SAF Scholar, Minister, Tan Chuan-jin beats Tin Pei Ling in immaturity. Part One

Seriously, I think most MPs and ministers of PAP are making a sacrilege of the word "sacrifice"! The latest came from a Brigadier-General. It's profane! It's sad to see the word "sacrifice" so badly hacked and desecrated.

When Minister of State Tan Chuan-Jin, choking over his words said: "I'm pained by the knowledge that I'll miss the many moments when my children are growing up and time with my family. My parents are not getting any younger. Those moments missed do not return. Ever... In time I will look back and there will be gaps. But that's life. I'm not sure how one considers it a privilege to miss these precious moments. It trivialises all of us who do cherish these." [Link].

So bloody sad! Blind me! For a moment, I thought he was describing the job of the Security Guard who works 12-hour shift followed by another 6 hours washing dirty dishes at the hawker centre just to make ends meet. Or was he talking about the sacrifices made by foreign domestic helpers who come to work in this 'red dot soon to be a black spot'? No, my dear readers. He was lamenting the job he's holding!

To be paid millions and have the privilege to serve and to come up with a rhetoric like, I repeat,
"I'm pained by the knowledge that I'll miss the many moments when my children are growing up and time with my family. My parents are not getting any younger. Those moments missed do not return. Ever... In time I will look back and there will be gaps. But that's life. I'm not sure how one considers it a privilege to miss these precious moments. It trivialises all of us who do cherish these." almost takes my breath away.

Such rhetoric does trivialise real work done by real people. Get real, man! Worse, it denigrates all hardworking men and women who work long hours, missing their children and neglecting their aged parents, just to put food on the table, pay the bills and put their kids in school. Do these poor souls consider it a "sacrifice"? I doubt so. They are merely doing what needs to be done to survive without an inkling of what high-falutin' sacrifice is about!

It is often said that PAP ministers sit in their ivory towers unacquainted with the harsh realities of commoners. It is sad to know that newly minted Minister of State is also ignorant of commoners' daily struggles. Or has this "callous sickness" affected top elites and honchos in the Armed Forces too?

I'm at a loss for words to describe the hubris and audacity of the Brigadier-General. Some English vulgarities come to mind but I shall desist using them. However, a Hokkien "KNNBCCB" and/or a Mandarin "Neow nee ma de chee pee" (I learned from a Nanyang graduate while serving NS in 1969) does help to lift the pain off my chest.

I just don't get it. Why the PAPies keep harping about their sacrifices is really beyond me. They are, even after the salary cut, still the highest paid in the world. Yet, they are still belly-aching that their sacrifices are not recognized. To bitch that he misses his mama, papa, wife and kids while he works to earn his millions is no better than Wee Shu Min, daughter of ex PAP parliament member Wee Siew Kim saying, 'Get off my elitist uncaring face"!

Denise Phua, one of the more decent PAP MPs whom I respect for her guts and candour, did a Drama Mama with a glass half filled with water. She was driving the point on "perception" and I caught her drift. I'm at a loss at just what Brigadier-General Drama was trying to prove with his Thank You Card. That we should appreciate his "SACRIFICE" by sending him more cards? Thanks but no thanks. Self praise leads to much disgrace. No?

Lee Hsien Loong and his team decided in 2007 to pay PAP ministers millions. In so doing, they made a mockery of National Service and Reservists' Training. They killed the sense of service and loyalty to one's country. It left a bitter taste in the mouths of millions of $ingaporeans. In trying to mitigate the "Mother Of All Excesses", he directed Gerard Ee (was it Gerrard's privilege or sacrifice & was he paid?) to do a review.

- http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/

Several corrections:

He's not a BG. Not in any sense of any army. Only in the PAP-talk is he still a BG.

He's not a minister. He's a Minister of State. Lost out to Chai Tow Kuay MG.

That's what you get for paying high salary.
The problem is that the high salary makes them feel like "High Falutine" when they are just study smart.
Cannot fault them totally as the 88 years old head falutine makes them feels this way.

A lot of people were impressed with BG Tan compared with MG Chan and wondered why Chan got a ministry and not Tan. I think it is beginning to dawn on people that we are dealing with a hypocrite where Tan is concerned. Tell him go back to his family. We don't need him.

Pardon my ignorance, but when was this "lovely" speech made? He almost sounded like Mother Theresa... :) **He should be made a living "saint"**

As one of friend said, Women matures over time. Man only get older.

When Minister of State Tan Chuan-Jin, choking over his words said: "I'm pained by the knowledge that I'll miss the many moments when my children are growing up and time with my family. My parents are not getting any younger. Those moments missed do not return. Ever... In time I will look back and there will be gaps. But that's life. I'm not sure how one considers it a privilege to miss these precious moments. It trivialises all of us who do cherish these." [Link].

errr.... tan cj, you mean you cannot go home like you kena SAF confinement or DB?

scroobal said:
A lot of people were impressed with BG Tan compared with MG Chan and wondered why Chan got a ministry and not Tan. I think it is beginning to dawn on people that we are dealing with a hypocrite where Tan is concerned. Tell him go back to his family. We don't need him.

The one who is quietly going about with his work is HSK. Less wayang there.

The mathematical equations for Ministers' salaries:

Talent = Reward = Fair (Perfect Market Scenario)

Talent > Reward = Sacrifice

Talent < Reward = Corruption

Yes, when you're paid more than what you're worth, it's moral corruption.

Maybe GG and the rest should ask why WKS despite all his "talents" could not find a job in the private sector that would pay as much as when he was Minister. And how much is Raymond Lim getting now in private sector ?

I hate to say this but i got to agree with you on this... Got to give credit where credit is due.. Heng Swee Keat is also doing a good job as MP in Tampines.. Even though I have moved out of Tampines last July, I still retain strong links there due to my parents still living in Tampines ... I got many friends living in the area that he's in charge and most of them are satisfied and happy with him so far.. .And these are people that voted for NSP last May..:eek: He's doing his job quietly and effectively.....

thats how it should be bro....then pple will like him, no matter his party affiliation.

Heng Swee Keat is also doing a good job as MP in Tampines.. Even though I have moved out of Tampines last July, I still retain strong links there due to my parents still living in Tampines ... I got many friends living in the area that he's in charge and most of them are satisfied and happy with him so far.. .And these are people that voted for NSP last May..:eek: He's doing his job quietly and effectively.....

Khong LANJIAO Wei!
Just ask they during parliament session if they will still take up the MP job with a pay that is only 50% of is being proposed now.

Yes - They are overpaid.:oIo:
No - They don't have the heart, $$$ more important to them.:oIo:
No answer - Chui Tart Lan!:D

Seriously, I think most MPs and ministers of PAP are making a sacrilege of the word "sacrifice"! The latest came from a Brigadier-General. It's profane! It's sad to see the word "sacrifice" so badly hacked and desecrated.

So bloody sad! Blind me! For a moment, I thought he was describing the job of the Security Guard who works 12-hour shift followed by another 6 hours washing dirty dishes at the hawker centre just to make ends meet. Or was he talking about the sacrifices made by foreign domestic helpers who come to work in this 'red dot soon to be a black spot'? No, my dear readers. He was lamenting the job he's holding!

- http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/

Or the now jobless 40+ "Derek dear"..... he brings a new light to the phrase "frog in a well"! well done!

From SPF days, as a rising star, HSK was very humble and low profile unlike people like Benedict Cheong, Lum Hon Fye and a few others. Imho, MIW made the right decision in getting him in. He rejected them earlier.

I hate to say this but i got to agree with you on this... Got to give credit where credit is due.. Heng Swee Keat is also doing a good job as MP in Tampines.. Even though I have moved out of Tampines last July, I still retain strong links there due to my parents still living in Tampines ... I got many friends living in the area that he's in charge and most of them are satisfied and happy with him so far.. .And these are people that voted for NSP last May..:eek: He's doing his job quietly and effectively.....

Not sure about the others but am pretty sure pay wasn't the main factor why HSK decided to step into the political arena. Even if ministers draw 30k a month, I doubt HSK will reject the post. More of a calling than pay enticing him. Quite certain he is able to command a minister's pay in the private sector.

From SPF days, as a rising star, HSK was very humble and low profile unlike people like Benedict Cheong, Lum Hon Fye and a few others. Imho, MIW made the right decision in getting him in. He rejected them earlier.

In my view he is PM material.. As much as I hate the PAP, but I would rather have him than the other PAP clowns to lead this country in the future..

Age not in his favour compared to others in the running. Also, I doubt he wants to be PM even if capable. Knowing this man, he shuns the spotlight. Just wants to get work done. He doesn't need to get praised to achieve shiok sendiri feeling. While I am no PAP supporter, would vote for HSK if GMS is the other option in a SMC.

Agree. Cannot find a more humble chap. In his first year of working, he got a sub-standard report. The first scholar in PSC history to get a bad report in their first year. MHA panicked and realised that his superior was an uneducated and anal idiot. They queried the clown and found out the reason for the bad report. He was penalised for going home at 5pm and for no other reason. The superior was asked to re-grade him. A few more years and he becomes PPS to PM. Now Minister.

BG Tan was my former CO of 3 Guards, a few good man in the SAF.