• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Salary Cut - Real One or Bluff One?

In terms of reform, cutting Ministerial salaries is a “low lying“ fruit that is easy to implement. I therefore see this as a critical test of the intentions of the PAP.

If they seriously reduce the salaries so that it is in line with other world leaders, then there is hope that the PAP will make good on their promise to address the other problems which have been raised.

If however they put in a half hearted attempt which reduces salary by 20% to 30% but trumpet it as a “big change”, then I think we can prepare for another 5 years of tai-chi, propaganda and spin.

From his chart, it looks like even if LHL's pay is cut by half to US$1.4 million, he is still way ahead of the next best paid country head at US$400,000 only.

http://singstatistician.blogspot.com/

Now they can cock up and use it as an excuse for peasants to repent.

whatever happen to the claim that you cannot compare the declared salaries of US president and PM of Singapore, because former US's heads have all gone on world tour and publishing books for financial gains?

Cutting ministers' salaries is probably one of the last prioritity of Singaporean now - they should refocus on the social ills of FTs and curbing rising housing/living cost. I learnt of the new usage of a word "moderating", as in the living cost in Singapore is "moderating" in the local news.

What the hell. I wouldn't mind if they increase their salaries by two fold if it means a society with less migrants, more job opportunities for locals and reducing our living cost. A MRT that is built by public funds and given to SMRT FOC and then turn back to post profit year after year, while increasing fares at will and postponing the erection of safety barriers! God, these are the more seroius issues. Not their god-damn salary packages.

The public is unhappy about minster's pay as compared to what ministers of first world nations are making.

Why even concoct some nebulous pegging scheme to top 5 highest paid professionals, when they can just use salaries of ministers in other countries.

In terms of reform, cutting Ministerial salaries is a “low lying“ fruit that is easy to implement. I therefore see this as a critical test of the intentions of the PAP.

If they seriously reduce the salaries so that it is in line with other world leaders, then there is hope that the PAP will make good on their promise to address the other problems which have been raised.

If however they put in a half hearted attempt which reduces salary by 20% to 30% but trumpet it as a “big change”, then I think we can prepare for another 5 years of tai-chi, propaganda and spin.

From his chart, it looks like even if LHL's pay is cut by half to US$1.4 million, he is still way ahead of the next best paid country head at US$400,000 only.

http://singstatistician.blogspot.com/

Trash from Opposition Parties on this thread

Yucks

Chao local trashes

Cutting ministers' salaries is probably one of the last prioritity of Singaporean now - they should refocus on the social ills of FTs and curbing rising housing/living cost.

Disagree. Cutting their pay should be the first thing they should do as it is the easiest to achieve. The other problems cannot be solved easily even if you increase their pay by ten times.

The pap is a show master. They can perform the most convincing act in front of the sinkies and they will be fooled easily.
Cutting the salary by 25% is peanuts to them. Even after cutting, they are still the highest paid in the world! Take for example the PM and president salary.
And what happen when comes to the next round of salary review?
Increase their salary by 10%?
In this case, it is only delaying their salary hike.
It is like asking the stall sellers to delay price hike for 6 months.
After 6 months, the price will inevitably increase.
What we need is a complete revamp of the whole renumeration structure.
For this to work, the whole cabinet will have to be changed.
So I forsee this coming review to be another wayang show.

CCB they already got 8 CCB months bonus should work for free until next election.

One mother fucker so-called expert on our state newspapers argues that we should not compare our PM's salary to the one of US President. He cited that the ex-President of US Bill Clinton or ex-PM of British Tony Blair, after they retire, they can go round giving talk and make millions.

KNN..if LHL can do the same after he retires, I don't think any citizen will bother or try to stop him from doing so.

The problem is can he talk like Clinton or Blair? Does he have the talent or charisma like the duo?

If he doesn't, it's not our fault..why must he make all to pay him millions yearly just for his lack of talent?

This is the most lame arguement from the porlumpar that I ever come across so far..

One mother fucker so-called expert on our state newspapers argues that we should not compare our PM's salary to the one of US President. He cited that the ex-President of US Bill Clinton or ex-PM of British Tony Blair, after they retire, they can go round giving talk and make millions ...
datz total rubbish! ...

u pay a fella according 2 ze job he is doing ... not wat he may not get after leaving ze job whereas sum1 in another country may get ... u definitely dun compensate ze fella 4 dat! ... :mad: :oIo:

Real one. By and large 25% cut across the board ......

25% cut is reasonable. Anything less than that is unacceptable. Also, bonus should be capped at 4 months to 1 month from good times to bad times, no more such obscenity as 8 months.

One mother fucker so-called expert on our state newspapers argues that we should not compare our PM's salary to the one of US President. He cited that the ex-President of US Bill Clinton or ex-PM of British Tony Blair, after they retire, they can go round giving talk and make millions.

KNN..if LHL can do the same after he retires, I don't think any citizen will bother or try to stop him from doing so.

The problem is can he talk like Clinton or Blair? Does he have the talent or charisma like the duo?

If he doesn't, it's not our fault..why must he make all to pay him millions yearly just for his lack of talent?

This is the most lame arguement from the porlumpar that I ever come across so far..

once retired they can always 'invite' them to talk in NTU, NUS , SMU , SP , NTUC etc.. easily fill up 12 months . Not sure whether in demand outside of SG.

25% cut is reasonable. Anything less than that is unacceptable. Also, bonus should be capped at 4 months to 1 month from good times to bad times, no more such obscenity as 8 months.

Cap? Cap lu eh kelapa head ah !!

Why so lazy ? Never help out at meet the people session ??:mad::eek:

And to add, Presidential salary should be cut by at least 30%.