• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

re property tax

KNNBCCB I just received my property tax.

Can anyone give me a reason why I need to pay property tax when I had never rent out my flat nor room ?
Property tax are calculated based on estimated yearly yield if one had sublet or rent their flat. So why do I need to pay :confused:
I have already been paying interest for my flat.

My contract job is ending soon, and most likely the company ain't going to renew my contract as they will probably hire ft to replace my current position.
Can I make appeal to mp to be waived the property tax since I wil be out of job soon ?

Property tax are for sinkie cowards who dare not fight for their rights and respect and allow the govt to screw them whenever the govt feel like it.

Tonychat, for a person like you who has no property, there is no need for you to comment.

If you vote the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan as PM, you will pay much more taxes - inheritance tax, capital gains tax etc.

Can anyone give me a reason why I need to pay property tax when I had never rent out my flat nor room ?
Property tax are calculated based on estimated yearly yield if one had sublet or rent their flat. So why do I need to pay :confused:

My contract job is ending soon, and most likely the company ain't going to renew my contract as they will probably hire ft to replace my current position.
Can I make appeal to mp to be waived the property tax since I wil be out of job soon ?

Tell me ! How can I make a graceful fight ? I do not wish to end up in jail for protest. :rolleyes:

If you vote the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan as PM, you will pay much more taxes - inheritance tax, capital gains tax etc.

I will vote for whoever that can give me a proper job. With proper job I do not mind being tax a bit !

Simple lah!, you lease your flat from your landlord, who assume you are living in the grass & renting out all your rooms, & you pay your landlord taxes who leases out the property to you.

You don't PAY, they will "makan" any free "gifts" your "uncle" might give you & deduct your salary & "raid" any bank accounts you may have & have credit balances in them.

In short, PAY!

The reason you have to pay your property tax is because the PAP says so.

Dont like and dont want to pay? see you in Court

It is one way to make the rich pay more taxes. Why not you spend time complaining about GST instead. This is one tax that penalized the poor more.

ive never understood property tax as well. i alreay paid this tax that tax to buy the property, now its a perpetual lifelong tax as well.
someone said its to tax the rich to help the poor. all well and good ifs its an income generator, but if you live in your property, you are getting no income...

ive never understood property tax as well. i alreay paid this tax that tax to buy the property, now its a perpetual lifelong tax as well.
someone said its to tax the rich to help the poor. all well and good ifs its an income generator, but if you live in your property, you are getting no income...
It serves several function. First is to make sure the rich don't hoard properties and do nothing. Extreme example is china where most cities have yet to implement property tax. You see plenty of rich buying up new properties and not even renting them out, just hoarding for capital gain.

The rich will own a lot more properties, and property tax function more like estate tax, which the pappies have already quietly gotten rid of to serve their own greedy needs.

In fact I think sinkies ought to lobby for capital gains tax on investment properties. Too many rich here are simply living off flipping multiple properties. So don't waste time removing property tax, the way towards a more equitable society is to tax property speculators a lot more than what they are paying today.

Since when do any taxes make sense?

I will gladly pay my taxes if it was to allow the government of the day to run this country well.... but the questions comes up as to how much money do they actually squeeze from the people to do so. If to run Singapore efficiently from day to day requires a hypothetical $10 bil then why are they squeexing $50 bil? That's my question.....

The rich will own a lot more properties, and property tax function more like estate tax, which the pappies have already quietly gotten rid of to serve their own greedy needs.

In fact I think sinkies ought to lobby for capital gains tax on investment properties. Too many rich here are simply living off flipping multiple properties. So don't waste time removing property tax, the way towards a more equitable society is to tax property speculators a lot more than what they are paying today.

I think the tax system here is flawed and there is insufficient redistribution of wealth.

We may be a very wealthy country but we are by the same extent, a very unequal one.

Since when do any taxes make sense?

I will gladly pay my taxes if it was to allow the government of the day to run this country well.... but the questions comes up as to how much money do they actually squeeze from the people to do so. If to run Singapore efficiently from day to day requires a hypothetical $10 bil then why are they squeexing $50 bil? That's my question.....
I see that you don't think there is need for street lights, roads, sewage etc..

I think the tax system here is flawed and there is insufficient redistribution of wealth.

We may be a very wealthy country but we are by the same extent, a very unequal one.
Exactly, and one of main causes is the lack of property gains tax on investment properties and shares. Yet sinkies are fooled into pay high GST to "help the poor" and lobbying to remove property tax :*:

I thought there was some tax on how you flip properties within 3 years of acquiring them?

anyway tax is meaningful if it was channelled back to help the underprivileged and disadvantaged of society.

We are not that rich a country if the weakest of this country still live in squalor and abject poverty

I thought there was some tax on how you flip properties within 3 years of acquiring them?

anyway tax is meaningful if it was channelled back to help the underprivileged and disadvantaged of society.

We are not that rich a country if the weakest of this country still live in squalor and abject poverty
Tis rule is only for fast flippers. the real big boys have hundred if not thousands of properties. they can easily circumvent this by careful planning. Look at old man, wee chow yaw, far east and many of the big boys. They are not paying any of these capital gain tax because they will own each property for years before selling.

Why not make the capital gains a flat rate regardless of number of years? Only concession for own stay properties.
Why do you think government is still not serious about capital gains tax? It's because pappies only serve the very rich, and the big boys don't like capital gains tax.

then only tax investment properties and 2nd and 3rd etc properties...NOT the own that you actually live in

Move to JB. I think their " Cukai pintu" remained as it was for decades.