• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF legends and stories

Yeah, what wonderful Mexican soldiers they were.

please lah, what mexicans? They're indonesians, you never seen their ex-kopassus comrade abd.raman wahid who rose to become presiden? Moshe and dayan were just diy lawnmovers in the states :D

actually the SAF by itself is steeped in myths and legends and shows off it's military prowess once a year in a grand exercise known as the NDP....look out for it on 9th August..:D

Uh werent they Israelis? SAF was started up with the help of the Israelis,,,no wonder during that time..malays dont serve NS...talk about racism in singapore

Yeah, what wonderful Mexican soldiers they were.

Uh werent they Israelis? SAF was started up with the help of the Israelis,,,no wonder during that time..malays dont serve NS...talk about racism in singapore

Is that good or bad racism? Sure many people would love not to serve

Who the fark is this Tiger Hong cartoon? People tell me all the time of his loud voice and fearless attitude. Has he seen combat? Has he killed anyone in action? What legend? To me, the farker is just a loud-mouthed wannabe two-bit soldier barking orders from a parade square. Faced with someone carrying a rifle in a war zone, I bet the farker will pee in his pants.

How old are you sonny? Are you one of the lady-boys I see every weekend masqurading as soldiers at Pasir Ris, waiting for taxis or your mama's pick up and/or swamping the Subway outlet?

actually the SAF by itself is steeped in myths and legends and shows off it's military prowess once a year in a grand exercise known as the NDP....look out for it on 9th August..:D

2nd only to North Korea...

tiger04.jpg
display_image.php

SINGAPORE: The Singapore Armed Forces celebrates 40 years of National Service (NS) this year.

NS is a rite of passage for many young men in Singapore.

But one family's NS experience runs deeper than any other.

Retired Captain Hong Seng Mak and his grandson share a special bond.

Their family is one of the very few in Singapore with three generations of men who have served National Service in the SAF.

Captain Hong, his three sons and grandson Edgar have all completed their National Service.

And Captain Hong himself is a legend as he was a strict disciplinarian when he was a Company Sergeant Major and a Regimental Sergeant Major at the SAFTI training grounds.

Those stints earned him the nickname that has sent shivers down many spines.

The nickname given to him by the first batch of officer-cadets was "Tiger Hong".

The retired captain said: "I was very firm because as a RSM (Regimental Sergeant Major) I looked after discipline so things had to be carried out punctually and perfectly..."

"Tiger Hong" joined the military in 1957 as a company clerk and quickly moved up the ranks.

On 9 August, 1965, he was commissioned as a Warrant Officer by Singapore's first President, Yusof Ishak.

But his proudest moment in his 30-year career came when he presided as RSM during his brigade's trooping of colours at the Padang in the 1970s.

Trooping of colours is a military tradition where the unit colours or flags are shown in a parade to celebrate the unit's anniversary.

Since then, "Tiger Hong" said no other brigade or unit has done the same at the Padang.

A parade was even held to honour the man when he retired as captain.

"Tiger Hong" said NSmen these days are better educated than before, like his grandson Edgar who is a polytechnic graduate.

Edgar completed his NS about two years ago and he said it was a positive experience for him because of the friends he had made during his NS days.

But no one knew of his famous grandfather until "Tiger Hong" visited Edgar during his Basic Military Training.

"After the visit, my CSM (Company Sergeant Major) told me stories about how fierce my grandpa used to be, how respected he is and how well they needed to maintain and behave on the parade square," said Edgar.

Even today, stories about "Tiger Hong" circulate among NSmen and have become part of the NS experience.

To learn more about the man himself and about 40 years of National Service, members of public can attend an exhibition at Ngee Ann City on 12 April.

- CNA/so

There were Tiger NCOs during my NS time in the early 70s, the fierce corporals with tatoos on their arms rumoured to have run away from being arrested by CID to join SAF. All of us would try to avoid any encounter with them and we lived like criminal in the camp. Told my children and they simply laughed and thought that I was telling cock stories. Well, such experiences are no longer valuable and being treated as lies. Too bad!

They had the Lion and Tiger scheme then for the infantry....worked with them in hq 3 sib at ulu pandan. these guys were good snipers and whne the better ones got 3 stripes, they went to 2/5/7 sir etc as plt sgts. One of them was CSM and on brigade parade, you could hear him shouting at his peng kias, knnccb etc.

Shouting at recruits from a parade square makes someone a legendary soldier? Tiger Hong can compare to this kind of real legend or not...

Sgt. Thomas A. Baker

WWII

Thomas Baker personally shot 12 Japanese soldiers manning a machine gun behind his lines on Saipan. This was several days after he ran ahead of his men into the open fire of a pillbox, and fired a bazooka into it. Right after he killed those 12 men, he ran farther back to occupy a rearguard position for his men as they advanced across open terrain. He surprised a group of 6 enemy soldiers concealed and waiting to ambush the next group of Americans to pass. He shot all 6 dead.

Almost 3 weeks later, as the Battle of Saipan was drawing to an end, the Japanese staged a last-ditch banzai attack, the largest of the war, at night, and Baker’s perimeter was beset on 3 sides by at least 3,000 drunken, screaming soldiers. There may have been 5,000.

He dug into a foxhole and shot down scores of them until his ammunition was exhausted, by which time he had been shot in the abdomen. He then destroyed his rifle by using it as a baseball bat against a dozen more.

Another marine ran to rescue him and carry him back. He had gotten about 50 yards when a Japanese soldier shot the rescuer dead. Baker shot the Japanese dead with the rescuer’s rifle. A second marine arrived to help him, but Baker shoved him away, shouting, “Get away from me! I’ve caused enough problems! Gimme your .45!”

The marine handed it to him and propped him against a tree and fled. A third marine passed some time later and offered to help him, but Baker refused. When they found him the next morning, he lay dead against the tree in a pool of blood, his pistol empty, and 8 dead Japanese soldiers around him.

The second proudest moment in my entire saf life is when I got all my final ROD clearances. The most proudest moment is when I got the letter few years back from saf thanking me for my service and my service no longer required. KNN, only sinkees leave shitholes need to call this number and call that number.

FUCK SAF and those who think they sibeh proud of saf. It's just a fucking cheap or free labour for pap.

There was a Tiger Company at 3 SIB and a Lion Company at 2 SIB, where men signed on for 6 years, and are trained to be Section Leaders, and move up the ranks.

contrary to popular belief, many did serve their NS and some were selected for OCS training and even signed on..however, due to fact that an Old Fart was so obsessed with the mythical boogieman from the North and South, many retired as captains, I know of one who made it to major...nevertheless a good majority of malays served their NS in SPF or SCDF (or Construction Brigade as it was known back then)...
Malaya were exempted from NS....only in the late 70s then they started to do NS....only in the police force and fire brigade (back then no scdf).....later then SAF opened up to enlist Malays but only in the army and mostly only in infantry.

If my memory serves me well, I believe that since 1 SMC (Dec 1974), the SAF had several commissioned Malay infantry NSF officers, and the SAF experimented with "Malay platoons." The continued to have Malay platoons in the infantry battalions till the early 1980's, because at SATO, the troops they sent to me, for a company exercise, were from a Malay platoon from 3SIR or 4SIR.

One of my schoolmates was commissioned from 3SMC, and he was the platoon commander / leader for a Malay platoon at 2SIR.

If my memory serves me well, I believe that since 1 SMC (Dec 1974), the SAF had several commissioned Malay infantry NSF officers, and the SAF experimented with "Malay platoons." The continued to have Malay platoons in the infantry battalions till the early 1980's, because at SATO, the troops they sent to me, for a company exercise, were from a Malay platoon from 3SIR or 4SIR.

One of my schoolmates was commissioned from 3SMC, and he was the platoon commander / leader for a Malay platoon at 2SIR.

There were many Malays serving NS even before 1970.