• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Salaries of new Indonesian maids to rise

MarrickG

SINGAPORE : The salaries of new Indonesian foreign domestic workers will soon rise.

17 major employment agencies in Singapore will increase the monthly salaries for the workers from S$380 to S$450. The increment will take effect by this week, they said.

Over the years, the supply of Indonesian maids in Singapore has been dwindling.

Employment agencies indicated that the shortage was due largely to demand from places such as Hong Kong and Taiwan.

The agencies recently met maid suppliers from Indonesia to try and resolve the issue. One solution is to provide better salaries.

Desmond Chin, group director, Nation Employment, said: "All the suppliers, they're facing difficult conditions to recruit. They are requesting us to match the maid's salary to HK$650, to match the salary to T$800, which is right now impossible.

"Maybe, we can do it step by step. So right now, we have agreed with the Indonesian supplier for the salary of S$450."

Many employment agencies in Singapore support the move.

The higher salary will not benefit the agencies or the suppliers, as there will be no change in the foreign placement fee.

Employment agencies said the change can help remove unhealthy practices among the agencies.

Tay Khoon Beng, director, Best Home Employment Agency, said: "If we don't have enough supply to applicants in the first place, eventually more and more agencies will poach one another's maids and offer 10 and 20 dollars increase in salary and transfer these helpers among Singaporean employers and this is even a worse scenario for us."

Employment agencies said it is up to employers to increase the salary of existing maids. They are also wary of the possibility of a small group of maids who may try to terminate their contracts so that they can be re-employed with the better salary.

Some employers feel any salary increase has to be gradual.

Samuel Teo, an employer of an Indonesian maid, said: "The other thing is that I also feel that, of course, when you pay more, you're expecting a very high quality from the maid. Will the maid be able to deliver?"

More than 70 per cent of maids working in Singapore are Indonesians and employment agencies said demand for these maids is still strong.

With the proposed salary increase for Indonesian maids, employment agencies also hope to increase the retention rate, giving them the incentive to work longer in Singapore.

- CNA/al

hoy say...Indon boleh...really noe how to fleece us.

first 1.6bn not enuff..now increase maid salary or no maids...

next to come..pinoy maids oso will also increase...

"Desmond Chin, group director, Nation Employment, said: "All the suppliers, they're facing difficult conditions to recruit. They are requesting us to match the maid's salary to HK$650, to match the salary to T$800, which is right now impossible."

==

fuck lah...who is the dick who wrote this for Channel News Asia....T800 (NTD800 is only SGD40). HKD650 is only less than SGD200.

What type of info? U call that accurate reporting?

Since when sinkiland got maids ???
There are NO maids in Sinkiland !

There are only Slaves !

1. aiyoh!
2. such domestic assistants are foreign talents hoh.
3. no play play man!
4. well, an equivalent to rp3,150,000.00 per mth in indon.
5. wow! million-dollar sheep maid!
6. well done, sheep

17 major employment agencies in Singapore will increase the monthly salaries for the workers from S$380 to S$450..

stupid sinkies, you call that an increase, that is no respect for maid. Indo maid pls dun work in sinkieland, you are totally shortchanged.

Toni, true... dont wk in Sinkieland.... Wk in BKK and can do part timing too:D

CB kia tonyhcta,

i know u r so bitter becos your thai ladyboy prostitute wife's fucking charges have not been increased for a very long time liao. who ask her/him to look so fat & hideous. :D

wanlan ooi, your prostitute ladyboy wife earning lesser than a maid. pathetic.

Domestic helpers pay should be peg at $600

Indonesia you should fight for maid's pay to be $600. Singaporeans will still pay .

The pinoy maids already implemented their min wage in July 2010, new legislation & enforcement started from that date.

Other country governments look after their people, what about ours? :mad:

The government is keeping very very quiet on the maid's levy employer still have to foot.

Any chance it will go down?

The pinoy maids already implemented their min wage in July 2010, new legislation & enforcement started from that date.

Other country governments look after their people, what about ours? :mad:

we are worse than maids!!

The government is keeping very very quiet on the maid's levy employer still have to foot.

Any chance it will go down?

Why sinkie depend on the govt keeping quiet. Will the sinkies make noise for all to know? Weird behavior.

CB kia tonychat,

stop advertisting your ladyboy prostitute wife as 'noisy' ok. we not interested.

ASK YOURSELF, whose the sinkie making noise in this forum? Slapping your own mouth........

Domestic helpers pay should be peg at $600

Indonesia you should fight for maid's pay to be $600. Singaporeans will still pay .

plus a room that can be rented at $600. plus 3 meals. therefore, minimun wage for an Indo maid is more than $1200.