"Safety nets being strengthened" PM Lee

ilovesingapore

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said the government is strengthening national safety nets and reviewing policies to help vulnerable groups more.

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said the government is strengthening national safety nets and reviewing policies to help vulnerable groups more.

He added that the community is also rallying together to address social needs and reaching out in ways that the government cannot do.

He said that working together is even more important in our new phase as Singaporeans are living in a time of rapid change and uncertainty.

While it is exciting for some people such as the young and highly-skilled, many will find it difficult to adjust on their own, especially the low-income and elderly.

They will need help to cope with challenges such as the cost of living, healthcare and the widening income distributions, said Mr Lee.

He was speaking on Sunday at the official opening of the Pek Kio Community Centre, the first community centre to be co-located with a school - Farrer Park Primary School.

PM Lee added that community centres act as a bridge to the community and to build community ties.

Community centres are also a bridge to the future with brand new facilities such as a performing theatre, dance studios and an indoor sports hall.

- CNA/ir

we have a very benevolent government who care for the poor, the sick and the disadvantaged

majulah singapura!!!

Safety nets are bad. It encourages people to be reckless because they know that there's someone there to catch them if they fall.

In order to a success in life, you have to take the risks.

dea8d66f2041a415350f6a706700a1e5.jpg

Safety nets are bad. It encourages people to be reckless because they know that there's someone there to catch them if they fall.

PAP's safety nets are full of holes. Fall down and be labelled a failure.

America would not have flourished but for the safety nets post WW2.

some form of a basic safety net is important.

From far; a broken glass look like safety net.

Hope his did not have short sighted eyes.

broken_glass.jpg

the best "safety net" is raise taxes for ALL basic necessasities(sp?), like GST/electricity/water/COE/road tax/fueltax/busfare, so gahmen can have more money to help less fortune right?

It would be good to have a breakdown of the races who are dependent on these safety nets and how much are they getting from the welfare groups.

From there we can understand the problem better and work on making them more responsible.

CPF was sold as a safety net when people got old. They are making it harder for "lesser mortals" to take $ out.

So the question who's safety net is being strengthened;)

We dun need safety nets. Just dun interfere with our affairs. In fact, no government is good government. FACT.

Pinky was talking about safety nets for vulnerable groups like the ministers and their cronies. Ever since pension scheme was removed for them, they are very vulnerable and thus require more safety nets like better perks, free medical for extended family, free education for their kids etc.

we have a very benevolent government who care for the poor, the sick and the disadvantaged

majulah singapura!!!

FUCK HIM...distorting the fact...it is the very ELITE, the top brass of the civil service that take the taxpayer monies and lay it on MBS table...

N he pays himself and his cronies top dollar... and says they are the best....

DISGUSTING>>>>

I FEAR !!!!! its a precursor to 10% GST !!!!!

BALLS!

More like 20% GST and a whole load of other billion dollars screwing and fucking of Singkies to add to smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY Stinkapore sovereign funds

GO GET YOUR AXLE GREASE
OR KICK OUT ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT OUT OUT IN 2016

This government is the best that you will ever have. Don't spoil it. You'll regret forever.

The safety nets are there. The foundations are all there. You wreck them at your own peril.

So think carefully before you spout nonsense and sprew vulgarities at our world class governance.

Majulah Singapura!!! One People One Country One Singapore!!!

Safety nets for his 'feeding stations' & those who feed on it, more like it...eating out prices around where I lived have shot up from 50cts to $1....even the cost of buying groceries & produce to cook at home had increased by at least 30-40%..sometimes, it is more expensive to cook that to eat out.The reason, we can not buy in small amount like before from the small time shop keepers & wet markets. We have to buy from those 'controlled mini-mart' & Farce price supermarkets.

The neighborhood, provision stalls, have all closed down, with two remaining, two converted to iCon You mini mart, all the mini kioks, that used to be run by the "mamak' & some Chinese have closed & converted to 7-11 & Cheers!

For example, you need only a few chillies, a few garlic, a few onion etc..you have to buy an entire clove of garlic that cost $1.50 from C.U.N.T. and so forth..and they are not fresh, you can not keep for long..they start to rot.

What safety net...safety net for themselves?? it is a vicious cycle of rises & more rises...caused by a multiplier effect by a government, that generates high indirect taxes, rents etc....:mad:

ymjpic2907e.jpg

The needy elderly in Singapore will now find it much easier to apply for wheelchairs and other assistive devices they require.

There are now 114 'access points', or places where seniors may apply for a subsidy under the Seniors' Mobility and Enabling Fund (SMF). These include dialysis centres, community hospitals and senior activity centres. There have been 702 beneficiaries since it was rolled out in July 1 this year.

This was revealed by the Agency for Integrated Care (AIC) during a home visit by Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong and Mayor for Southwest CDC Dr Amy Khor on Monday. AIC was the only approval point for all SMF applications before the current enhancements kicked in this month. Other aspects of the fund include subsidies for transport and consumables like catheters and wound dressings.

Dr Khor said: "I'm pleased that we are able to provide more assistance to the seniors... we want to continue to work to review our assistance schemes to make help more accessible and easily available to them."

ymjpic2907e.jpg

The needy elderly in Singapore will now find it much easier to apply for wheelchairs and other assistive devices they require.

There are now 114 'access points', or places where seniors may apply for a subsidy under the Seniors' Mobility and Enabling Fund (SMF). These include dialysis centres, community hospitals and senior activity centres. There have been 702 beneficiaries since it was rolled out in July 1 this year.

This was revealed by the Agency for Integrated Care (AIC) during a home visit by Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong and Mayor for Southwest CDC Dr Amy Khor on Monday. AIC was the only approval point for all SMF applications before the current enhancements kicked in this month. Other aspects of the fund include subsidies for transport and consumables like catheters and wound dressings.

Dr Khor said: "I'm pleased that we are able to provide more assistance to the seniors... we want to continue to work to review our assistance schemes to make help more accessible and easily available to them."

Lots of the government's assistance programmes look good on paper. Accessing them is worse than begging ...that's why people rather beg from the kinder public than to beg the government for some help.