• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Actually what is so great about our HDBs?

Insouciant

Stupidman

Actually what is so great about our HDBs?​

Everytime i see articles online like its the best invention by our government since the invention of slice bread! Having live one my entire life i feel its prone to bad low ses wierd neighbours, poor noise insulation, Cluttered corridors, lack of security and so on... Even across the causeway there are plenty of nice condos with gyms and swimming pools at a fraction of cost of our HDBs!

Leasehold is leasehold no matter how the garhmen try to slice and dice.... the value will eventually reaches almost $0 by the >60 - 70 years or so (you try stay in a building that is like 60 - 70 years old you see) to eventually the proverbial $0 value. That appiles to all other property in between that is leasehold UNLESS IT IS A FREEHOLD (A TOTAL DIFFERENT BALL GAME). Not to forget to factor in the time value of money. Sub rent your leasehold unit itself is a joke.... if you know what I am saying that is.

That being said, HDB is not an invention by the garhmen. It is more like a direct copy from the communist Soviet Union.

HDB flats are invented for low SES to make people living in private property feel good. We live in a world of duality. Without low SES, there can be no high SES.

Low SES are here to complement high SES. Same for people who use public transport.​

HDB residents need to face the truth that they are only tenants of the landlord (Housing Board). They paid their rental upfront by taking a loan that lasts more than 2 decades. In the end, the unit reverts to the landlord.

Everytime i see articles online like its the best invention by our government since the invention of slice bread! Having live one my entire life i feel its prone to bad low ses wierd neighbours, poor noise insulation, Cluttered corridors, lack of security and so on... Even across the causeway there are plenty of nice condos with gyms and swimming pools at a fraction of cost of our HDBs!

Every damn thing is overpriced in S'pore; especially these HDB pigeon holes.

Many singkies addicted to gambling and owe alot of debt. Hdb help them pay back when they sell away and use the profit to repay.

for sinkies, it’s a captive very long term rental agreement where renter pays upfront for a 99-yr lease with deposit, bank loan, and major portion of cpf balance - aka horrendous debt burden (hdb).

it’s the only kind of very long term rental agreement in the world. in return, the sinkie renter has a “home” to stay in for almost all his life, is horrendously indebted his whole life, is severely reduced in mobility or migratory movement unless he sells, pays off his debt in full, or rents out his flat for passive incum to service his debt, has minimal freedom and leverage to upgrade to private homes unless he gets rich and sells his flat (by liquidating his rental agreement and passing the buck to another) for profit.

overall, it benefits jiuhukias with sg pr the most. the jiuhukia not only earns wages in sgd which is many times stronger than myr but also builds equity in his hdb flat. at the time of his own choosing which can be decades later when he reaches a financial inflection point he can sell his flat (basically transfer his rental agreement by liquidation to a sucker) for profit, buy a real home in ml, live in ml in retirement with lower cost of living funded by a treasure chest of wealth thanks to sg’s generosity, and return to sg once every 6.9 weeks to rub salt in sinkies’ wounds without the need to give up sg pr unless his son has to serve ns.

for sinkies, it’s a captive very long term rental agreement where renter pays upfront for a 99-yr lease with deposit, bank loan, and major portion of cpf balance - aka horrendous debt burden (hdb). it’s the only kind of very long term rental agreement in the world. in return, the sinkie renter has a “home” to stay in for almost all his life, is horrendously indebted his whole life, is severely reduced in mobility or migratory movement unless he sells, pays off his debt in full, or rents out his flat for passive incum to service his debt, has minimal freedom and leverage to upgrade to private homes unless he gets rich and sells his flat (by liquidating his rental agreement and passing the buck to another) for profit..
There are fundamental differences between a condo and HDB flat which are neither academic nor insignificant in any way. Since buyers of HDB units have only purchased a 99-year lease, they have no share of the land where their blocks stand on and no strata title. As such, the HDB is not being fair to its tenants by calculating the land cost when evaluating the price of its flats. All private condo units - whether they are on 99 or 999-year leases - possess a strata title, which stipulates the size of each apartment, including its undivided share of the land - including the swimming pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, carpark etc. - which the development occupies.

Many singkies addicted to gambling and owe alot of debt. Hdb help them pay back when they sell away and use the profit to repay.
The 65% gambled away our future for the next 5 years. They bet on the devil they know instead of the ones they don't know.