• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Scholar BG Cannot Take the Heat in Pattaya. Sg Defence Worrying...

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=452 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Published April 14, 2009
c.gif

</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Pattaya was like a bad dream: George Yeo

By LEE U-WEN
<TABLE class=storyLinks cellSpacing=4 cellPadding=1 width=136 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Email this article</TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Print article </TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Feedback</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
(SINGAPORE) Thailand and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Asean) have suffered 'huge damage' after a major summit involving 16 regional leaders was scrapped on Saturday because of protests against the Thai government.

<TABLE class=picBoxL cellSpacing=2 width=100 align=left><TBODY><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR class=caption><TD>Nothing left to do: The Singapore delegation preparing to board the SAF Fokker plane for the trip back home after the Asean summit was scrapped on Saturday because of protests against the Thai government. In a blog, Mr Yeo recounts events following the summit's cancellation </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>The events that unfolded in the coastal town of Pattaya, where the Asean Summit was set to take place, were like 'a bad dream', said Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo in his first comments since returning home on Saturday night.
The Singapore delegation that travelled to Thailand, led by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, departed Pattaya from the U-Tapao airport on board a Singapore Armed Forces Fokker plane.
Writing an entry in his blog posted on Sunday, Mr Yeo said Singapore 'sympathised with Thai Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva and knew that he had no choice but to cancel the Summit meetings'.
'The alternative was violence which he was determined to avoid, especially so when so many leaders were in Thailand as guests of the government,' Mr Yeo said.
About noon on Saturday, thousands of red-shirted protesters stormed the Royal Cliff Beach Resort hotel where the summit was to be held and forced its cancellation. As a result of the chaos, Mr Abhisit declared a state of emergency in Pattaya.
Mr Yeo was midway through lunch with ministers from the other countries at the hotel when they heard that the summit had been cancelled.
'Within a few minutes, our security officers instructed us to leave the table immediately and go back to our hotel rooms. We could hear a commotion,' he wrote. 'Along the way, India's Commerce Minister Kamal Nath, an old friend, called me. We greeted each other but delayed no further because the security people were getting anxious. We hurried to the next building and were bundled off into the hotel lifts as the shouts got nearer.'
On the hotel's 12th floor, Mr Yeo recalled how he saw people in red shirts milling around the conference centre. 'Soldiers and policemen stood in groups not really engaging them. Not long after, I could hear helicopters whirring overhead picking up people from the roof-top. Out at sea, naval ships on patrol moved closer to shore and small boats picked up passengers.'
Mr Yeo said PM Lee was originally told by the Thai government that he and his delegation would be taken to safety by sea. They were to be ferried by small boats to a nearby naval vessel that would take them to Sattahip naval base. From there, they were to be driven to U-Tapao airport for their flight home.
'It all seemed quite unseemly to me that leaders and ministers had to leave this way,' wrote Mr Yeo. 'But anyway, we packed our belongings and waited for instructions, since the Thais were responsible for our security.'

=> Forgot to mention that Ass Loon and he wetted their pants?

But the boat plan was scrapped, he continued. 'Happily, we were informed around 3.30pm that the demonstrators had dispersed and we could travel by road to U-Tapao with full dignity.'

=> #1 ego salvaged?

As the Singapore convoy made its way to the airport, 'it was as if nothing had happened,' wrote Mr Yeo. 'Apart from litter outside the hotel, there was not a red shirt in sight. Everywhere there were signboards welcoming leaders from Asean and the wider region, with their national flags fluttering in the wind.'
Although demonstrators overtook the conference venue by their sheer numbers, Mr Yeo said that he never felt any 'imminent danger' as the protesters were focused on disrupting the summit.

=> But CSJ and co. standing outside CPF Bldg requires a poodle battalion to contain?

'I didn't think they would have turned on us in an indiscriminate way, as foreign leaders and ministers were not their targets,' he said. 'In any case, every delegation had armed protection. But one could never be sure.
'Incidents could always happen and agents provocateur might be working to foment violence. The last thing we wanted was to be caught in a crossfire ... it all seemed like a bad dream. But for the Thais, the nightmare continues.'

=> 1 Familee has been raping Sporns in their sleep for 50 years! Which is worse?

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

travelbug

Thai PM escaped by helicopter first followed by Philippines Arroyo then by all the Indochina countries: Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar & Cambodia. ALL of them got first priority by helicopter.

Only asshole Ah Loong kena the bathtub boat to take them to a leaky ship presumably. Oh so hilarious & the Spore PM & delegation thot hor they were the darlings of the Asean Summit.

Its so glaring who the Thai govt favors lah. Themselves & their IndoChinese neighbours up north. Even Philippines got the helicopter.

Serves AssLoong right for messing up Thai politics as he was the catalyst for Thaksin's downfall & the mess created now! Spore boleh lah!

both boy george n ass loong are scholars cum BGs..

both scram from pattaya in double quick time..:biggrin:

kylie72

Although demonstrators overtook the conference venue by their sheer numbers, Mr Yeo said that he never felt any 'imminent danger' as the protesters were focused on disrupting the summit.

.....The last thing we wanted was to be caught in a crossfire ... it all seemed like a bad dream. But for the Thais, the nightmare continues.'

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Dear George,

since you never felt any imminent danger, what fucking bad dream/nighmare are you talking about? That you had to pack your belongings quickly? That you had to walk fast? WTF!!

Its so glaring who the Thai govt favors lah. Themselves & their IndoChinese neighbours up north. Even Philippines got the helicopter.

Serves AssLoong right for messing up Thai politics as he was the catalyst for Thaksin's downfall & the mess created now! Spore boleh lah!

"abby shit' and his yellow-shirted people, were being kind; they have not forgotten the burning of Tham Ma Sek effigies of Ass Loong , 'hubby' , etc..., not so that long ago....they could have just left the two BRIGADIER-GENERALS there...:p

A Brigadier-General scared....and these are just some violent Thai protestors..what if they were.. ALQ?...or any of those 'die-hard' terrorists?..or SOMALIANS?....shit in the pants..:o

This is very good practice for gay loong, and georgie. it will be their turn one day, so this is a good drill for them.

pia

This is very good practice for gay loong, and georgie. it will be their turn one day, so this is a good drill for them.

Must be the most exhilarating moment of their dastardly boring lives :biggrin:

Give them each a medal for bravery in the face of action!

miosux

'It all seemed quite unseemly to me that leaders and ministers had to leave this way,' wrote Mr Yeo. 'But anyway, we packed our belongings and waited for instructions, since the Thais were responsible for our security.'

But the boat plan was scrapped, he continued. 'Happily, we were informed around 3.30pm that the demonstrators had dispersed and we could travel by road to U-Tapao with full dignity .'

i never thought of BG Yeo this way. so his true colours are out, being a minister has gotten to his head, safety should have been his no.1 concern, or has he forgotten mumbai and ms loh already? he truly believes he and his kind are better than the lesser mortals. i suppose he'd rather perish with dignity at the hands of the protesters than to leave safely on a boat?? :oIo: yeo!

PAPsupporter

Our great PAP government has done a great proactive job by including the laws and regulations to prevent such social unrest from happening in Singapore in future. Look at how responsive and great our PAP government is. 3 cheers for PAP. :smile:

Don't worry, they will be giving each other a ribbon to add to their uniform for the "Thai Action" I wonder how bad was the shit that the RSAF got for sending an old prop driven Fokker to pick them up. No luxury business jet available, mah?

http://www.shanaberger.com/F-27_fokker.htm they are still flying this, by the SAF?...oooh! I foget lah!, da da using the business jet in Vietnam..hhmm! should have called da da..but how about georgie boy?..hmm.. nvm I take the FOKKER!!:biggrin: