Question: Do we USUALLY profited from the sale of our first HDB?

Anyone who have bought any property anytime before 2.5 years ago out not have lost money. Used to be when sell HDB flat sure make money......not sure about now but should be still....only make more or less nia.
This is what is keeping the 60.1%........that is why pappies die die must prop up property prices.

You 'lose' money the moment you brought the pigeon hole to stay and happy that Con People Fund pays you 2% interest capped at 20k or so and you go on pay Hole Damned Badass the money for mortgage, hoping that you can make more as years go by.

It's paper gain and more over you're caught at the end of the road by both Con People Fund and Hole Damed Badass in whatever you intend to do after you have sold it but to buy another one!

You're losing money with time and letting others use your money to make alot of money for themselves.

The thing about Sinkie is that hey tend to believe in things they think they see and hear and won't be bothered about things that they don't know.

Blame ST or media or blame the conditioning? I don't know.

IT"S YOUR MONEY we're talking about here.

And what do you think ,whether if you have a cash or liquidity after you cashed out just to buy another hole?

Or they're expect you to down-grade or reverse mortgage?

Come on, don't fall into THAT HOLE when you're old.

You're supposed to out smart them, have your hands on cash as time passes and emerge a winner at 55.

Or you're one that will think only when you are on the other side of the bridge?:D

bro raider,

unless u die die need $$ or die die wont come back, then sell the flat. if not, just keep it for passive income. dont look down on that $500 different after paying the monthly flat instalment. That $6k a year for doing nothing and somebody else is helping in your flat instalment. btw, it not $500 but but $1000 as the money was deducted from your cpf account every month.

no need to throw ic just to get that little money from your cpf (from your age, cannot be much rite?), just leave there first lah. i know of ppl who retained their sing passport despite already having aussie citizenship. the sons even come back for NS. they keep their flat for rental and have a condo in amk where they stay while in spore.

pardon me being a kaypoh, your flat brought at what price? $200k+? why monthly instalment so high?

Care to tell us whereabouts you intend to migrate to? ASEAN, Hong Kong, China, or US, OZ or Canada, etc? How do you plan getting PR in that country?

The current plan is to study. So I need more cash. Even though I know I can work when I'm there on student pass, but its always safer to have more money. Australia or Canada

What you say is true.......but its a also fact you CAN make money from HDB flats......many have done it........but not anymore i guess.....not with all the rules and regulations aimed to lock up even your cash profits.......

My parents, siblings and myself have all profited from HDB........be it new or resale flats......used the money for other purposes....now we dun need to stay HDB anymore :D

There were big and small profits.....depending how you looked at it but ROI is pretty good......maximize and work within what is ENTITLED to us as singapore citizens.....take up HDB loans, apply for new flats, grants, children priority etc etc.....

Having said that......i am not the least thankful to the pappies because like you said my CPF monies is still not returned to me......i am now finding ways to cash out my CPF.

You 'lose' money the moment you brought the pigeon hole to stay and happy that Con People Fund pays you 2% interest capped at 20k or so and you go on pay Hole Damned Badass the money for mortgage, hoping that you can make more as years go by.

It's paper gain and more over you're caught at the end of the road by both Con People Fund and Hole Damed Badass in whatever you intend to do after you have sold it but to buy another one!

You're losing money with time and letting others use your money to make alot of money for themselves.

The thing about Sinkie is that hey tend to believe in things they think they see and hear and won't be bothered about things that they don't know.

Blame ST or media or blame the conditioning? I don't know.

IT"S YOUR MONEY we're talking about here.

And what do you think ,whether if you have a cash or liquidity after you cashed out just to buy another hole?

Or they're expect you to down-grade or reverse mortgage?

Come on, don't fall into THAT HOLE when you're old.

You're supposed to out smart them, have your hands on cash as time passes and emerge a winner at 55.

Or you're one that will think only when you are on the other side of the bridge?:D

bro raider. they keep their flat for rental and have a condo in amk where they stay while in spore.

pardon me being a kaypoh, your flat brought at what price? $200k+? why monthly instalment so high?

I bought mine last year. Because my wife has no pr, which means no cpf savings, therefore I had to take a bigger loan :o

Cash profits now have to be locked up???

If you buy another flat.....they need you to plonked down 50% of your profits into ynext flat our new flat or something like that. If you apply for another new flat you need to pay a 5 figure levy depending on flat type......

bro, u took the grant then how can sell now? 5 years wait right?

Yeah. Time flies very fast one. In the meantime if I'm overseas and can't sell, rent it out first. When it reaches 5 years, I will most probably sell if I can get between 50-100k

If need lump sum for your runroad adventure, sell (but not recommended). If no need the lump sum, rent out. As long as after deducting the expense, and still profitable, why not?

The income from pigeonhole rentals is the best one can ever have cos' it's the only way for peasants to take back their cpf money legally (indirect way of screwing pappies).

Known all this time that owned HDB homes are rentals paid in advance, CPF is interest free financing, the constitution is a joke, the pledge is an "aspiration", our rights are nothing to crow about, NS is free slavery, newspapers are propaganda machines, police - obedient dogs, civil service are subservient serpents, PAP MPs are back door kucing kurap, Ministars are no stars, the PM is a disgrace, the old man has gone bonkers.... !

If need lump sum for your runroad adventure, sell (but not recommended). If no need the lump sum, rent out. As long as after deducting the expense, and still profitable, why not?

The income from pigeonhole rentals is the best one can ever have cos' it's the only way for peasants to take back their cpf money legally (indirect way of screwing pappies).

Since he cannot sell it now as he took a grant, no point talking about selling until 5 years has passed. The only think he can do is rent. Then again he says his wife has asked him to go ahead first and she will joined him after he obtained his PR. I am somewhat confused here.

Yes 4 - 5 years down the road is not a long time, yet many things can happen no one can foretell. Just go ahead and get your PR and think about what to do with the flat when the time has passed.

Known all this time that owned HDB homes are rentals paid in advance, CPF is interest free financing, the constitution is a joke, the pledge is an "aspiration", our rights are nothing to crow about, NS is free slavery, newspapers are propaganda machines, police - obedient dogs, civil service are subservient serpents, PAP MPs are back door kucing kurap, Ministars are no stars, the PM is a disgrace, the old man has gone bonkers.... !

Agree with all except I don't understand how is 'cpf interest free financing'?

Since he cannot sell it now as he took a grant, no point talking about selling until 5 years has passed. The only think he can do is rent. Then again he says his wife has asked him to go ahead first and she will joined him after he obtained his PR. I am somewhat confused here.

Yes 4 - 5 years down the road is not a long time, yet many things can happen no one can foretell. Just go ahead and get your PR and think about what to do with the flat when the time has passed.

The original plan is to find work there. My wife will stay here and continue working. Once my job stabilises, she will join me there. In the meantime when both if us are there, we will rent out the flat. Once the flat can be sold, we will either sold it if we can make a profit or rent it out if we can't.

But after some considering, we thought that studying might be better for us. But if either one if us were to study, we need a lump sum. It's not cheap to study in Aus.

The original plan is to find work there. My wife will stay here and continue working. Once my job stabilises, she will join me there. In the meantime when both if us are there, we will rent out the flat. Once the flat can be sold, we will either sold it if we can make a profit or rent it out if we can't.

But after some considering, we thought that studying might be better for us. But if either one if us were to study, we need a lump sum. It's not cheap to study in Aus.

ROI on tertiary education is definitely far better than on investment in property.

go for it.

There are rules to pigeon hole being rented out if one were to profit from it by renting out.

Methink is if you took grant you need to pass 10 years residing it ( or owning it) or else hole must be fully paid up then can 'legally' rent out..

If no grant, I think is just 2.5 or 5 years.

I not so sure but pigeon holes got alot of chow kuan rules that hinder it from being rent out. But the good thing is, they can command a 'good' rental price and have a high demand becos it lies between the price range of a condo and a low range housing.

For renting out, it attracts a niche of clients which are plentiful becos these are middle range income earners.

The market now has a lower transaction of resale . Methink it's not due primarily to high COV becos these resale are in matured location but becos many Sinkie are holding onto them.

These Sinkie can of course now use these resale holes like a Golden goose or they can sell it, if they wish.

I can tell you, to rent out a hole it probably would take 1 month at most some even just days but for condo, it could last for months.

So if you were to ask me, which has a better rate of return?

Even a moron who only can count to ten can tell you of course, it's a pigeon hole. :D

ROI on tertiary education is definitely far better than on investment in property.

go for it.

Are you sure?

There are alot, I mean alot of Master degree holders..

Hanging around.

I mean just hanging around.

If you know what I mean. LOL

If buy using CPF then just buy HDB. Since you cannot withdraw the money.
If cash then invest somewhere else and make a study example which stock is stable and have good return.