• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: SG is becoming a Chinese nation

DaoMa

Stupidman

SG is becoming a Chinese nation​

rants

Nowadays there are alot of China businesses in SG, particularly fnb where all of the signs including the menu are in Mandarin(simplified Chinese) and there's no English, all of the staff are mostly northern China mainlanders speaking with the dong bei accent and they like to shame local Singaporeans especially us teochew/hokkien/Cantonese locals for not speaking Mandarin, "Ni shi hua ren dan shi wei she me bu hui Jiang zhong wen?"(You're a Chinese person why can't you speak Mandarin). I feel that our Chinese population is also losing the ability to speak our dialects(our ancestors came from the southern china regions).

As a born and bred teochew Chinese Singaporean who's mom a chindo is from Pontianak, Indonesia, things are very different there. In every local Chinese food stall there(run by teochews) regardless if it's bakmi kepiting(crab meat noodles) or chai kue(soon kueh in SG), the menus will be entirely in bahasa Indo and everyone who's a local there can easily order it. Plus, the Chinese in Pontianak literally speak both bahasa and teochew, not losing their dialects. The kopi Asiang place run by a Chinese Indo uncle is a local legend there for brewing coffee while being shirtless and he takes orders in both teochew and bahasa Indo

In Malaysia, especially JB and KL. I find that the local Chinese are embracing Mandarin but also able to speak their dialects and Malay, the food menus are in traditional Chinese and malay(or sometimes English too). They always take my order in English as most of them can speak it.

... "Ni shi hua ren dan shi wei she me bu hui Jiang zhong wen?"(You're a Chinese person why can't you speak Mandarin). I feel that our Chinese population is also losing the ability to speak our dialects(our ancestors came from the southern china regions) ...

he shud reply laidis in teochew la ...

ua si dio jiu nang, ua dong lu dah dio ziu ue ...

I go everywhere... I see my lovely country invested with CECA....... I still love the old days.... everywhere I go, I hear my own people accent.... I go wet market, I hear hawkers joking with each other KNN here KNN there.... I buy hacks sweets 3 for $0.10.... $0.40 for Cadbury Garfield milk chocolate, Ice pack for $0.10....... Dunhill Reds (King Size) for $1.80 (help grandma buy everytime)....

I
I go everywhere... I see my lovely country invested with CECA....... I still love the old days.... everywhere I go, I hear my own people accent.... I go wet market, I hear hawkers joking with each other KNN here KNN there.... I buy hacks sweets 3 for $0.10.... $0.40 for Cadbury Garfield milk chocolate, Ice pack for $0.10....... Dunhill Reds (King Size) for $1.80 (help grandma buy everytime)....
thought you love ceca.