• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Watched a kdrama and it hit me hard that I relate and am living an imposter life

DaoMa

Stupidman

Watched a kdrama and it hit me hard that I relate and am living an imposter life.​

I, F in my late 20s, honestly feel like a complete failure.

A little background about me.

I fumbled my O-Levels. I wasn't a rebellious teen nor was I that studious. I thought I would get average results but I didn't. I failed my maths and that failed me to get into any poly courses that I wanted. My results sent me into a deep spiral of depression. My parents suggested I took a gap year to decide what I wanted to do.

In 2017-18 I went back to school for my diploma under Kaplan.

I completed my university degree under Kaplan again in 2023. Sure, it's an Australian university on paper, but I did get it from Kaplan.

Throughout my years of studying to complete my diploma and degree, I was working part time as a retail associate. I never did internships that were related to what I studied. And so even with my qualifications, my resume is a useless blank slate of paper.

I'm in my late 20s and I am still doing part time retail jobs. I did my own small business on the side and did it at cafes or community clubs so that my parents would think I have a job. I don't spend much and regularly bring packed lunches from home. So I am able to save a lot of my pay to give most of my earnings to my parents. That way they would think that I am earning a good pay. But that was furthest from the truth cause some months I struggle to even earn $2k even after working long hours and handling my small business.

Recently I watched a kdrama that kept on popping up on my TikTok FYP called Anna. Anna led a life like I did, though much worse as she flunked her education and eventually took on the identity of a rich person that left the country. From that stolen identity, she became a teacher in a prestigious school and helped her students get into prestigious university that she herself had dreamt of. She even married a wealthy man that went into politics. Her life was a fraud from start to end because she was an imposter.

And that's what I feel like too. Living a fraud life as an imposter.

My parents think I earn pretty decently when my actual jobs says otherwise. My friends think that I am climbing the social ladder when I am wasting my time and youth.

I have applied for numerous jobs. But to no avail. At this point I would taken on any admin jobs to start from the bottom, but I don't even have the experience for that.

I feel pathetic and depressed that my life has come to this. Because my parents think that I am smart. My relatives too. My siblings and cousins all look up to me. But I am nothing.

I did this to myself and have no idea how to get out of it cause no one knows what my life is actually like.

Spoiler of the kdrama ending: her lies caught up to her and she was exposed publicly for being a fraud living an imposter life. She then fled and lived a quite life where no one knows who she is. Even then, people thought that she's Chinese and not Korean, and she didn't correct them. Once you lie, you can't really stop. So maybe that's what it is.

I have applied to dozens more jobs yesterday and am continuing to do so today. I want to escape this fraudulent part of my life and work a job that actually earns well even if it takes a while.

Please wish me luck in my journey and endeavours.

i’m a fraud too as i’m no fecal matter sexpert, although i can easily tell shit from overrated swill from sinkie eateries.

I fumbled my O-Levels. I wasn't a rebellious teen nor was I that studious. I thought I would get average results but I didn't. I failed my maths and that failed me to get into any poly courses that I wanted. My results sent me into a deep spiral of depression. My parents suggested I took a gap year to decide what I wanted to do.
Your parents didn't push you for excellence result through discipline and perseverance. Why didn't go for tuition to sort your math out?

With such parents, you got into such an outcome in your life. Pushing discipline and perseverance is a very important upbringing for a child. Your parents didn't do a good job on that.

Your parents didn't push you for excellence result through discipline and perseverance. Why didn't go for tuition to sort your math out?

With such parents, you got into such an outcome in your life. Pushing discipline and perseverance is a very important upbringing for a child. Your parents didn't do a good job on that.
Why you replying to OP? He cut and paste from Reddit.

Also, you can't push kids too much now. One of my friends did and the kid stupidly took his own life

Why you replying to OP? He cut and paste from Reddit.

Also, you can't push kids too much now. One of my friends did and the kid stupidly took his own life
nope, i am replying to the Reddit poster, i just wait for the thread poster to cut and paste my reply to this Reddit post. I thought this is how it works here?

It means your friend don't know how to be a parent and so pls dun give birth.

You are quite a nasty person.

From the sound of it, her parents were supportive of her and that’s more than what most parents do. They could have easily told her to go straight to work instead of taking a private diploma and degree.

Supportive? if they know how to be supportive to her, she would not have post her issue in reddit and feeling sorry for herself.

Her parents are lousy in raising a child and should not have given birth in the first place if the maturity is not there.

You are quite a nasty person.

He is not nasty at all. He is a tutor and he is just looking at things from his perspective as a tutor.​

i am looking at the perspective of being a mature adult who has enjoyed many success in overcoming problems. Now i am happy with myself in my life. To be happy, one has to learn to overcome problems, it is trained from young through discipline and perseverance.

I bet this late 20s lady did not do any sports at all while she was studying. Sports can teach one about discipline and perseverance, especially preparing for competitions. not e-sports but physical sports. people who are active in sport usually has good result, unlike this sorry-for-herself lady.

A child who persevered to take a private diploma and degree. A child who saved so that she could provide more money to her parents. A child who has the desire to do better by starting a side business to supplement her income.

If you think that is a terrible child, you are a fucking terrible person.

A child who persevered to take a private diploma and degree. A child who saved so that she could provide more money to her parents. A child who has the desire to do better by starting a side business to supplement her income.

are you the reddit poster? or are you the parent of the reddit poster? you get so worked up for this. LOL

is that enough? is she happy? why is she making a post feeling sorry for herself then?

Like i say, she dun have the mental toughness of overcoming problem yet. Then why her parent is expecting her to provide money?
how come the parent got this entitlement expectation from her? got this type of parent will cause the child to suffer and feel sorry for herself.

Those parents who has successful business will not expect the child to give them money, they are more concern if the child is able to overcome problem in life successfully so that the child can do well in life.

See what i mean by mature parenting?

Of course tutors recommend more tuition; it's how they make their money. It's self-serving salesmanship.​

Talking about tuition, o-levels can be retaken and then try again. tutors can be hired for this too, and then can try again to see can go for the poly course again.

But the parents didn't have such suggestion? It says a lot about the parent on how they treat life in respect to discipline and perseverance. or do they know what it requires for success in life? with such "child-should-give-me-money" entitlement, i am not surprise that they don't.

KNN. Wasted parents' money on a distance learning diploma and degree just to end up as a part time retail salesperson and as a "small business" owner which i assume to be selling her wares on carousell.

It's her parents fault.

The parents dun have the discipline and perseverance drive and so they can't instill that in their child. Then it cost the child's future. Fuvked up parents.