Microsoft Security essential..it is free..but not 100%...go buy a McAfee for goodness sake...

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I don't have anti-virus install in my PC, have runs for years without problem, but I do have anti-spyware ( using spybot with tea-timer resident ).

If this is your spare PC with no permanent information, I see no big deal lah. If infected, reinstall XP, it does not take you much time, does it? You don't need those anti-virus crapping up your peformance.

Ash007

Eh... Ubuntu with Firefox? Won't have to worry about spyware, malware, viruse. Can even make it run harddiscless, starts off the CD-rom/USB if it is really web surfing you need. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: That is not to say your PC won't get hacked if you don't configure it properly though.

Sideswipe

Firefox is good, security safer than Internet Explorer.

I have not used a anti virus software in my home computer surfing online for many years now. Nothing happen at all. Just be careful of the websites you are visiting.

turn on your anti virus software when surfing porn and warez sites and scan your downloads from unknown sources. scan your PC once in a while to clear those spyware cookies if those cookies bother you, that's all.

It is safe to surf online without a anti-virus.

Spy vs Spy

If there's a will, there's a way. That depends not on a Willie but a Harry. Sorry for being cryptic. It comes with the job!:biggrin:

Ass_Loong_Son

Use ONLY Linux.

If you have some applications that have to use MS, then only way is to DISCONNECT it from Internet while MS is running. Unplug network devices and cables - & even that will not ensure safety because CD & thumb drives will still bring virus.

Char_Azn

What is the specs of your PC? As long as U have more then 512Mb memory there should not be a problem even if U install Antivirus. Unless U install a lot of crap on that system U shouldn't notice the antivirus running in the background. Go download a free one if U are too cheap to buy

And don't use firefox if your system is slow, my preferred browser is firefox but its resource intensive so I won't recommend for low specs system. Use Chrome

Thanks to everyone for replying.

Its a spare PC but still a decent machine, an earlier core2 duo.
I was using free versions of anti-virus SW but the latest updates have become too intrusive.

Since the hdd crashed, it's now got a new hdd with a clean install of XP & don't want to clutter the system if I don't have to.

I'm already using a Mac for email purposes which I think is safer against virus, trojans,....

I'll be dedicating the PC to receiving esignal data. Its a feed for market data which is used to graph real time market action. I'm concerned about someone installing illegal & unwated stuff like bots on the machine, which will slow the PC.

The PCs connected to 3 monitors & sometimes I plan on using it to surf the internet, watch movies, webinairs which only require Firefox & Java.

Other then my loading infected SW or opening infected email enclosures, is this PC vulnerable in any way if it's hooked up to the internet:confused:

Can someone use the internet to plant something on the PC :confused: Had zone alarm installed but didn't really know what it was protecting me from :smile:

Linux is not an option because the SW I'm using is only Windows compatible.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Other then my loading infected SW or opening infected email enclosures, is this PC vulnerable in any way if it's hooked up to the internet:confused:

Can someone use the internet to plant something on the PC :confused: Had zone alarm installed but didn't really know what it was protecting me from :smile:

To all your questions about intrution, yes, even with the best anti-spyware and anti-virus. Let me ask you 2 questions.

1. Does your PC has treasure for people to hunt?
2. How much time does it takes for you to reload XP, plus the software?

You can easily partition out your HD and separate out the OS from the data, so each time you had to reload Xp, it should not touch the charting software data or whatever nice movie you have been accumulating.

Sideswipe

don't use zone alarm or norton, hog the PC severely.
freewares like AVG antivirus are good enough.

and TS worry too much.

unless you regularly visit warez/porn sites or some weird sites that have a high chance of installing virus, trojans on your PC if you don't use a anti virus software.

otherwise, surfing online is generally safe.

buy a new computer.

Even If I bought a new PC I'd still have an older PC & the same question. :smile:

I do have another PC which has AVG & Zone alarm,but this PC has more important data.

I don't expect anyone to be really interested in my data as they can't profit from it. However I am concerned with vandalism: destruction of data & slowing down of the PCs performance. Even reloading XP takes time & effort :smile:

Yes!!!!!!!

diversifyx2

Even If I bought a new PC I'd still have an older PC & the same question. :smile:

I do have another PC which has AVG & Zone alarm,but this PC has more important data.

I don't expect anyone to be really interested in my data as they can't profit from it. However I am concerned with vandalism: destruction of data & slowing down of the PCs performance. Even reloading XP takes time & effort :smile:

Seems using pc caused so much problem, try using pen and note book.

diversifyx2

No way Jose! even if you use IE with safe surfing or firefox...safe sites ( so-called) even channel liar asia...will attempt to install cookies on your system.....unless you have anti-virus sw..

use a MAC..it is safer..but not foolproof..bette than win-based..

or download Microsoft Security essential..it is free..but not 100%...go buy a McAfee for goodness sake...

For Mac?? lol

21o0zna.jpg

what i have to spell out everything.

you want me to spoon feed you?

you want me to photocopy the instruction and give you?

for goodness sake.

if you have a computer which do not have the processing power to run background virus scan, you have to get a new computer and bin the old one.

like that also dun understand.

no wonder PAP have to get third rate trashes to replace the sinkies.

if you have a computer which do not have the processing power to run background virus scan, you have to get a new computer and bin the old one.

like that also dun understand.

no wonder PAP have to get third rate trashes to replace the sinkies.

If I bin the old PC, wouldn't it be like the PAP's solution of throwing old & sick Sporeans out to Batam/JB :confused:

I can of course burden my PC with all the anti-virus, anti-trojan,... SW
However I' m looking for better solution instead of following the herd :biggrin: