• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF dua kang yao siu say women flock to them

cooleo

Much ado over SAF's 'trophy boyfriend' ad

20101119.161014_armyadrotator.jpg

By Kenny Chee

A NEW Singapore Armed Forces recruitment TV commercial has baffled some Singaporeans and tickled others - for better or worse.

It depicts a woman gushing over her new boyfriend, who is an army scholar, to two companions. In the 45-second clip, she praises him for being "smart", "outgoing" and "on a scholarship". She says he "works for this huge organisation", "gets to travel" and "always has time for me".

Click here to find out more!Click here to find out more!
Posted on YouTube a week ago, it got almost 30,000 hits as of yesterday evening. It had over 300 "dislike" votes and 17 "like" votes.

A netizen griped about the ad on citizen- journalism website Stomp. She asked: "Is it to 'market' army regulars as a 'good catch' for Singaporean girls, as if he's a trophy boyfriend?"

Launched last Monday, the ad is part of a multimedia advertising juggernaut called Our Home, Our Singapore, Our Army.

Of the other two TV ads, one focuses on two parents who regale friends with comments about their serviceman son, while the last features a girl who "wants to be a rock star" and says her serviceman brother will protect her and the country. In all three ads, a uniformed serviceman appears at the end.

Reactions to the ads have been mixed. While some find the soft approach a good break from previous grittier ads featuring armed soldiers and military vehicles, others say the ads are not realistic.

Two ad experts also say that there is a disconnect between reality and what the ads portray.

Mr Adam Chan, managing director of ad agency AvenueOne, called the completely soft-sell angle "refreshing" but thinks it "isn't going to work because this is the army".

He said: "The reality is that the army is tough. The new ads seem contrived because they try to create a corporate image that the army is modern, without blood and guts."

Ms Pat Law, managing director of social- influence marketing agency Goodstuph, feels the message is unclear. "Are the ads promoting the desire to serve for a higher purpose? Or are they promoting the superficial glamour of a career that will leave girls gushing?" she asked.

She singled out the boyfriend ad for its lack of understanding of its target audience.

She said: "It is unrealistic and a little demeaning to the potential soldier who wants to serve the country... I cannot imagine a guy signing up with the army so as to obtain his girlfriend's and her friends' approval."

However, some viewers like the ads.

Mr Benedict Boey, 28, a postgraduate student at the National University of Singapore, noted that the army "is moving away from a gung-ho image to one that connects more with citizens".

Netizen kohjaz commented on YouTube that the brother ad, for a change, is one "that we can all (relate) to, (because we have) friends or relatives in the armed forces".

One 20-year-old operationally ready national serviceman praised the ads for connecting with younger Singaporeans.

"Conventional ads do work but to really entice young people today, new approaches are necessary," he said.

Marketing executive Wong Biying, 23, said she likes the commercials' theme of "being proud of our boys".

"But the ads were over-the-top, especially the boyfriend ad," she qualified.

Love it or hate it, the latest ad campaign marks a significant change in how the army is portraying itself.

Colonel Desmond Tan, the Ministry of Defence's director of public affairs, said the the army's latest recruitment campaign "aims to show how the people who make up our army enjoy the support of their loved ones when they join the army".

"Compared to the military hardware used in previous campaigns, this campaign provides another angle to appreciate our army's mission - that Singapore is our home and the army is called to defend it," he added.

[email protected]

cooleo

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/fdJYTFCJpQQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/fdJYTFCJpQQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

cooleo

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/KpbOmChsNh0?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/KpbOmChsNh0?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

How often can you dua kang and say your son on tv? Only when your son is SAF hor! :oIo:

ivebert

Gross bitch

Why marry such an ugly and empty sinkie bitch?

Go for American Born Chinese if you have the ability and looks

They are the best pedigree in Chinese bloodline

Colonel Desmond Tan, the Ministry of Defence's director of public affairs, said the the army's latest recruitment campaign "aims to show how the people who make up our army enjoy the support of their loved ones when they join the army"

bro madmansg will tell everyone this:

NS is killing SG

:eek::eek::eek:

sufferwell

good hokkien expression "dua kang yao siu"..

the girl in the ad looks like "get out of my uncaring face" wee shu min

cooleo

Anyone with a backbone will not join the army.

Most army regulars are retards who would have been fired on their first week in the corporate world. No kidding. Just look at real life examples of old retired majors venturing to corporate world in their 50s. Bunch of useless buggers.

" he works in a large organisation & he gets to travel" --> chey, work as air steward in SIA also large organisation + travel what...

"he always have time for me" --> come on loh...this is a lie...I noe for sure there is no time...it is always exercise, out field training, etc... wait...he is scholar ...haha ...maybe ....:P

whichever way they try to portray it...it never departs from = rush to wait, wait to rush....

the best part...she start off..."He is smart..."

wow ....if he is smart he won't join...LOL

women can be turned on by the stamina of saf men.

ns men can pump up and down, in and out 50 times easily. commandoes can pump 100 or more times non-stop.

policemen can only pump 10 times, and they need to nap in the police car for 10 mins before pumping again. (ask ramseth)

gangbangers can only pump with a screwdriver or machete.

sbf members only pump own egos.

sam the admin doesn't pump at all. he's impotent.

dirty old men pump their hearts to keep themselves alive. (ask equalisation)

politicians pump their fists as if they are gay or fisting someone dumb. (ask gms)

activists without party affiliations pump their blow up dolls. (ask uncleyap)

ThePlen

Much ado over SAF's 'trophy boyfriend' ad

It depicts a woman gushing over her new boyfriend, who is an army scholar, to two companions. In the 45-second clip, she praises him for being "smart", "outgoing" and "on a scholarship". She says he "works for this huge organisation", "gets to travel" and "always has time for me".

stupid woman. Jonathan Wong, the ex-MOE scholar watches child porn. he would not love her

cooleo

How many of the idiots in SAF are on scholarships? The common rank and file idiots are just mindless zombies living day by day, with a fear of getting kicked out of this charitable organization.

Get to travel? Oh yeah...travel to Taiwan for cross-border training? lol!

ThePlen

How many of the idiots in SAF are on scholarships? The common rank and file idiots are just mindless zombies living day by day, with a fear of getting kicked out of this charitable organization.

Get to travel? Oh yeah...travel to Taiwan for cross-border training? lol!

the coming of age trip to taiwan... everyone ends up in the sauna/massage parlour

mako65

Gimme the goosebumps after watching the advertisements! That girl shld bluntly says " I caught a big $fish"...hahaha!

cooleo

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/fdJYTFCJpQQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/fdJYTFCJpQQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

terencests
2 hours ago

out of 46k views, only 24 likes and 24 favourited. how coincidental...

#
BLADEMANDAD
3 days ago

biggest prime-time bullshit ad, thank god they removed it from air.. someone at markting needs to be charged and f-ked

#
come4
3 days ago

funny how she's embarrassed to say he works for the saf and instead calls it a huge organisation...

#
redskyink
4 days ago

wah so kiam eng regulars ah!? so far e most dislikes video ive ever seen on youtube.

haperscout
4 days ago

damn....i was an officer as a NSF and never had much time to go out so free and meet friends.....got time to catch a movie i also happy liao......i guess that's why they made sure to say scholar

#
uberliang
4 days ago

23 people who liked this are regulars

fireflyfirefly
4 days ago

very disturbing video. is this how desperate SAF is already?

#
drapolene2000
6 days ago 5

I am a regularfor 20 years and I don't like this. Ads please don;t distort the facts: The reality is that the Army is a career that requires total committment, especially if you are in a leadership position. The fact is that you will not always have time for your girfriend, spouse / family and that's something girfriend / spouse need to wake up and aware of. It requires lots of scarifies by the spouse and that wil be a fact, 20 years ago or now

#
puaNirvana
1 week ago 6

im in the service right now and i can tell you that 95% of regulars are in camp only about 3 times a week on average. The other days? "Medical appointment", "leave" which is unlimited for them, "MC", "meeting at other camps", "on course". Throwing all work to nsfs. We pay them 100% of their salaries, to do 50% of the work, with the other 50% going to nsfs. Fuck u saf. u fuking wasted 2 of my prime years