• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Remarks by Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin on the illegal strike by SMRT bus d

Char_Azn

The following remarks were made by Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin on the illegal strike by SMRT bus drivers:

We are gathered here today to update you on the illegal strike that has taken place in this last 2 days.

Public transport services, like those provided by SMRT, are listed under "essential services" under the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act or CLTPA (1).

Strikes are illegal for workers in essential services, unless they give the employer 14 days' notice of the intent to go on strike and comply with requirements of the notice (2).

By taking matters into their own hands the drivers have clearly crossed the line. These workers have disrupted public transport services and Singapore's industrial harmony. The Government views these disruptions very seriously. We have zero tolerance for such unlawful action because disrupted essential services not only affect the workers in the industry, but also affect the daily life of all in the community.

The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) was informed this morning that over 60 SMRT bus drivers did not turn up for work today.

ACTION TO BE TAKEN

Police are currently investigating this illegal strike. There are rules and laws to follow, and

we will let the investigations run their course.

GRIEVANCES ARE NO EXCUSE FOR HOLDING ILLEGAL STRIKE

All workers, local or foreign, need to be treated fairly in accordance to Singapore's laws. All workers also need to be treated fairly because that is what is expected of good leadership and management i.e. responsibilities of any good employer.

MOM understands the bus drivers' grievances. We expect SMRT to address the grievances raised. SMRT should also work with the union to resolve these issues.

However, regardless of their grievances, what the workers have done is illegal. There are right ways and wrong ways to handle these concerns. There are due processes to be followed. Just as we expect employers to follow the law, employees should similarly do so.

Taking the law into your own hands is wrong. This illegal strike is not acceptable and would be dealt with in accordance to the law.

(1) Under the First Schedule of the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act, Part III, on Illegal Strikes and LockOuts in Essential Services, the penalty for illegal strikes is a fine not exceeding $2,000, or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, or both. Persons who incite or give financial aid also face the same maximum penalty. Besides public transport services, civil defence services, fire services, port, dock and harbour services, health services and refuse and waste services are also considered essential services.

(2) Under s 6(1) of the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act, no workman employed in water services, gas services or electricity services may go on strike, whether with or without notice.

http://www.todayonline.com/Hotnews/EDC121127-0000162/Remarks-by-Acting-Manpower-Minister-Tan-Chuan-Jin-on-the-illegal-strike-by-SMRT-bus-drivers

Re: Remarks by Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin on the illegal strike by SMRT b

Oh, this is serious. Better stay tuned for outcome. Don't think the drivers will pay any fine. Most likely silently deported.

Re: Remarks by Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin on the illegal strike by SMRT b

need 14 days of notice to organize a strike....like that..how is the strike gonna happened..

14 days...the workers organizing it will get STRUCK! first!

Finally nearly 48 hrs after the fact we have heroes coming out to issue stern warnings and zero tolerance statements. Followed by attack dogs NTUC, NTWU, MWU and the Press/media. I wonder how many rounds of check double check, confirm double confirm before they call a strike a strike.

Got real feeling that the PAP IB has gathered all the views here to present to their political masters, what bros here say have become commands..

Of course the law is tailored in such a way to prevent strikes and continue the oppression. Our local GRCs are full of crap...best HR practises??? For the same job, you pay a Chinaman lower than a Malaysian??? On what basis?? Just because he holds a different passport. Maybe they pay Sinkies lower than Ang Mo for the same reasons.

Only a small strike by workers,actually foreign workers,pap ministers already gabra.First time see them sweat out to really earn their multi-million dollars salaries many many times higher them the Obama,it has been a very long long time too easy money for them.

Informing the employer of a strike is pretty a common practice. This is a strike hor not protest. Need to separate the 2. For essential services, even the French, the king of strikes, need to inform 48 hrs in advanced and as far as I know, it's totally illegal in US for this group to go on strike

We need more strikes to 'train' test the millionaire ministers. The minister doesn't know what to do. If he metes out too harsh a punishment, the PRC government will whack the PAP government and may even find hugh public protests in China and in sinkapore. If he treats them with kids glove, sinkees will get even more upset with the PAP government.

The minister is now pressing his millionaire bureaucrats for advice.

Seriously 14 days adv notice is like no notice. Ample time to arrest n deport leaders or detain under isa, for fuck ? Saf. Got give me 14days notice to open mob me n report to camp or not ?

Before all keep quite act as nothing happen. So many complaint/feedback was ignore.
Now driver strike talk cock.
Why SMRT management keep quite never said anything. They know they do something wrong not ask MOM and transport minister to clean the shit.
1st must slap the management by dismiss all the board director/top management.

SG is the only country CEO/director asking minister to involve and solve their own company problem. If CEO cannot solve just resign get lost.Paid million...............also all the board director should go also.

SMRT is Pte Ltd? bwahahahahahahaa...

Seriously 14 days adv notice is like no notice. Ample time to arrest n deport leaders or detain under isa, for fuck ? Saf. Got give me 14days notice to open mob me n report to camp or not ?
Leegime is incompetent and corrupt?

It was NOT an illegal strike. It was a small issue of refusing to go to work.

It took the minister 48 hours to react, then pass the buck to the police to investigate ....when everything is done, it is 14 days. A bit more wayang and then 30 days later, the minister announces a slap on the wrist punishment. Yes, it is important not to upset the Chinese, then to please sinkees.

It goes to show the country is still run bu ONE man. All were awaiting his supreme order thats why the delayed reaction.

Question: If a CEO goes on strike and bus drivers go on strike, Who is more Important

Can we do away with a CEO or can we do away with drivers? What are your thoughts?
Are workers indispensable or CEOs in a real economy?
Are leaders indispensable or citizens of a country?
What are your thoughts?

It goes to show the country is still run bu ONE man. All were awaiting his supreme order thats why the delayed reaction.
If still run by old man, the decision will be within 24 hours.

The additional 24 hours for this case was because of "consultation" with Chinese embassy.

Informing the employer of a strike is pretty a common practice. This is a strike hor not protest. Need to separate the 2. For essential services, even the French, the king of strikes, need to inform 48 hrs in advanced and as far as I know, it's totally illegal in US for this group to go on strike

But these are our communists brothers, they do not understand all these, we never embraced & integrated them well...we never held their hands & walk down the road..ha ha ha ha

If still run by old man, the decision will be within 24 hours.

The additional 24 hours for this case was because of "consultation" with Chinese embassy.

Do we have a country anymore? we have to consult the Chinese Embassy???