S$894K 5-rm HDB pigeon hole, anyone interested?

bushtucker

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/toa-payoh-flat-sold-record-060406125.html

Toa Payoh flat sold for record S$894,000
Property GuruProperty Guru – 20 hours ago

Email
Print

The sale of a three-year-old five-room HDB flat in Toa Payoh (pictured) back in February has caused quite a bit of buzz online with some netizens wondering how the owner was able to sell the flat for S$894,000, which was more than twice its original price.

Sold just three years after its completion, the flat located between the 36th and 40th floors of Block 79C in Toa Payoh Central has created a new record price for the area.

According to a HDB spokesman, the block was constructed as a replacement block to relocate residents under the Selective En Bloc Redevelopment Scheme (SERS). The flats have a Minimum Occupation Period (MOP) of five years from the effective date of purchase or seven years from the selection date of the unit, whichever is earlier.

"For SERS replacement flats that have met the requisite period, the flat owners may sell them in the open market. For the case you (netizens) cited, the seller had already met the seven-year MOP, and hence was eligible to sell his flat in the open market," noted the spokesman.

Commenting on the case, Mohamed Ismail, Chief Executive of PropNex Realty said "the seller was lucky for a number of reasons."

"He has fulfilled the seven years under SERS. He may also have bought it at a slight discount under the SERS subsidy. And the flat has a central location in Toa Payoh."

HDB's website showed that the median resale price for a five-room unit in Toa Payoh in Q4 2011 was S$645,000.

The owner had expected to sell the unit at over S$900,000 but eventually settled for S$894,000, said Shawn Guan, the ERA agent who represented the seller. Related Stories: HDB to hold talk on 'Starting a Business in your Flat'

Good as when the price of HDB surpasses $1 million all Singaporeans can sell out and emigrate.

900k can buy a 800 sft apartment at Telok Kurau....

hmm... is it freehold at Telok Kurau?
Yah, its those kind of 6-7 floors, 1 floors 4 units kind of buidling, with small amenities such as pool and gym

sure can .....just a little more info....TK used to have very many big bungalow houses in the 60s. These guys eventually sold out and bit by bit an enbloc here and there and now its mostly condos and apartments.

thanks bros, kopi on me :):):)

Few months ago, I was sending this friend back to his condo at Joo Chiat.. Was surprised to see the National Flag of North Korea at this 3 storey Semi D house located at Joo Chiat Lane..:eek: Any idea if that's official residence of the North Korean Ambassador? :confused:

sure can .....just a little more info....TK used to have very many big bungalow houses in the 60s. These guys eventually sold out and bit by bit an enbloc here and there and now its mostly condos and apartments.

talking about big bungalow houses, it seems like this Katong, Joo Chiat, Telok Kurau area is demarcated as residential areas in the past. seems like a walk down memory lane as we wind down Cresent Road area, the lorongs of Telok Kurau, as well as the Rambutan Road and so on... nice architecture with those spiral stair wells at the back. should marked as protected area. it is our heritage.

the lorongs M, N in Telok Kurau and the roads in Tanjong Katong that are nearer to Mountbatten Road eg ...bournemouth, wilkinson were not very far from the beach before reclaimation started in 1966. Many of the rich people lived there hence these big bungalows.
There were pockets of kampungs eg kampung Amber and i lived and roamed there.

talking about big bungalow houses, it seems like this Katong, Joo Chiat, Telok Kurau area is demarcated as residential areas in the past. seems like a walk down memory lane as we wind down Cresent Road area, the lorongs of Telok Kurau, as well as the Rambutan Road and so on... nice architecture with those spiral stair wells at the back. should marked as protected area. it is our heritage.

Actually, there are many developments between Joo Chiat and Still road also, near Koon Seng road area, that place really not bad, near Joo Chiat, a lot of food there, I like :D:D:D:D. Telok Kurau a bit too quiet for my liking, not properly lighted also.....

There were pockets of kampungs eg kampung Amber and i lived and roamed there.

neat. always fascinated by that nice building at the junction of Still Road and Marine Parade Road. was it a hotel or some kind?
can't seem to find any more old school kopitiam akin to that of Chin Mee Chin along the East Coast Road, would be lunch on me already, bro :p:p:p

Actually, there are many developments between Joo Chiat and Still road also, near Koon Seng road area, that place really not bad, near Joo Chiat, a lot of food there, I like :D:D:D:D

Fei Fei Wanton Mee is it? :p:p:p

yes that was formerly a hotel but the name eludes me .....up to recently some small businesses used to operate in their premises ...some solar heater company. Heard the owner may want to sell......but i got no $$$$ to buy leh. :D

CMC is nice .....i still eat there at times....but i did prefer the cakes at Red House when i was a kid.

neat. always fascinated by that nice building at the junction of Still Road and Marine Parade Road. was it a hotel or some kind?
can't seem to find any more old school kopitiam akin to that of Chin Mee Chin along the East Coast Road, would be lunch on me already, bro :p:p:p

CMC is nice .....i still eat there at times....but i did prefer the cakes at Red House when i was a kid.

that plot is huge, certainly a luxury to own :p:p:p
you mean the red colored confectionery? the last time me went past that area, it seemed as though it's undergoing some renovation. all covered up in planks.

no renovations bro ....its just boarded up for good. Last sale was yonks ago.:(

that plot is huge, certainly a luxury to own :p:p:p
you mean the red colored confectionery? the last time me went past that area, it seemed as though it's undergoing some renovation. all covered up in planks.

Dunman Hawker Centre wantan mee, rojak, oyster egg, teochew porridge :D:D:D

Dunman Hawker is chili sedap, noodles still ok.

but oh boy... rojak, oyster egg and teo chew porridge. you know all the good food, bro.

no renovations bro ....its just boarded up for good. Last sale was yonks ago.:(

good grief... what ever happened to that bak chang stall then? is it still there? don't remember seeing it either.