ReMeMbeR HoW YouR PaRenTs TeaCh You WheN YoU WeRe SmaLL ?

Nasi Lemak

[video=youtube;-140L0GGmvE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=-140L0GGmvE#![/video]

shit!! this is exactly how i was taught. Rotan galore. But no residual bad feelings or resentment towards my parents.

[video=youtube;-140L0GGmvE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=-140L0GGmvE#![/video]

Remember my parent used to buy rotan canes by the dozen. :)

Machiam like Mark Kor in 'A better tomorrow' hidding guns here and there.

Canes all hidden in strategic part of the house for easy retrieval.

I kena whacked too...

ran from kitchen to front door... no way out...

kena whacked hard... for what reason i forgotten. :D ...

nowadays ..kids... you whack them they whack you back.. :o

I kena whacked too...

ran from kitchen to front door... no way out...

kena whacked hard... for what reason i forgotten. :D ...

nowadays ..kids... you whack them they whack you back.. :o
I think not only whack back. They will go to the school to complaint to teacher and become child abuse case.

ya my place too....canes and feather dusters .

Remember my parent used to buy rotan canes by the dozen. :)

Machiam like Mark Kor in 'A better tomorrow' hidding guns here and there.

Canes all hidden in strategic part of the house for easy retrieval.

I use to get rotan too, i would later on search for the rotan and throw it away..And a new one would be bought soon after and the cycle continues.

Remember the most powerful canes are those seasoned canes with split ends. :p

Add another word of wisdom.

Bo Par Buay Dua Han or
Bo Kan Buay Dua Han

Means 'No whack cannot grow up'

When I was young, I got the hard love from my parents...especially my mum! Chasing me with the cane but now I thank her instead....fond old memories from my boyhood days! Shiok...

i kneel washing board, sibei cham ah.:(
Yeah, remember the wooden washing board with very sharp edges. This one reserve for 'serious' offense. Those that went through this earned many respects.

I learnt a lot from being caned: how to lie to escape a beating, how to feign contrition to escape a beating, how power legitimises violence etc. :D

My parents never caned me.

My vice-principal did, for using hokkien expletives on a prefect. In return I vandalized his car jialat jialat. Last day of school, we (my friends and me) whacked that prefect. I could've done that myself, but my friends, well, they're my friends.

The past is already the past.

Sometimes, the ways used by the old folks very different. Most of them don't show their love to the kids openly like westerners. Their love means beatings and scoldings. Cos' afraid of kids ended up pai kias being chopped in the streets. You are not alone.

wow ... manage to read your past history.. very sad indeed...

yup.. the past is already the past... Enjoy what we have now... Life is only temporary.... :)

One thing strange, during my time. Only the boys kena hoot jia lat, jia lat. Even Uncle and Auntie also can hoot nephews. The girls seldom get hoot because only play skipping rope and 5 stone. Sometimes don't even care about face. Whack the exposed parts, arms and legs. Go to school also damm 'lao kui'. Got nickname some more. Call zebra.:*: