• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Rio 2016 Paralympic Games

sad-disabled-woman-crying-17166766.jpg

Menu
News
SPORT
Paralympics: Singapore's swimmer Yip Pin Xiu beats own record to clinch gold
Posted 10 Sep 2016 05:36 Updated 10 Sep 2016 08:01

ENLARGECAPTION
5958 Email More
SINGAPORE: She came into her race as the overwhelming favourite, and she delivered in style.

On Saturday morning (Sep 10), Yip Pin Xiu ensured Majulah Singapura was heard for a second time in a month at the Olympic Aquatic Stadium in Rio de Janeiro.

That was after the 24-year-old swimmer won the women’s (S2) 100m backstroke final in a new world record time of 2 minutes 7.09 seconds, lowering her own previous world best mark by more than two seconds.

China’s Feng Yazhu took silver (2:18.65), while bronze went to Iryna Sotska of Ukraine (2:21.98).

Last month, Joseph Schooling broke through for Singapore’s first-ever Olympic gold medal when he won the men’s 100m butterfly, a feat that was widely celebrated in the island-state.

Singapore’s first Paralympic medal had been achieved eight years earlier by Yip, when she won the (S3) 50m Backstroke. She also took silver in the (S3) 50m Freestyle at the same Games.

Yip has since been re-classified as an S2 swimmer as the muscular dystrophy that afflicts her advanced and progressively weakens her muscles.

The International Paralympic Committee classifies S2 as swimmers that rely mainly on their arms for swimming due to limited functions or coordination problems with their hands, trunks or legs.

Having missed out on the podium at the London Paralympics in 2012 – she finished fourth in both her races – Yip signalled her comeback at the ASEAN Para Games last year when she smashed the S2 world record for the 50m backstroke while competing in the S5 final, against more mobile competitors. Her time then was 1min 1.61sec.

She proceeded to lower that mark to 1min 1.39s this May at the European Championships in Funchal, Portugal, where she also set a new world mark for the S2 100m backstroke.
Yip, who is a final-year political science student at the Singapore Management University, will be competing in the S2 50m backstroke final next week.

- CNA/ec

Win gold medal le. Nothing ? No picture take take with KFC ? No $1 mil ? U die yr business ?

Congratulations to Yip Pin Xiu. A Paralympic Gold medal and World record is no small achievement. Well done!

Win gold medal le. Nothing ? No picture take take with KFC ? No $1 mil ? U die yr business ?

KFC? Where got time? The most he will do is after waking up from a long night's sleep, had his super breakfast, the most he do is to send a email to congratulate her.

Oh wait. The email may even not send by him but his PA.

Any ministers flew to Rio to watch history being made by our Paralympians? Nah, no leeporters there so no pint endure the long flight, albeit First Class, to go there sarpok them la. And risk getting Zika for nothing. In short, NOT WORTH their time. And on long weekend too? Chey.

This shows PAP has done a good job. Even Singapore's weakest is the strongest in the world.
Singaporeans certainly have a bright future.

KFC? Where got time? The most he will do is after waking up from a long night's sleep, had his super breakfast, the most he do is to send a email to congratulate her.

Oh wait. The email may even not send by him but his PA.

Any ministers flew to Rio to watch history being made by our Paralympians? Nah, no leeporters there so no pint endure the long flight, albeit First Class, to go there sarpok them la. And risk getting Zika for nothing. In short, NOT WORTH their time. And on long weekend too? Chey.

Can it be after js case, he saw many pui comments now paiseh liao.
Knn what u all want me to do. Take picture also teo kan don't take also teo kan :D

Paralympics is like saying amongst the blind I have the best eye sight...

we hv another gold medalllist........ will $1000000 be awarded??

Who gives a shit about a bunch of spastics!? :*:

Paralympics is like saying amongst the blind I have the best eye sight...

[video=youtube;82Fxz3XcJWs]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82Fxz3XcJWs[/video]

Simply by using their arm, they can swim faster than many so called NS men . NSF please remove your uniform if you lose them.:eek