• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pundeknadu News #028 - Employers Turning to DPs & LTVPs for Work in S'pore?

http://www.guidemesingapore.com/relocation/work-pass/singapore-dependant-pass-guide

A Singapore Dependant Pass (DP) is a family relocation visa issued to spouse and unmarried children (below 21 years) of foreign employees holding a work pass of the type that is an Employment Pass or Entrepreneur Pass. A separate DP application must be filed for each eligible family member.

A Dependant Pass holder’s status in Singapore is tied to the status of the work pass holder. As long as the work pass holder is gainfully employed in Singapore, the DP holder is eligible to live in the country as well as leave and enter Singapore freely without having to apply for a Singapore visa every time.

Who can apply?

Spouse and unmarried children below 21 years age (including legally adopted) of work visa holders (Employment Pass, EntrePass, PEP, or S pass holders earning at least $4,000 a month) are eligible to apply for Dependent Pass visa. If an Employment Pass holder’s baby is born in Singapore, the parent will receive a letter from the hospital. This letter should be submitted to the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority, which will issue the baby with a Social Visit Pass valid for 42 days. Within this time, the Employment Pass holder must apply for the baby’s Dependant’s Pass.

While the Fiancée of an Employment Pass holder is not eligible to apply for a Dependant Pass, the Fiancée is usually eligible to apply for a Long-Term Social Visit Pass (LTSVP) subject to certain conditions.

Can dependent pass holders work in Singapore?

You are allowed to work in Singapore as a DP holder (except if the EP holder is an S pass holder) as long as your potential employer is willing to apply for a Letter of Consent (LOC) that requires approval from authorities. The employer should complete the Letter of Consent Application Form and submit to authorities. It takes about 2-3 weeks to receive an outcome from authorities. The Letter of Consent expires at the same time as your Dependant Pass; therefore you should renew the LOC whenever your DP is renewed.

indian_family_22_oct_2003.JPG

WHOLE VILLAGE

Spouse and unmarried children below 21 years age (including legally adopted) of work visa holders (Employment Pass, EntrePass, PEP, or S pass holders earning at least $4,000 a month) are eligible to apply for Dependent Pass visa.

You are allowed to work in Singapore as a DP holder (except if the EP holder is an S pass holder) as long as your potential employer is willing to apply for a Letter of Consent (LOC) that requires approval from authorities. The employer should complete the Letter of Consent Application Form and submit to authorities. It takes about 2-3 weeks to receive an outcome from authorities. The Letter of Consent expires at the same time as your Dependant Pass; therefore you should renew the LOC whenever your DP is renewed.

What is the use of dependent pass for MOM ? They cannot collect levy from the company. The whole employment system is really screwed. foreign workers using all sort of loop hole to find work in Singapore.

Sooner or later, dependent pass holder scheme will be scrap.

What is the use of dependent pass for MOM ? They cannot collect levy from the company. The whole employment system is really screwed. foreign workers using all sort of loop hole to find work in Singapore.

Sooner or later, dependent pass holder scheme will be scrap.

The Employment Act, Fair Employment and their Gudielines have loop holes that are now exploited as they dont cover the DPs and LTVPs adequately.

Employers are now tapping into these labour pool as they dont have to pay levy or affect dependency ratio somemore....

http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpo...ployment-of-long-term-visit-pass-holders.aspx

Long Term Visit Pass (LTVP) holders who wish to work in Singapore and have found prospective employers will need work passes to do so. Applications for work passes (Employment Passes, S Passes or Work Permits) must be made by the prospective employer to Ministry of Manpower. Each application would be assessed on its own merits. However, these LTVP holders are not allowed to work in objectionable occupations such as dance hostesses, masseurs, etc.

Applications for an Employment Pass or S Pass will be assessed based on prevailing criteria (i.e. educational qualifications, salary, occupation, and experience).

Applications for a Work Permit (WP) will depend on the LTVP holder's relationship to their sponsor:

•If they are a parent/parent-in-law of the sponsor, they must be from an approved source country and meet the prospective
company's dependency quota. The foreign worker levy will apply.

If they are a spouse or unmarried child of the sponsor, there is no need for foreign worker levy to be paid. Their employment will not be counted towards the company's dependency quota. They do not need to be from an approved source country.

The Employment Act, Fair Employment and their Gudielines have loop holes that are now exploited by employers as they dont cover the DPs and LTVPs adequately.

Where is the loop holes if it was intended to be like that.

The Employment Act, Fair Employment and their Gudielines have loop holes that are now exploited by employers as they dont cover the DPs and LTVPs adequately.

Easy problem to solve, just banned holders of DPs and LTVPs from working. Put it as their visa requirement. I heard in Pommie land, Foreign students are not allowed to work,,,they are just there to study and that is it.

INDIA CECA FTA with SPORE
http://www.commerce.nic.in/ceca/toc.htm

ARTICLE 9.6: EMPLOYMENT OF SPOUSES AND DEPENDANTS

For natural persons of a Party who have been granted the right to long term temporary entry and have been allowed to bring in their spouses or dependants, a Party shall, upon application, grant the accompanying spouses or dependants of the other Party the right to work as managers, executives or specialists (as defined in paragraphs 2(f)(i) to (iii) of Article 9.2), subject to its relevant licensing, administrative and registration requirements. Such spouses or dependants can apply independently in their own capacity (and not necessarily as accompanying spouses or dependants) and shall not be barred by the Party granting them the right to work from taking up employment in a category other than that of managers, executives, or specialists solely on the ground that they as the accompanying spouses or dependants are already employed in its territory as managers, executives or specialists.

Comments: This is a BIG loophole that I see, which I think is clearly not in favour of S'pore, and to S'poreans. We should rectify this with the Indian mamas.

This allows them to bring in their 'whole kampong', grandpa, grandma, wives, kids, etc, on Dependent Pass and allowing them to temp stay, study work in S'pore. Technically, they are the dependents of the EP, and not as economic contributors. If they have no economic reasons (and criterias should be set to gauge them) to be in S'pore, they should not be here in the first place, as they are eating into our resources (eg: overcrowding our trains, housing and parks).

They should not be entitled to work, and if they do as allowed in the current agreement, they should be levied taxes and workman levies and dependency ratios for firms should be applied to them too; as this is income derived in S'pore.

Sinkie land is really sinking. FTs in sinkie land abuse the DP + LTVP to bring family members and others disguised as family members to enter SG. These dependants then take up jobs and the locals become jobless. These FTs see SG as first class refugee camp; good living, good amenities, good medical services which their own countries cannot offer. PAP Govt floods sinkie land with FT and their dependants and this flooding hurts the natives badly.

If a FT is here to work, he is here to work, period. Why should local tax payers support his horde of family members too? Scrap DP and LTVP. If FT needs his family members with him, send him back to his home country and he can remain with them 24/7.

Easy problem to solve, just banned holders of DPs and LTVPs from working. Put it as their visa requirement. I heard in Pommie land, Foreign students are not allowed to work,,,they are just there to study and that is it.

No lah, don't ban. Make money off them. Each DP applying for a working permit will be required to pay an application fee of $10k. If they are successful, they will have need to pay 30 percent of their salary to the country. Funds collected will be used for sinkee workers welfare.
By the way, we need to increase minimum salary for employment pass to $30k.

No lah, don't ban. Make money off them. Each DP applying for a working permit will be required to pay an application fee of $10k. If they are successful, they will have need to pay 30 percent of their salary to the country. Funds collected will be used for sinkee workers welfare.
By the way, we need to increase minimum salary for employment pass to $30k.

Dear Mr Tan CJ / MOM

1. Are companies circumventing the MOM regulations and requirments for EPs and QPs by now shifting to DPs and LTVPs? http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search;_...p+ltvp&toggle=1&cop=mss&ei=UTF-8&fr=yfp-t-712

2. There is no CPF, no income tax, no dependency ratios by employing DPs and LTVPs. As job adverts imply, employers are now seemed to be quickly exploiting this loophole.

3. DPs and LTVPs should be seen as accompanying spouses and family for temporary stay and family support but not as an immigration and employment means.

4. Also, does the no. of DPs and LTVPs issued depend on the EP's and QP's income and vocation? eg: 1 EP, $3k salary, but bringing in wife, parents and kids? Is this sustainable? What are the exact criterias?

5. Hope that these 'grey areas' can be lookied into and be improved.

So the buck stops with the MOM..if MOM dont issue the LOC the whole village come here also cannot find work,.,,that is the problem...if Employers know that LOC will not be issued they will stop interviewing DP and LTVPs as its a dead end. If MOM is serious about stopping the influx such measures can be implemented under the purview of the ministar. It just shows the ministar is not doing his job.

Thru the CECA, the Indian govt thereby relies on the Sinkie govt to provide jobs for their unemployed; and as usual, the Sinkie govt gladly sells out Singaporeans and their children's future.

Fucking shit! We are even paying our govt to work for India!

http://www.commerce.nic.in/ceca/ch9.pdf

CECA WITH INDIA

Chapter 9

BIG loophole that the Indians are exploiting as a immigration means. This explains the sudden jump in Indian immigrants lately, and setting up of Indian international schools, etc.

3. Neither Party shall require labour market testing, economic needs testing or other procedures of similar effects as a condition for temporary entry in respect of natural persons upon whom the benefits of this Chapter are conferred.

ARTICLE 9.6: EMPLOYMENT OF SPOUSES AND DEPENDANTS
For natural persons of a Party who have been granted the right to long term temporary entry and have been allowed to bring in their spouses or dependants, a Party shall, upon application, grant the accompanying spouses or dependants of the other Party the right to work as managers, executives or specialists (as defined in paragraphs 2(f)(i) to (iii) of Article 9.2), subject to its relevant licensing, administrative and registration requirements. Such spouses or dependants can apply independently in their own capacity (and not necessarily as accompanying spouses or dependants) and shall not be barred by the Party granting them the right to work from taking up employment in a category other than that of managers, executives, or specialists solely on the ground that they as the accompanying spouses or dependants are already employed in its territory as managers, executives or specialists.

BIG QUESTION: If no economic or skills testing in the first place for the original EP and QP, then how can we be assured that the spouses (DPs and LTVPs) are 'equally qualified' or employed back in their own country?

A well known fact that more than half of the Indians CVs and certs are fake....it is as good as there is no checks at all!

The EPs and QPs are supposed to be sent by Indian companies who invest in Spore here.

While the spouses and children can stay temp in S'pore, SHOULD they be allowed to work here?

Also, if the EPs and QPs cant bear to leave their families, then why come and work?

Lastly, these people are not entitled to social benefits for S'poreans at all; but if they have no economic means, we will end up support them.

Our Spore Indian bro is so right in the vid below:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/AN4rYgEY8ns?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Why you all come here? Why you all come here? Go back. Go to India. I'm chasing away the Indians! I don't like the sight, the way they talk and their behavior. They so low class like that.

Never respect S'pore indians? Never respect these people and that people? See look at them! In India eat also cannot eat know? Then he come here and work like that. How can he come here and work like that? In India they cannot even eat rice also you know. You see anot? Come here and talk so big like that.

And then I'm a local here you know. I cannot stand also. Then we have to feed these Indians. Not respecting the laws you know, you agree or not? I telling you the truth know. We have to look after them, we have to feed them, we have to give them everything.