SDP - Competent. Constructive. Compassionate. (Part I)

metalslug

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/perspe...-competent-constructive-compassionate-part-i-

SDP - Competent. Constructive. Compassionate. (Part I)
Wednesday, 21 July 2010
Singapore Democrats

3cs_a.png

While some may want to attain the 5 Cs of cash, car, condo, country club, and credit card, the Singapore Democrats have a different set of Cs we aspire to - competence, constructiveness, and compassion. These are the qualities we have been working to build up and they will be the ones we want voters in this coming general elections to know us for.

In this three-part series we look at each of these virtues and examine to what extent we have been able to attain them. We start with being constructive which, of the three, is perhaps the easiest to measure and assess.

For years the PAP has targeted the SDP and charged us for being a party that opposes for opposition sake. We have not, it says, been a party that comes come with constructive alternatives. Because of its control of the media and, more crucially, the lack of an alternative medium we have been at the mercy of our accuser.

The electorate has been fed a steady diet of negative news and attacks of the worst kind against our party and its leaders. We were helpless against the onslaught because there was no avenue for us to fight back. The attack took its toll.

Then came the Internet. With its growing pervasiveness and utility, we found a weapon with which to defend ourselves and, indeed, launch countermeasures against the PAP propaganda.

More important, it was a medium which we could use to tell Singaporeans our views and alternative proposals. This we did with a vengeance. We have made our stand clear on our positions vis-a-vis PAP policies and articulated our reasons for doing so. We didn't stop there. For each of these positions, we have explained as clearly as we possibly can what alternative policies should replace the PAP's.

We have done this in several areas such as education, the political system, the media, society and the arts, social security, income disparity and even national service. We published these on this website in the section on our Manifesto.

The one area to which we have given overwhelming focus is the economy. We do this for obvious reasons: the national narrative is still very much an economic one.

We published The SDP Economic Alternative online and will be putting out a printed version for distribution soon. Some of the ideas contained therein have been echoed by analysts, academics and even PAP MPs.

To be sure, we have been doing this all along. Our ideas are not new. We campaigned on the minimum wage, retrenchment benefits, and Singaporeans-first policies, discussed in our Economic Alternative, way back in the 2001 elections.

Few people know this, however. And understandably so because the print and broadcast media will not cover our alternative proposals. They still won't.

The difference now is that there is the Internet. Limited as it may be in its reach, the new media at least affords us a means of getting our message across and to counter the PAP's propaganda. The influence and reach of cyberspace will only grow.

Now, even our most hardened opponents cannot credibly accuse us of not being constructive and opposing for opposition sake. It is one achievement that we are immensely proud of. It is one matter we will take to our voters in the upcoming GE - that there is an alternative. It is called the Singapore Democratic Party.

I wonder what SDP did for two issues:

1) FT policy
2) HDB prices

Not criticizing them but I think they aren't too vocal on some issues and more vocal on things like free speech or assembly rights

I would like to see SDP pledge to peg PM and ministers salaries to those of the USA President and his cabinet.

This is the view from an ordinary citizen.

Competent - Don't know, they are unproven.

Constructive - I would have to say no. Most ordinary singaporeans don't know what they are about.

Compassionate - Perhaps.

I wonder what SDP did for two issues:

1) FT policy
2) HDB prices

Not criticizing them but I think they aren't too vocal on some issues and more vocal on things like free speech or assembly rights

Apologies and with due respect to your comments and rightly so. But I would think that how would their vocalization be heard if any?

If they are bold enough to wear those "CPF" t-shirts @ Robinson Road and be arrested for their beliefs, I guess is proof enough in their mantle to pursue issues affecting Singaporeans' lives.

With deliberate demonization of SDP by our ruling elites and bankruptcy being linked to being liars, defamers, cheaters etc etc, thanks but no thanks, SDP, I suspect in the back of those less informed Singaporeans' mind, the latter is already been written off.

I am inclined to believe, unless CST and CSJ "make-up", this uneasy history and feud between them will forever "ground" SDP as a credible OPP.

This is the view from an ordinary citizen.

Competent - Don't know, they are unproven.

Constructive - I would have to say no. Most ordinary singaporeans don't know what they are about.

Compassionate - Perhaps.

I would have gone for something different.

Competent - Competent in getting sued very regularly and not getting support above 30%

Constructive - Been constructive in making suggestions that no one seems to be listening. or constructive in making up stories and getting sued.

Compassionate - Been asking for public compassion and so far not getting much. I wont say none, just not getting enough.

I would have gone for something different.

Competent - Competent in getting sued very regularly and not getting support above 30%

Constructive - Been constructive in making suggestions that no one seems to be listening. or constructive in making up stories and getting sued.

Compassionate - Been asking for public compassion and so far not getting much. I wont say none, just not getting enough.

In terms of "Return on Investment", I think the SDP did better than the PAP.

GRCs, re-drawing of electoral boundaries, high deposits for candidates, offers of lift upgradings, threats of turning constituenties into slums, extensive and favourable mass media exposure, huge manpower and money at its disposal, free money to Sinkees etc. With all these, the PAP should score 90+ % at the polls.

Is the PAP that constructive? Billions lost in record time, YOG cost overrun, flood problems, ever increasing cost of living, under-employment, age discrimination at the work-place etc. PAP does not seem to have any solution to all these.

Finally, is the PAP well loved or well feared?

The ability of the SDP to attract young Singaporeans to join their youth wing is admirable

In terms of "Return on Investment", I think the SDP did better than the PAP.

GRCs, re-drawing of electoral boundaries, high deposits for candidates, offers of lift upgradings, threats of turning constituenties into slums, extensive media exposure, huge manpower and money at its disposal, free money to Sinkees etc. With all these, the PAP should score 90+ % at the polls.

Is the PAP that constructive? Billions lost in record time, YOG cost overrun, unable to solve flood problem, high cost of living, under-employment, age discrimination at the work-place. PAP has no solution to all these.

Finally, is the PAP well loved or well feared?

Is PAP well loved? NO

Can any of the opposition parties put PAP off? NO

Can any of the oppositions undo what PAP had done? I dun think so.

Is PAP well loved? NO

Can any of the opposition parties put PAP off? NO

This is because the chinese are not known to work together, if they do, the opposition would have teamed up and kick the PAP out of parliament.

Look at China, same thing, they fight among each others, KMT and the warlords etc until the the commie sneaked in from behind and took the country.

Now, the chinese in Sinkapore fight among each other and neglected that there is a sizable FT citizens, one day the neh neh or pinoy sneaked in and take over the country!

I know, talk only, chinks still majority, not going to happen :p

Me thinks the SDP has been singled out for ridicule and demonised and persecuted to near extinction . Yet they refused to die. That alone speaks volumes of their resilience and unity. The Chees in particular and SDP members in general have made huge personal sacrifices and had been jailed so many times (I've lost count!) and they are no fools. They are intellectual, thinking and compassionate. They deserve better!:)

Agreed.

Other than freedom of speech and human rights issues, they also speak up for the common man on bus fares increases, high cost of living, obscene ministers' salary, etc

There's much sympathy for them. Sinkies are starting to know them better.

Agree that they are intellectual, thinking and compassionate.
But it was not very clever to go the route they did.
If CSJ had gritted his teeth and put on a fake smile, he might be in parliament today, being able to do much more and speak up for the ordinary singaporean than he and his party are now.

I admire them for their guts, committment and sacrifices. They give so much of themselves and get practically nothing in return. Yet they persevere. Detractors treat them as clowns but I say again these people are not the impulsive fools that they have been made out to be. They have great self-belief!

I agree with jw5 that CSJ could indeed have achieved much more for the average Singaporean inside Parliament rather than outside but then the PAP did go to extraordinary lengths and pulled out all the stops to "fix" him and finished him off politically by bankrupting him. He was supposed to be a congenital liar and a cheat. He was also branded a traitor; a shouting madman etc.

The best I can say of him is that he soldiers on despite all the odds. He is no quitter. He is smart, humble and patient. Many wanted him dead and buried. He just refused to give up. He is no fake opposition! Above all, he is true to his ideals and principles! PAP kept studiously quiet when many of Chee's ideas were ridiculed at first but "adopted" later as PAP's own; suitably disguised and modified of course. Madman? Certainly not! Traitor? Far from it! American puppet? Fools may believe! As far as I'm concerned, he is a very brave man.

politics are all about winning elections.
SDP look the least likely among all opposition parties to win any seats and the most likely to have fewest votes among all parties next GE.

but you never know
选票还没开え前 谁赢谁输 都不知道 :D