Record price for blue fin tuna

According to bible , Jesus stay inside a fish stomach for days ... That's why he tulan ppl eating fish ...he's another teekee ?

Psst! could you enlighten me, which verse in the Good Book, says that?:p

Jesus made reference to Jonah when he was asked for a miraculous sign by the Pharisees and teachers of the Law. Jonah's restoration after three days inside the great whale prefigured the Resurrection of Jesus Christ after three days.

But he answered and said unto them, An evil and adulterous generation seeketh after a sign; and there shall no sign be given to it, but the sign of the prophet Jonas:
For as Jonas was three days and three nights in the whale's belly; so shall the Son of man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.
The men of Nineveh shall rise in judgment with this generation, and shall condemn it: because they repented at the preaching of Jonas; and, behold, a greater than Jonas is here.
—Gospel of Matthew, chapter 12 verses 39-41[6]

Some people claim that there is a contradiction in the Bible because the Old Testament calls the creature that swallowed Jonah a "Great fish", while the New Testament calls it a "whale".

For as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of a huge fish, so the Son of Man will be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth." Matthew 12:40 (NIV)
Here is the same verse again in the King James version

"For as Jonas was three days and three nights in the whale's belly; so shall the Son of man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth." Matthew 12:40 (KJV)

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JpekJrO08EM" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Jesus made reference to Jonah when he was asked for a miraculous sign by the Pharisees and teachers of the Law.

Wah, bro _ your knowledge in theology impress me :)

you could do well as pastor in Phuket town :D

Wah, bro _ your knowledge in theology impress me :)

you could do well as pastor in Phuket town :D

if i want ...i could set up a church in singapore ....thailand no "market" for christains lah ...singapore church can make more $ . ;)

You like wild 'abalone' & 'hum'....are you in the same class that eat mee siam no HUM!:D

hahaha...me bird brain how to be same class as mortal elites.....
anyway not so sure gay looong likes wild abalone & hum or not......

People casting off standing on the rocks, that action ended something like 20-30 years ago, at least for bluefin tuna. Now, you would be happy to get an Ikan Bilis by casting off the rocks. Once in a blue moon, you will get bluefin tuna move close in to the shore, but not anywhere near Sydney: only in the "Ulu" States, like Victoria, South Australia.

Bluefin are very strong and extremely hard to beat from the shore. Only the really experienced anglers can attempt to catch them.

That may be so becoz I was there from 1986 to 1989. Love the fishing there. Used to fish at Botany Bay where the airport juts out to the sea as well as buying abalone from teenagers who snorkel down to pick them, never mind if they're undersized, at $0.50 a piece.

Every Sunday go to the Fish Market at Pyrmont, they lay out a special of the day, usually a whole yellowfin on a huge tray of ice. It costs the same same for any cut. For us in the know, it's the toro. Excellent value. Once they laid out a humongous moon fish (see pic).

Occasionally there are conches and we'll buy enough to feed an army. After conch, you wonder why you pay the exorbitant price for abalones.

It's a pity Ozzies are not really into live seafood, except for shellfish like the excellent black mussels, oysters, also great but not exactly Belon grade. Bros may dispute but remember this was 25 years ago.

• moonfish.jpg
    moonfish.jpg
    58.1 KB · Views: 86
That may be so becoz I was there from 1986 to 1989. Love the fishing there. Used to fish at Botany Bay where the airport juts out to the sea as well as buying abalone from teenagers who snorkel down to pick them, never mind if they're undersized, at $0.50 a piece.

Every Sunday go to the Fish Market at Pyrmont, they lay out a special of the day, usually a whole yellowfin on a huge tray of ice. It costs the same same for any cut. For us in the know, it's the toro. Excellent value. Once they laid out a humongous moon fish (see pic).

Occasionally there are conches and we'll buy enough to feed an army. After conch, you wonder why you pay the exorbitant price for abalones.

It's a pity Ozzies are not really into live seafood, except for shellfish like the excellent black mussels, oysters, also great but not exactly Belon grade. Bros may dispute but remember this was 25 years ago.

All seafood gets closer to extinction with each passing decade. You were there in the 80's, and you had great deals in seafood: baby abalones, mussels, tuna, oysters. My cousin was studying there in the late 1960's, and he used to meet fishermen on the waterfront when he went for a walk, and they offered him baskets of live spiny lobsters(full-size adult ones) for A$5 per basket! Now, I do not think I can get a single spine or thorn off the same lobster for A$5!!!

Back to the "real" bluefin tuna, these creatures are no joke. Their strength is phenomenal. In the old days, I have seen them blow up rods and reels like they were kiddie toys. Although I no longer fish(old age creeping up on me!!!), I will regret their passing. Unfortunately, because of greedy humans, their passing is inevitable.

I was staying at Hurstville, St.George for afew mths visiting my sista's first born in the late 90s. Done quite alot of fishing too, from the pesky common carps(we used corns) to the fiesty yellowtails(trolling along the headlands)...seafood like shellfish was definitely not exp especially the big green mussels! By the way, da pic is more likely to be a sun fish, isn't it?

Well, well, well, I googled sun fish and the same pic turns up, maybe it's known by both names.

I love the shellfish there, great variety. The black mussels are better than the green, IMO. I'd steam them with basil leaves, practically eat them by the kgs. So's the yabbies, Balmain bugs, BBQ trevally stuffed with belachan fried with onions still makes my mouth water. The much touted barramundi are what we called Kim Bak Lor (seabass), steamed with scallions, ginger with soy sauce and a little sugar. I could go on. The m&d crabs, shrimps on the barbie.

Hurstville? It's just 2 stations away from Carlton, where I rented an apartment. Lots of Greeks lived in Hurstville during my time time but from what I heard from friends who live there, it's one big Chinatown now.

Used to play snooker at the St. George's Leagues Club about 1 km down the road. Came in runners-up at their annual in-house doubles touney. Still display the trophy proudly at home. Haha. Great bunch of people there, the true blue Ozzies, 2nd gen Lebanese, Turkish, some Poms, and 1 Sinkie.

Only faced with rascism once, on Bondi, from a POM, but were defended by my new found Swedish travel mates.

TS, sorry to hijack the thread.

Doesn't matter abt the fish..hahaha! In the day, it's called the sunfish but once the sun set, it's becomes the moonfish...hahaha! Yah, just pop up from the tube or underground train from Carlton is the Chinatown populated with many HKs n mainlanders...can't discount them really, they're very enterprising! Hahaha..

(abbreviated/) Bros may dispute but remember this was 25 years ago.

In some states in West Coast USA, moon fish is sold in the fish shops(every now and then). They are not too bad tasting, except for one thing: you get very weird and vivid dreams after eating them!!!

The Conch are really delicious aren't they? In the Florida Keys, they are the No. 1 restaurant attraction. If I could get them in Singapore, I will not bother to eat anything else, not even abalone!

Regarding the bluefin tuna casting off the rocks, yes, there are some videos online that claim to show such action taking place today, but the ones shown are not 'real' bluefin tuna. They are (latin name) Kishinoella tonggol, not the (latin name) Thynnus thynnus.

Believe you me, with the price of bluefin tuna at today's levels, real bluefin tuna that come so close to shore will all be stiff and frozen and on Tsukiji Tokyo's floor in less than 24 hours! :D

In some states in West Coast USA, moon fish is sold in the fish shops(every now and then). They are not too bad tasting, except for one thing: you get very weird and vivid dreams after eating them!!!

The Conch are really delicious aren't they? In the Florida Keys, they are the No. 1 restaurant attraction. If I could get them in Singapore, I will not bother to eat anything else, not even abalone!

Regarding the bluefin tuna casting off the rocks, yes, there are some videos online that claim to show such action taking place today, but the ones shown are not 'real' bluefin tuna. They are (latin name) Kishinoella tonggol, not the (latin name) Thynnus thynnus.

Believe you me, with the price of bluefin tuna at today's levels, real bluefin tuna that come so close to shore will all be stiff and frozen and on Tsukiji Tokyo's floor in less than 24 hours! :D

No those are not bluefins, more like yellowfins, nevertheless they are still prized catches. Every year before winter the fish migrates north and their migratory path takes them just past Sydney and fishermen cast off standing on the rocks.

Ah, conches, sliced thinly like geoduck, dipped in a light mix of lemon juice, soya sauce and a little wasabi, nothing can top that. Crunchy, real taste of the sea, like those flat oysters you scrape off the rock, washed with sea water of the shell fragments, only muich better.

<you get very weird and vivid dreams after eating them!!!> I tell you what gives you weird dreams - Happy pizzas from Sisowath Quay in Phnom Penh. Regular pizzas topped with marijuana for a little extra. By some strange loophole, MJ used a a cooking condiment is OK, smoking it is not. But nobody seems to care, judging by the openness in which people are smoking it several discos in PP.