Serious SCMP supports Roy Ngerg: Sinkies' beloved CPF is Auntie Ho's Big Fat SCAM

Asterix

Singapore’s pension fund is not a model for Hong Kong to follow
When the boss takes investment decisions out of the hands of the citizens, you just get poorer citizens

Hong Kong should follow Singapore’s model in allowing employees to use part of their provident fund savings to buy their first property, according to the regulator of the city’s pension fund.

SCMP, June 10

Here we go again. We have to do it because Singapore does it. Let me offer a contrary thought to this seemingly irrefutable reasoning. Singapore does a lot of fool things. Let’s be glad we’re not Singapore.

The two charts below make one essential difference clear. The first shows you gross domestic product per capita in US dollar terms. Singapore’s is clearly the greater, arguably because of a strong currency throughout most of the period, but greater nonetheless.

The second chart shows you the difference in personal consumption expenditure per capita, which is you and your disposable income, and here Hong Kong comes up as almost 50 per cent greater than Singapore. We have 66 per cent of our GDP available for personal consumption. The equivalent figure in Singapore is only 36 per cent.

Charts can be viewed here:

http://www.scmp.com/business/global...pores-pension-fund-not-model-hong-kong-follow

One obvious reason for it is that we put only 10 per cent of anyone’s wage into the Mandatory Provident Fund. The equivalent figure for Singapore’s Central Provident Fund is 37 per cent. Your average Singaporean does not have much money in his pocket. His government has taken it all out of that pocket.

But, yes, it’s true that he does not have to wait until retirement to get it all back again. He is allowed to put some of that CPF money into buying a home, or even medical costs. This is now the idea that our own bureaucrats are talking of emulating for our MPF.

What makes it immediately a silly idea is that our property prices are so high and our MPF contributions so low that dipping into the MPF pot would barely pay off the cost of the stamp duty for the purchase of a home. It’s a non-starter unless our MPF contribution rates are jacked up to Singapore levels.

And the reason this would be a bad idea is that Hong Kong’s economy is still based on an entrepreneurial culture. The personal disposable income that would vanish with Singapore level contributions now provides the essential equity capital for the small businesses that make this place the success it is.

Things aren’t quite that way in the Lee Kingdom. Singapore has a boss culture. You do what the boss tells you. This makes for a clean shiny city with an administrative rather than entrepreneurial culture, which lives mostly by feeding, parasite fashion, on neighbouring economies.

Hong Kong does it, too, although not to the same extent, but Singapore’s real problem is doing it badly. The boss has a woeful investment record. Where Singapore with its longstanding, vast current account surplus should be living off foreign investment earnings, it is still paying them out heavily.

And there you have a lesson of the CPF. When the boss takes investment decisions out of the hands of the citizens this way and puts them in his own, you just get poorer citizens. Let’s not do what Singapore does.

Singapore does a lot of fool things. Let’s be glad we’re not Singapore.

LMAO!!!!!!!!!!Perfect discription of Singapore.

The second chart shows you the difference in personal consumption expenditure per capita, which is you and your disposable income, and here Hong Kong comes up as almost 50 per cent greater than Singapore. We have 66 per cent of our GDP available for personal consumption. The equivalent figure in Singapore is only 36 per cent.

wundarbar!!!!amazing!!!!highest gdp per cap in the world and our take home pay is 1/3rd of it.might as well be a 2nd world country.

if u look at the two graphs between the two countries,one shows normal gdp growth by a organic free range farm chicken economy,the gdp is growing and the disposable household income is growing steadily along with it,this means most of the economic growth is generated by the local population,the country is getting richer as the citizens are getting richer.

the other chart shows a obese engorged bovine growth hormone bloated steriod engorged economy,the gdp is skyrocketing,but the disposable household income is stagnant and even declining at barely 20 percent.this shows a diseased pig cheaper better faster economy where majority of the workforce are poor while the country is generating huge economic output and profits are being siphoned off by companies and the government.

excuse me while i go rub these fifty dollar bills on my titties and caress my money.

the HK version of Zorro will say that every nite he count from both pocket and is glad his real pocket holds more cash than the fake one.

then he shouted, heng arh, lucky i not in singapore.

SCMP speaks the truth.

Just look at a Sinkie's face, you can tell its written with worries and uncertainties in life compared with other Country citizens. So wat having a over priced pigeon hole which u pay through ur arse, the high medical cost and the high daily cost of living. Tis is the only place on earth that the fucking Gahman screw its own citizens and will put all sort of obstacles to make ur life miserable rather than a happy one.

It all makes sense when you accept we are a utopian dystopia. Or dystopian utopia.

Here, we are happily miserable. Or miserably happy however you want to look at it.

Your average Singaporean does not have much money in his pocket. His government has taken it all out of that pocket.

Watch above statement and re-read it carefully.....

1. An ordinary saloon car cost $100,000...Who takes the money.?

2. A beer cost $6.50 ..it only cost $3 in China cities or HK...Who takes the money.?

3. Foreign workers levy...add to our cost....Who takes the money.?

4. When oil prices crashes more than 70% to under Usd $30. our bus and mrt fares increased by 3.2%...Who takes the money.?

5. Barack Obama earns Usd $400,000..our PM earns the highest salary in the world ( $$4 million)
He and his highly paid ministers take our money.

When the world tell him we are the most expensive country in the world,

HE TURNS HIS HEAD THE OTHER WAY.

So , if you call them SCUMS, you are not wrong.
(common definition of scums... A person high on income, low on morals.)

Your average Singaporean does not have much money in his pocket. His government has taken it all out of that pocket.

Watch above statement and re-read it carefully.....

1. An ordinary saloon car cost $100,000...Who takes the money.?

2. A beer cost $6.50 ..it only cost $3 in China cities or HK...Who takes the money.?

3. Foreign workers levy...add to our cost....Who takes the money.?

4. When oil prices crashes more than 70% to under Usd $30. our bus and mrt fares increased by 3.2%...Who takes the money.?

5. Barack Obama earns Usd $400,000..our PM earns the highest salary in the world ( $$4 million)
He and his highly paid ministers take our money.

When the world tell him we are the most expensive country in the world,

HE TURNS HIS HEAD THE OTHER WAY.

So , if you call them SCUMS, you are not wrong.

all that money is necessary to fund and maintain an excellent infrastructure, including but not limited to a great park connector network to allow tour de france wannabe sinkie cyclists and their expensive bikes and attas attires to show off their lifestyle and chat about it on sbf. ironically, parts of the pcn are not friendly to sizable fast pelotons. will have to ride mostly leisurely. these wannabes will tell forumers here to spend on expensive bikes, upgrade to their lifestyle, and feel the difference with an air of snobbery.

Wrong! Daft & humji sinkies' lives are miserable all because of the nuisance opposition. They are constantly worried that Pinky will get another relapse due to the stress and heckling by the opposition. That's why these 70% voted for the men in white so that Pinky can have some breathing space. These sinkies are happily paying for their world class HDB assets and gorging themselves with good food in prime neighborhood malls. Medical costs are highly affordable for these sinkies as the generous government heavily subsidizes their bills.

Reality will eventually emerge.

first and foremost, cpf is not a pension fund. the author is wrong. nuff said.

It all makes sense when you accept we are a utopian dystopia. Or dystopian utopia.

Here, we are happily miserable. Or miserably happy however you want to look at it.

Its not utopian dystopia. For PAP MIWs, only the utopia part need apply. For peasants, only the dystopia part applies.

It is a very limited pension fund. The govt. gives a higher then market interest rate for special accounts. That means they are kicking in something to your CPF but only for your Special accounts. Also they occasionally bribe you by topping up your account. Again, this is done voluntarily by the govt. This means they are contributing in a very limited way to your CPF account. The bulk of the contribution is still through you and your employer. By this very small element of contribution, the CPF has to be defined as a pension fund. Got it?

agreed,its not even a pension fund,its a self styled glorified savings account that cannot even provide for ur old age even with ridiculous savings rates of nearly 36%.

at least most government pensions provide a guaranteed payout until u die,a sum that is continually adjusted for inflation and only requires a minimum contribution,for example social security requires only 8 percent employee contribution plus another 7 percent employer,for a total contribution rate of 15 percent.u get a social security payout guaranteed of $700 to over $1000 depending on ur income.i rather take social security over CPF.nothing is guaranteed with CPF.

remember every percent of ur income u contribute to ur social security or cpf is income that ur employer couldnt pay u.sinkies are saving at a rate of nearly 36% of their income into a forced savings and they still cannot afford to retire.thats nearly 1/3rd of their salary,sinkies take home income could be 1/3rd higher if it wasnt for CPF.

assuming i make a marginal salary of $24,000 a year,i can easy save and invest 15 percent of my income for 25 years and retire with a lump sum of $353,000 without the help of CPF.if i increase my savings rate to 36 percent,the final sum increases to $847,000.i might even be able to afford to retire a few years earlier in my forties.u can never achieve these results with CPF's extremely low rates of return and below inflation rates.CPF is the most inefficient savings and investment retirement vehicle ever,and a waste of human wealth and capital.

It is a very limited pension fund. The govt. gives a higher then market interest rate for special accounts. That means they are kicking in something to your CPF but only for your Special accounts. Also they occasionally bribe you by topping up your account. Again, this is done voluntarily by the govt. This means they are contributing in a very limited way to your CPF account. The bulk of the contribution is still through you and your employer. By this very small element of contribution, the CPF has to be defined as a pension fund. Got it?

for those tiny gov "contributions" or impregnation akin to small spurts of sperm insemination as i would refer to them, it makes cpf a cum play fuck with big brother kind of savings deposit with withdrawal restrictions to retain and maintain liquidity of minimum sperm count in the sperm bank so to speak. it's all based on soixante-neuf principles of thrift for the minions and billions for the dominion.

all that money is necessary to fund and maintain an excellent infrastructure, including but not limited to a great park connector network to allow tour de france wannabe sinkie cyclists and their expensive bikes and attas attires to show off their lifestyle and chat about it on sbf. ironically, parts of the pcn are not friendly to sizable fast pelotons. will have to ride mostly leisurely. these wannabes will tell forumers here to spend on expensive bikes, upgrade to their lifestyle, and feel the difference with an air of snobbery.

WOW, didn't go HK for a few years, it is now a slum, terrible!!!!!!Must go visit slum HK, hahahaha, good for them!

at least most government pensions provide a guaranteed payout until u die,a sum that is continually adjusted for inflation and only requires a minimum contribution,for example social security requires only 8 percent employee contribution plus another 7 percent employer,for a total contribution rate of 15 percent.u get a social security payout guaranteed of $700 to over $1000 depending on ur income.i rather take social security over CPF.nothing is guaranteed with CPF.

currently, 12.4% goes to oasdi portion of social security while 2.9% goes to medicare. of the 12.4%, employer contributes roughly 3/5 while employee contributes 2/5. the cap per year is only $18k. the maximum payout for a person after 65 is limited to $2345 per month no matter how much goes into social security over the entire course of the person's employment history. most hce's will get around $1500 per month, and it's subjected to income tax.

WOW, didn't go HK for a few years, it is now a slum, terrible!!!!!!Must go visit slum HK, hahahaha, good for them!

hk is not bike-friendly unlike sg which offers all forms of amenities and state infrastructure for housing and moving peeps from point a to point b either for work or for leisure. sg even makes it easy for cardboard collectors to do their daily exercise. those who were run over by buses or trucks were at the wrong place at the wrong time.