• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Public transport is significantly subsidized? My foot!!

PAP nowadays very very stupid.....................

if subsidized.....................then how they can have profit ???

and yet they always announce very high profit figures !

Then when they want to increase public transport, they will compare it with other countries and claim that ours is cheaper.

Come to compare with other counties then compare ministers salaries first lah!
Knn white scums kong lanjiaowei!

Does you know I can buy a S$100 monthy transport pass and travel freely in all modes of public transportation within an area that is twice the size of Singapore, in a european country.

You can provided, u pay taxes twice ours.

I think there is some confusion here. Subsidy is probably on the infrastructure, the tunneling, road works, cost of trains etc. Operating costs however, may not be, that that is charged by the bus and train operators.

The only way $$ comes in to pay for all the trains/buses/infrastructure is through taxes. No magic. The $1-$2 train ride is not going to cover the costs.

You can provided, u pay taxes twice ours.

Singapore has a total land area of 778 km²

Sydney has an area of 12,144.6 km²

Geographically, Sydney is much larger in square meter than Singapore.

In Singapore you pay S$2040 a year for a SG EZ-link Season pass. It gives you unlimited bus rides everyday BUT only FOUR train rides a day throughout the year.

http://www.ezlink.com.sg/services/season-pass/

In Sydney, you pay A$2311 for a MyMulti3 ticket. It gives you get unlimited rides in any bus, llight rail, rail, ferry throughout the whole year.

http://www.131500.com.au/tickets/fares/fares

Which gives you more value?? Do you find Australian politicians crowing about the significantly subsidize?

As for taxes, please read here:

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....cessful-Singles-Couples&p=1186140#post1186140

and

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?125431-My-Friend-Jocelyn&p=1189787#post1189787

Don't be fooled by 超级白's claim that Singapore have low tax. The "tax" you pay in Singapore is far more, much more, relative to your end take home dollar. This is because 超级白 has been very effective in most suppressing wages other than their own. Add this to the super super high indirect tax if you are affected and you will come to realise that Singapore low tax is a misnomer.

Davetan3, don't be a daft okay?

I think there is some confusion here. Subsidy is probably on the infrastructure, the tunneling, road works, cost of trains etc. Operating costs however, may not be, that that is charged by the bus and train operators.

The only way $$ comes in to pay for all the trains/buses/infrastructure is through taxes. No magic. The $1-$2 train ride is not going to cover the costs.

This is really a joke. Are you telling me that if the government were to build a new school, the kids of that school will have to pay more than other kids? What rubbish!!

Hey, what happened to the massive surpluses the 超级白 collected over those years???

Tell me what happened??

Does Celia Lim know how much is public transport in other countries?

well i know.
in india , nepal it is very the chip.
:D:D:D:D:D

$6k taxi driver income
$5k personal driver
$3k dishwasher
$16K MP
$100K ministar

now do you know which is fictitious and which is real ?
:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Hey TracyTan, think you did not complete your sentence.

Let me complete it for you:

The pap is subsidising SBS and SMRT for them to make more money for themselves.

you passed the primary 3 english test.

next level .
complete this sentences :
the left hand give and the right hand ______.
[1] receive [2] take [3] reject [4]slap

dO yOu knOw what is subsidy ah ???
Do YoU KNoW WHAT IS THE FUNCTION oF A GoVERNMENT AH ?

gov job is to build infra , provide utilities , maintain law and order.
how ah ?
by COLLECTING TAX. gov do not do business and use the profit to do the above.
so how can it be called subsidy if it is using citizens' tax .
but then sillypore is unique. and sillyporeans are world lumpar one in being dumb.

2 issues here. One is to compare with other countries. The other is to look at SG itself.
Looking at SG or any country by itself, more subsidy = more taxes. Simple. If not today, then the next generation.

Comparison with other countries is another issue. Why not Brunei, everything free or Qatar.
As a family, if we want a condo, we got to save up and buy it.
If we compare why my family HDB and other families got condo, it is a different matter.

For countries, given that SG got no natural resources, one could emigrate to an oil rich country like Brunei or resource rich like Australia.
There is no comparison in Taxes, Lifestyle, and what not.

But as a family, you cant just "emigrate" and join another family because the life there is better.

It depends whether we treat SG as a "family" where we belong or just another country and lets live in the country that gives us the best benefits.

Singapore has a total land area of 778 km²

Sydney has an area of 12,144.6 km²

Geographically, Sydney is much larger in square meter than Singapore.

In Singapore you pay S$2040 a year for a SG EZ-link Season pass. It gives you unlimited bus rides everyday BUT only FOUR train rides a day throughout the year.

http://www.ezlink.com.sg/services/season-pass/

In Sydney, you pay A$2311 for a MyMulti3 ticket. It gives you get unlimited rides in any bus, llight rail, rail, ferry throughout the whole year.

http://www.131500.com.au/tickets/fares/fares

Which gives you more value?? Do you find Australian politicians crowing about the significantly subsidize?

As for taxes, please read here:

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....cessful-Singles-Couples&p=1186140#post1186140

and

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?125431-My-Friend-Jocelyn&p=1189787#post1189787

Don't be fooled by 超级白's claim that Singapore have low tax. The "tax" you pay in Singapore is far more, much more, relative to your end take home dollar. This is because 超级白 has been very effective in most suppressing wages other than their own. Add this to the super super high indirect tax if you are affected and you will come to realise that Singapore low tax is a misnomer.

Davetan3, don't be a daft okay?

No lah, if new school, someone has to pay for it. These are funded through taxes for all countries in the world, unless of course they have abundant natural resources like oil, gold etc.

This is really a joke. Are you telling me that if the government were to build a new school, the kids of that school will have to pay more than other kids? What rubbish!!

Hey, what happened to the massive surpluses the 超级白 collected over those years???

Tell me what happened??

2 issues here. One is to compare with other countries. The other is to look at SG itself.
Looking at SG or any country by itself, more subsidy = more taxes. Simple. If not today, then the next generation.

Stop talking rubbish. More subsidy need not equal to more taxes. See my post belo to you which you avoid altogether.

Tell me what happened??

For countries, given that SG got no natural resources, one could emigrate to an oil rich country like Brunei or resource rich like Australia.

Another rubbish from you. Singapore has no natural resources?

Singapore has a natural deep harbour port in a very strategic location itself is a natural resource.

Besides this natural resource, Singapore benefitted from the events of the world. The Korean War [the rubber boom] & the Vietnam War [replacing the British pull out] are just two examples which benefitted Singapore tremendously. Events such as HongKong 1997, the happenings at the Tien Anmen square, the changes in Indonesia's political landscape benefitted Singapore in many ways too. More recently, the clamp down in Swiss private banks helped.

Singapore has it fair share of good fortune if you want to compare.

No lah, if new school, someone has to pay for it. These are funded through taxes for all countries in the world, unless of course they have abundant natural resources like oil, gold etc.

See above and stop parroting the official lines - you are really daft indeed.

A cleaner Auntie at my office spends $6 daily on transport each time she commutes from her home at Bukit Merah to Gul Rd..

She works 6 days a week from Monday to Saturday.. So in a week she spends $36 for when taking public tranports to go to work..

In a month that would cost her more than $100..

Her cleaner's pay is only $650 after CPF reductions.. At times she'll just eat Kaya Bun and drink instant coffee from my office's pantry.. Sometimes me and other colleague will buy a meal to bring back to the office for her each time we're out for lunch..

Fuckin PAP scums.. No pay rise for these kind of lower paid workers, but they'll still leech money from these poor souls..

SBS, SMRT make millions of profit every year out of these poor Sporeans who like it or not have to take these transport services to reach to their workplaces..

It depends whether we treat SG as a "family" where we belong or just another country and lets live in the country that gives us the best benefits.

You should ask those PAP Scums whether they treat Sporeans as a '' Family '' or whether they're just using Sporeans to make them and their lackeys more rich year after year..