• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Seeking thoughts on spoken English at local schools

DaoMa

Stupidman

Seeking thoughts on spoken English at local schools​

My husband and I are weighing a move back to Singapore with our primary school aged child. This will be a huge move for us and for our son, who has spent his entire life abroad and currently attends an international kindergarten where we live.

Here is where our opinions split - my husband feels that staying where we are for our son’s primary education is the better choice, offering a less stressful environment and a stronger foundation in English literacy. I’d like to return as soon as possible, but I also understand his hesitation.

Does the quality of English language teachers vary wildly among primary schools? The Singaporean accent or Singlish isn’t our concern, but we believe that remarks like “people understand can already” and “why so atas” will negatively impact our child at such an elementary phase. I’m talking about how people will do anything to deny or refuse to pronounce the word “flour” in its correct form just because it’s weird.

Because our son is a Singaporean citizen, international schools are not an option for us. Furthermore, since he will eventually have to serve NS, staying abroad much longer risks disconnecting him from his future peers.

I guess my main question is, are you satisfied with how your child's school supports their language development?

“no need think so much. can can already lah!” sinkie born teachers and students are horrible with proper grammar and sentence-forming. diction, phonetics, accent can be corrected with care and time. “actually hor, i already told you to do your homework yesterday already.” overheard a teacher at a high ses local school in siglap chiding her class. it’s ok in piss-speak sg but not in pmet roles in business and work. had a sinkie engineer (and “instructor”) over in sillycon valley to teach some newbies on database conversion from oracle to sap 2 decades ago. omg. his 1st session was excruciatingly painful and hard to comprehend. before the 2nd session we swapped him out with an angmoh. even a ceca with forked tongue would have done a better job. may be this is one reason why sg is full of cecashit. they are less annoying and easier to communicate with than sinkieshit at any professional workplace.

it's all about the environment you're in. no 2 ways abt it so expect a lot of singlish (aka known as bad english) exposure when in sg. however, it certainly makes a lot of difference if the family friends / relatives speak good proper english .

Sinkies can't speak good English is really a joke when schools have English lessons and exams :rolleyes: