remember sintercom?

founded 1994. and then in july 2001, the sba (predecessor of the mda) asked dr. tan, founder of sintercom, to register under the sba class license notification 1996. in august 2001, dr. tan announced that he would shut down sintercom. the pending shutdown spurred some members and contributors to start alternative sites: new sintercom at geocities and a slew of sintercom-like and kopitiam forums at delphiforums. fractionalization of the new sintercom led to the sammyboy alfresco sub-forum, 3in1 kopitiam, and several smaller and niche sub-forums with a common theme about sg and all the whining and gripes about sg and the pap. some niche sites are dedicated at sniping of particular oppo parties by supposedly oppo factions. ooh, the infighting. it's an inherent part of the sg culture. without it, there's no gossip, no fun and no life. :rolleyes: :p

based on the timeline, sbf is now about 13 years old if we include the delphiforums' days. in 12 more years, we can celebrate the quadranscentennial or silver jubilee of sbf as the true successor of sintercom if the owner and admin is still kicking and paying the dues for upkeep and maintenance. :D

all the lao jiao of the original sintercom, let's do a roll call, and please sign in (if you're still of sound mind and no longer in imh). ;)

mudding and IRC a lot more interesting, no? :D:D:D

I started in Delphiforums. Heard of Sintercom and my friends were praising it back then. Yahoo and Geocities were the kings of the Internet era then, before the rise of Google.

A seed that falls to the ground and dies will produce many fruits. The same goes for websites. When Napster and then Audiogalaxy were shut down, more music sharing and peer-to-peer sharing services appeared.

Pity about the loss of the Delphi forums because there was plenty of interesting info in that forum. Never had a chance to really read at all the field reports:)

I started in Delphiforums. Heard of Sintercom and my friends were praising it back then. Yahoo and Geocities were the kings of the Internet era then, before the rise of Google.

A seed that falls to the ground and dies will produce many fruits. The same goes for websites. When Napster and then Audiogalaxy were shut down, more music sharing and peer-to-peer sharing services appeared.

after the splintering at delphiforums, i was surprised that many contributors were women, and they led revolts and the creation of their sub-forums. going against godly advice from sam, i met quite a few of them. they're all very intelligent, capable, well-educated, and have a heart for sg. never underestimate sinkie women. ;)

Pity about the loss of the Delphi forums because there was plenty of interesting info in that forum. Never had a chance to really read at all the field reports:)

some of the fr's were captivating and intriguing. can be compiled into a book for whoring. :p

That's why u see all forums using it including this one.

that's the beauty of the internet. whatever that works best is adopted quickly. it's like mee siam mai hum. if the most juicy succulent hums do not go well with mee siam, they shall be discarded. :p

when sammyboy was shifting to the new one with the vbulletin format there were quite a number of forummers who didn't want to go. Aside from the usual worries about having their identities exposed cos the new forum is directly under sam so he gets to see all ips unlike in delphi some of them couldn't get used to the new format and mind you at that point in time almost all new forums were already adopting vbulletin that was why forums like 3 in 1 were started so that they could continue to use the delphi format everyone was so used to. In terms of food that means there are ppl that love to eat mee siam with hum.

This thread is incomplete without mentioning soc.culture.singapore and the characters it spawned.

thanks for bringing that up. all 20-year sg veterans of internet bulletins should have had enjoyed a little foray in there. it's the progenitor of all forums connected to sg and alternative voices to what we got from the shit times. :p

In the old delphi forum, there used to be a boss and kakia combination with the nicknames AhB and Erico who used to provide good sex FRs.

Somewhat similar to the current-day boss and cocksucking-minion combination of Scroobal and ThickFaceBlackHeart who provide bullshit stories/information and manipulate the simple minded. :p

some of the fr's were captivating and intriguing. can be compiled into a book for whoring. :p

I found the FR's very helpful when deciding on where to travel on holidays. If it wasn't for the FR's I wouldn't have gone to places like Hatyai, Batam, Pattaya,...

In the old delphi forum, there used to be a boss and kakia combination with the nicknames AhB and Erico who used to provide good sex FRs.

Somewhat similar to the current-day boss and cocksucking-minion combination of Scroobal and ThickFaceBlackHeart who provide bullshit stories/information and manipulate the simple minded. :p

In the Delphi days I don't remember the forum being as politicized as it is now. There are now so many IB flunkeys here.

Maybe they have always been around but I didn't noticed because I was more interested in FR's:confused:

I found the FR's very helpful when deciding on where to travel on holidays. If it wasn't for the FR's I wouldn't have gone to places like Hatyai, Batam, Pattaya,...

more intriguing for me are the blood feuds between lancheowman and cheebyewoman and between ahbengsong and cheapjustice. :p

you buggers must b sibeh dinosaur... limpeh neber heard of anyone of them at all. up for you.