Scold vulgar words also can kenna fined?

dredd

Singapore – A man was fined for swearing at a National Environment Agency (NEA) officer after getting caught smoking in a no-smoking zone in Orchard Road.

a close up of a sign
© The Independent Singapore
On Monday (Jan 18), 31-year-old Kenneth Tan Wei Liang was fined S$1,500 in court for using abusive words on an officer while in an open-air car park near 313 Somerset in Apr 2020, reported channelnewsasia.com.

Mr Tan was smoking in a no-smoking zone near a lamp post in Orchard Road on Apr 28, 2020, when two NEA enforcement officers spotted the violation.

The officers approached Mr Tan and asked for his identification details for issuance of a summons.

The report noted that Mr Tan retrieved his identification card from his car and threw it on top of his bonnet before hurling vulgarities at one of the officers.

“F*** your whole family man,” on top of “c***b** if I zao (run) how are you all going to chase me man” were some of the offensive statements used by Mr Tan.

The officer lodged a police report at Orchard Neighbourhood Police Centre, noting Mr Tan had cursed at him while he was on duty.

Using abusive words on a public servant could yield up to one-year imprisonment, a fine of up to S$5,000, or both.

The court also considered a second charge of smoking in a no-smoking zone near a lamp post.

According to gov.sg, smoking is not allowed in most indoor locations in Singapore. However, there are certain premises or designated areas which permit smoking. Smokers are liable to a composition sum of S$200 if caught smoking in prohibited places, or up to S$1,000 if convicted in court.

“c***b** if I zao (run) how are you all going to chase me man” were some of the offensive statements used by Mr Tan.

I agree with him. All the NEA officers pui pui and out of shape.

Smokers are liable to a composition sum of S$200 if caught smoking in prohibited places, or up to S$1,000 if convicted in court.
The court also considered a second charge of smoking in a no-smoking zone near a lamp post.
KNN that means he was charged extra $500 for the vulgarity KNN $1500 - orleeginal $1k as he was convicted in court instead of the $200 composition fine for smoking in non designated area KNN my uncle think still acceptable if after scolding he felt song KNN

They should create a cigarette does not smoke. Whatever is inhaled, remains in the lungs.

I am proven right again. Empty govt coffers = escalation of frivolous fines. Smokers, drivers etc please beware.

I'm sure those goons have their own quotas too, and they want their CNY ang pow money. :wink:

I am proven right again. Empty govt coffers = escalation of frivolous fines. Smokers, drivers etc please beware.

I'm sure those goons have their own quotas too, and they want their CNY ang pow money. :wink:
Glockman, take note about smoking in public places:biggrin:

Orchard road has designated smoking areas. Need to follow law, no two ways about it. No smoking at void decks, covered walkways and near entrances of buildings. Lucky I know the law :biggrin:

Singapore – A man was fined for swearing at a National Environment Agency (NEA) officer after getting caught smoking in a no-smoking zone in Orchard Road.

a close up of a sign
© The Independent Singapore
On Monday (Jan 18), 31-year-old Kenneth Tan Wei Liang was fined S$1,500 in court for using abusive words on an officer while in an open-air car park near 313 Somerset in Apr 2020, reported channelnewsasia.com.

Mr Tan was smoking in a no-smoking zone near a lamp post in Orchard Road on Apr 28, 2020, when two NEA enforcement officers spotted the violation.

The officers approached Mr Tan and asked for his identification details for issuance of a summons.

The report noted that Mr Tan retrieved his identification card from his car and threw it on top of his bonnet before hurling vulgarities at one of the officers.

“F*** your whole family man,” on top of “c***b** if I zao (run) how are you all going to chase me man” were some of the offensive statements used by Mr Tan.

The officer lodged a police report at Orchard Neighbourhood Police Centre, noting Mr Tan had cursed at him while he was on duty.

Using abusive words on a public servant could yield up to one-year imprisonment, a fine of up to S$5,000, or both.

According to gov.sg, smoking is not allowed in most indoor locations in Singapore. However, there are certain premises or designated areas which permit smoking. Smokers are liable to a composition sum of S$200 if caught smoking in prohibited places, or up to S$1,000 if convicted in court.

Curse at your doctor. See if you get fined or not. Probably not.

Orchard road has designated smoking areas. Need to follow law, no two ways about it. No smoking at void decks, covered walkways and near entrances of buildings. Lucky I know the law :biggrin:

this one just one foot away also kena.
very generous donation

SINGAPORE - A man has claimed that he was fined $200 on Sunday (April 7) by the National Environment Agency (NEA) for smoking along Orchard Road, despite having only one foot outside a designated smoking area.
But NEA clarified on Wednesday that he was outside the smoking area, going by its investigations and video footage.
The man, who goes by the name Apiz Mikaelson online, posted on Facebook that he did not know that he would be fined as he claimed he still had one foot within the delineated yellow box for smoking.
When an NEA officer approached him about the matter, the man said he told the officer he would move inside. But he was still fined $200 nonetheless, he said.
As of Wednesday afternoon, the man's Facebook account cannot be viewed publicly, but the contents of his post, including photos of his fine notice, were put up by online sharing platform Lion City Feed.
When contacted, NEA said that it has investigated the incident, reviewed the case and was satisfied that the actions taken by its enforcement officers were appropriate and in line with its standard operating procedures.

"Our officers had observed the male subject smoking outside of the designated smoking area and approached him, and he was cooperative throughout the engagement," said NEA's spokesman.
The agency added video footage showed that the man was smoking and standing outside the designated smoking area.
The man's account has raised some concerns among some netizens earlier. Facebook user Alex Chee said the incident was "absurd" and "totally atrocious", as he believed the man was not completely outside the smoking area. He said that the NEA enforcement officer should have advised the man first and only take action if he refused to move into the yellow box.
Some netizens thought the man was not in the clear. Facebook user Adrian Ng said: "...Don't give people a reason to fine you. You make it so easy. Be more observant (of) your surroundings. Why waste $200?"
NEA began taking enforcement action in the Orchard Road no-smoking zone from April 1.
Action will be taken against smokers seen holding a lit cigarette or smoking outside a designated smoking area, the agency said.
It added that in situations where there is not enough space in the designated areas, smokers are advised to wait until there is sufficient space to move in, or head to the next nearest designated smoking area.
"These are efforts that can be taken to reduce the exposure of second-hand smoke, and everyone can play a part by reminding smokers not to light up in places where smoking is prohibited, and to be socially responsible and considerate when smoking in public places," said NEA's spokesman.

this one just one foot away also kena.
very generous donation

SINGAPORE - A man has claimed that he was fined $200 on Sunday (April 7) by the National Environment Agency (NEA) for smoking along Orchard Road, despite having only one foot outside a designated smoking area.
But NEA clarified on Wednesday that he was outside the smoking area, going by its investigations and video footage.
The man, who goes by the name Apiz Mikaelson online, posted on Facebook that he did not know that he would be fined as he claimed he still had one foot within the delineated yellow box for smoking.
When an NEA officer approached him about the matter, the man said he told the officer he would move inside. But he was still fined $200 nonetheless, he said.
As of Wednesday afternoon, the man's Facebook account cannot be viewed publicly, but the contents of his post, including photos of his fine notice, were put up by online sharing platform Lion City Feed.
When contacted, NEA said that it has investigated the incident, reviewed the case and was satisfied that the actions taken by its enforcement officers were appropriate and in line with its standard operating procedures.

"Our officers had observed the male subject smoking outside of the designated smoking area and approached him, and he was cooperative throughout the engagement," said NEA's spokesman.
The agency added video footage showed that the man was smoking and standing outside the designated smoking area.
The man's account has raised some concerns among some netizens earlier. Facebook user Alex Chee said the incident was "absurd" and "totally atrocious", as he believed the man was not completely outside the smoking area. He said that the NEA enforcement officer should have advised the man first and only take action if he refused to move into the yellow box.
Some netizens thought the man was not in the clear. Facebook user Adrian Ng said: "...Don't give people a reason to fine you. You make it so easy. Be more observant (of) your surroundings. Why waste $200?"
NEA began taking enforcement action in the Orchard Road no-smoking zone from April 1.
Action will be taken against smokers seen holding a lit cigarette or smoking outside a designated smoking area, the agency said.
It added that in situations where there is not enough space in the designated areas, smokers are advised to wait until there is sufficient space to move in, or head to the next nearest designated smoking area.
"These are efforts that can be taken to reduce the exposure of second-hand smoke, and everyone can play a part by reminding smokers not to light up in places where smoking is prohibited, and to be socially responsible and considerate when smoking in public places," said NEA's spokesman.
NEA rodents are everywhere, do not underestimate their infestation. And how hard-up they are to meet their daily quota. Like what Adrian Ng said, don't give them a reason to fine you. So no choice, just follow law lor.

If you are around Lucky Plaza and dying for a smoke, you must queue...

1611097204992.png

If you are around Lucky Plaza and dying for a smoke, you must queue...

View attachment 101746
Queue? Looks like they all in the yellow box that allow smoking.

Where is the queue?

They should draw the box bigger lah.

Maybe now with TT can make it into ESP (Electronic smoke pricing) go into the box to smoke got to pay also.

NEA rodents are everywhere, do not underestimate their infestation. And how hard-up they are to meet their daily quota. Like what Adrian Ng said, don't give them a reason to fine you. So no choice, just follow law lor.
The problem is that he is a smoker. If he didn't smoke, he will not have such issue in his life. or he is a smoker will will not abide by ever-restricting smoking rules.