• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Recommend good teochew Fish Soup

CannonFairy

I personally like the Teochew Fish Soup in Chong Pang hawker center, the stall beside the Tow Huay Chwee. Any other good ones around?

bedok north blk 416 kopitiam. outstanding fish soup. i think call boon keng fish soup or what. cheap and very very good.

after u order the aunty will give u a colour clothes peg. they use this to remember who order what. in the kopitiam u can see a lot of tables with different coloured clothes peg. lol.

River Valley, along the stretch of Boon Tong Kee, best teochew fish soup I have eaten.

Thanks. Keep it coming. There is one store along the stretch of shop houses opposite The Concourse with yellow utensils. Not bad too

its towards the end of the hawker's centre away from the Muslim side. The stall is next to another stall selling fishball noodles.

Once you are in the vicinity you cant miss it cos its popular. Btw they are closed Mondays.

any stall name? stall number? or at least stall facing where?

its towards the end of the hawker's centre away from the Muslim side. The stall is next to another stall selling fishball noodles.

Once you are in the vicinity you cant miss it cos its popular. Btw they are closed Mondays.

thanks. i think i roughly got it liao. near those few hong kong char siew/ roast duck rice stall i think. will go and try.

Thanks. Keep it coming. There is one store along the stretch of shop houses opposite The Concourse with yellow utensils. Not bad too
Not Teochew style lah, fried fish with milk soup, definitely not

how u noe whether a fish is teochew? ... or a fish soup is teochew? ... :confused:

I was thinking the same question.

In any case if you like fish soup, try the one at Amoy Food Centre 2nd floor(there are 2, it's the one near a Stall selling Ang Moh Muffin). Soup is very good and the price is reasonable. The queue is super long, you probably can't miss it

River Valley, along the stretch of Boon Tong Kee, best teochew fish soup I have eaten.

Bro, I went to try already, and here's my humble FR.

Upside: Tastes good, better than most foodcourt stalls and some hawker stalls, use batang, soup and ingredients quite ok.

Downside: Not great value in terms of quantity, not great in terms of quality compared to Amoy street stalls, stall run by ah tiongs. :o

RTE (return to eat :D) : Probably yes

Btw, this new avatar is much better than the previous ones, is it still the same girl? :o

In any case if you like fish soup, try the one at Amoy Food Centre 2nd floor(there are 2, it's the one near a Stall selling Ang Moh Muffin). Soup is very good and the price is reasonable. The queue is super long, you probably can't miss it

Both stalls are great and always long queue.
Best quality in SG imho.

Bro, I went to try already, and here's my humble FR.
Upside: Tastes good, better than most foodcourt stalls and some hawker stalls, use batang, soup and ingredients quite ok.
Downside: Not great value in terms of quantity, not great in terms of quality compared to Amoy street stalls, stall run by ah tiongs. :o
RTE (return to eat :D) : Probably yes
Btw, this new avatar is much better than the previous ones, is it still the same girl? :o

Thank JW5, the Teochew at River Valley soup is good, the fish is thick, but sometimes not very fresh. I agree not as good to Amoy street 1, but Amoy too ex lah, not worth the money.

No lah, this 1 different gal, po2 buay song liao, searching another chioer gal for his avatar liao, hahaha

how u noe whether a fish is teochew? ... or a fish soup is teochew? ... :confused:

Teochew style fish soup stalls usually have the fish hanging up with only the bones left. :p

They usually also sell shark meat with jelly, fish porridge, their fish soup usually use batang with lots of ingredients inside a non milky soup.

Both stalls are great and always long queue.
Best quality in SG imho.

Actually the other one kelong one. They long queue not really coz a lot of pple queuing. It's coz the queue dun move one. The stall I was talking about super long queue but serve very fast also. In any case not a fan of the other stall coz it's more exp and I think the soup is not as good but it has option for Promfet

Nonsense about the queue kelong and not moving. U obviously lack experience in queuing for fish soup. :rolleyes:

But u are right about the pomfret soup and the price, the pomfret soup is $10 per bowl!
In terms of value for money, the other stall is better. But not necessarily in terms of quality.

There's an authentic Teochew auntie selling authentic Teochew fish soup at Toa Payoh Lorong 8 hawker centre; corner stall. Enjoy!

Many already switched to Snakehead to save cost. :o

[video=youtube;nmU7etSYYqI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmU7etSYYqI[/video]

They usually also sell shark meat with jelly, fish porridge, their fish soup usually use batang with lots of ingredients inside a non milky soup.