Reigning Defending Undisputed PM LHL Salary !

songsongjurong

1pound=2sgd
http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/this-is-how-much-world-leaders-get-paid--gkjda8e20x

The country’s prime minister Lee Hsien Loong makes £1,146,280 (SGD2million++) per year - more than four times as much as Barack Obama. David Cameron meanwhile makes £142,000 per year

4294-1liqi3m.jpg

Singapore is a hotbed of many races and religions and according to one ex cabinet minister, we have a long coastline mah! :D

Also, we have a record of a limping man being able to escape after staying overnight in a relative's place.
Also, 60+ year old man can drive through the "jaws" at the causeway.
Also, foreigners can kidnap a child on behalf of client after parking his catamaran at high class marina.
So many problems so need to get paid more, right?
Especially the DPMs - what do you think?

quote from : the real singapore
There are some PAP ministers and MPs who actually think that amount is decent.

In January 2012, Grace Fu, in reaction to ministerial pay cuts, ranted on how further cuts to ministerial salaries may dissuade people from serving in politics in the future. Her Facebook post was met with mass criticism.

In May 2011, MP for Nee Soon, Lim Wee Kiak linked ministerial salaries to the “dignity” of politicians. He had been quoted by Lian He Zao Bao as saying, “If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister’s ideas and proposals. Hence, a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity.” His comment was the subject of harsh criticism both online and offline.

the dignitaries who attended the funeral service last sunday must've felt less dignified when paying their respects, or were here to ask for handouts, and grace o-fufu would've worn a black gown instead of looking like a mamasan :rolleyes:

We are paying million-dollar salaries to incompetents (and they claim to be the best that this country can offer) ...we have a petty thief, specializes in stealing toothpicks and get free meals from expensive restaurants, another one who always get his priorities wrong - manage a sports event with half a billion dollar overrun, work up over cleaning of hawker centre ceilings while rats infestation become rampant and haze enveloped the country, a foreign ministar who neglects his portfolio to focus on TC issue and doesn't even understand data he presents to Parliament. These are just the recent snapshots of our millionaire incompetent ministars.

And we say sinkapore is efficient and meritocracy is the way?

We are paying million-dollar salaries to incompetents (and they claim to be the best that this country can offer) ...we have a petty thief, specializes in stealing toothpicks and get free meals from expensive restaurants, another one who always get his priorities wrong - manage a sports event with half a billion dollar overrun, work up over cleaning of hawker centre ceilings while rats infestation become rampant and haze enveloped the country, a foreign ministar who neglects his portfolio to focus on TC issue and doesn't even understand data he presents to Parliament. These are just the recent snapshots of our millionaire incompetent ministars.

And we say sinkapore is efficient and meritocracy is the way?

I don't see the logic of paying celebrities and athletes several times more than the top political and civil service leaders of the country. You are telling me that these entertainers contribute so much more to the development and progress of the society than a good political or civil servant?

It is equally idiotic to insist that those who go into public service must swear some sort of poverty vow, where they are to take a much lower pay compared to the private sector in spite of the massive increase in responsibilities?

Have you ever travelled or worked in Third World countries, where you are expected to pay bribes before civil servants will process your documents? I have. That's the problem of underpaying your civil service and politicians. Their low pay is one of the direct causes of high corruption in the country.

Always comparing LHL's pay with Obama? When I worked in the US, people there often associated "[american] politicians" with words like "crooked" and "dishonest" and "liar". That's the kind of respect the public generally accords to their poorly paid politicians. And the system there has institutionalized corruption, aka "lobby groups".

When was the last time in Singapore, you could bribe your way out of trouble? When was the last time civil servants held up your paperwork if you didn't first give a bribe?

Be thankful that LKY used his brains instead of going with the crowd like some dumb sheep, when he insisted that civil servants and politicians be paid a fair wage for the kind of responsibilities that they had to shoulder.

I don't see the logic of paying celebrities and athletes several times more than the top political and civil service leaders of the country. You are telling me that these entertainers contribute so much more to the development and progress of the society than a good political or civil servant?

Comparing our ministars to entertainers is the new line of defence?
Entertainers earn their keep because people want to see them. When people stop paying, no one will want to pay the entertainers big bucks.
Million-dollar pay for our servants and ministars were imposed on us. We don't have a choice.

It is equally idiotic to insist that those who go into public service must swear some sort of poverty vow, where they are to take a much lower pay compared to the private sector in spite of the massive increase in responsibilities?
Wrong assumption - that they are worth more in the private sector. Most of these servants have ZERO private sector experience. They have NOT been tested. George Yeo got his job because of connection, not because he is talented.
Being paid $10k a month is not peanuts.
Why does a servant deserve $100k a month? We paid for his education and gave him good allowance while in school.
Our system encourages our servants to behaved entitled, be greedy and take freely from our coffers.

Have you ever travelled or worked in Third World countries, where you are expected to pay bribes before civil servants will process your documents? I have. That's the problem of underpaying your civil service and politicians. Their low pay is one of the direct causes of high corruption in the country.
Are we third world? Compare us with first world countries lah.

Always comparing LHL's pay with Obama? When I worked in the US, people there often associated "[american] politicians" with words like "crooked" and "dishonest" and "liar". That's the kind of respect the public generally accords to their poorly paid politicians. And the system there has institutionalized corruption, aka "lobby groups".
Why don't you compare with UK?
You know nothing about how the US system work despite your claim that you have lived in the US. Another typical sinkee ...just hang out with sinkees and don't bother to learn about the culture.

When was the last time in Singapore, you could bribe your way out of trouble? When was the last time civil servants held up your paperwork if you didn't first give a bribe?
Yeah, PAP press will report anything that gives a black eye to the government?

Be thankful that LKY used his brains instead of going with the crowd like some dumb sheep, when he insisted that civil servants and politicians be paid a fair wage for the kind of responsibilities that they had to shoulder.
A fair wage? When median salary is $1700, $100k is NOT a fair wage. A fair wage is 10X median salary at most.

Teo Chee Hean said ministerial salaries hadn't increased in years, so the ministers feel very ripped off leh.
A little bird from the West told me that LHL is paid millions of $ per year for being overall in charge of GIC, much more than the derisory amount of SGD2million++ per year as Prime Ministar.

So who is being ripped off: the ministars or stoopig Sinkies?

for these blokes the moment they are no good, they are out
For our papigs thwy hv at least 4 yrs n like WKS even if tossed, sstill get golden car park paying more money.......

Comparing our ministars to entertainers is the new line of defence?
Entertainers earn their keep because people want to see them. When people stop paying, no one will want to pay the entertainers big bucks.
Million-dollar pay for our servants and ministars were imposed on us. We don't have a choice.

Wrong assumption - that they are worth more in the private sector. Most of these servants have ZERO private sector experience. They have NOT been tested. George Yeo got his job because of connection, not because he is talented.
Being paid $10k a month is not peanuts.
Why does a servant deserve $100k a month? We paid for his education and gave him good allowance while in school.
Our system encourages our servants to behaved entitled, be greedy and take freely from our coffers.

Are we third world? Compare us with first world countries lah.

Why don't you compare with UK?
You know nothing about how the US system work despite your claim that you have lived in the US. Another typical sinkee ...just hang out with sinkees and don't bother to learn about the culture.

Yeah, PAP press will report anything that gives a black eye to the government?

A fair wage? When median salary is $1700, $100k is NOT a fair wage. A fair wage is 10X median salary at most.
lhl shud b paid no more yhan 27x cleanerz pay