PRs cashing out their HDB flats!

WHILE house-hunting in the HDB resale market recently, I came across a number of permanent residents (PRs) who were selling their flats as they were returning to their home countries or emigrating to other countries.

A few property agents have told me they are seeing more PRs doing so. This brings me to question the true intent of some PRs when they buy HDB flats.

Clearly, they stand to make hefty capital gains from selling their flats. Some become "instant millionaires" when they return home, especially to developing countries, after working in Singapore for several years.

Although one can argue that Singaporeans also benefit from capital gains when they sell their flats, the benefit is marginal or non-existent if they choose to buy a similar type of flat, upgrade to a bigger flat, or buy private property here.

When the HDB first allowed PRs to buy public housing, the premise was to assist them in sinking their roots here and bring them one step closer to becoming citizens. Clearly, this is not the case for all PRs.

Some curbs on PRs purchasing HDB flats are in order.

The authorities could consider requiring PRs to sell back their flats only to the HDB based on the price they paid for the units. This will help to root out any opportunistic intentions on the part of some PRs.

PRs married to Singaporeans would, of course, be exempted from the curbs.

Uncontrolled purchases of HDB flats by PRs drive up the HDB resale price index and make public housing more expensive for Singaporeans.

Any curbs to be introduced should focus on the long-term commitment of PRs to Singapore, while ensuring the housing needs of Singaporeans are met.

Edwin Lim

what is new?? they only highlight to you...your flat at "X" sells for $999,999.99 last time, it was $99,999.99 but they did not tell you that the seller, is a PR & after cashing the money, leave SINgapore or a migrating SINgapore family, pulling up roots..

"hear only the good things"...

Cost of living is getting too high for many of PRs. Anyone will tell you how much costs increase over past decade, but salaries all hanta kaki, even for expats.

.....................................When the HDB first allowed PRs to buy public housing, the premise was to assist them in sinking their roots here and bring them one step closer to becoming citizens. Clearly, this is not the case for all PRs.......................

Some PRs are more mobile than others. And what's all this nonsense about "sinking their roots here?" The world as seen by modern folks is their oyster, they'll go where they can make a better lives for themselves and their families. They are not going to settle for Char Kwey Teow.

There's nothing to stop sinkies from cashing out too. I did exactly that way back in 1994.

Some PRs are more mobile than others. And what's all this nonsense about "sinking their roots here?" The world as seen by modern folks is their oyster, they'll go where they can make a better lives for themselves and their families. They are not going to settle for Char Kwey Teow.

Only the idiot lim sway sway and the PA are hoodwinked to believe that PRs are here to stay through thick and thin.

Cost of living is getting too high for many of PRs. Anyone will tell you how much costs increase over past decade, but salaries all hanta kaki, even for expats.

And that 'cost' is certainly not limited to a monetary definition.

This comparison is not apple to apple. :oIo:

While circumstances may not be identical, the principle is the same and that is to take profit from appreciating assets.

I moved from Singapore to Perth to Sydney and then to Auckland in order to take full advantage of rising property values. If you just sit on your fat arse and don't capitalise on good fortune, you can't blame anyone else but yourself if end up stuck in a financial rut.

Auckland is now in the middle of a real estate boom while Europe is in the doldrums and the Euro is struggling. I'm therefore making plans to move to Europe within the next couple of years. If this plan doesn't work out, I'll be cashing out of Auckland and I'll move to the Hawkes Bay where property prices are half of what they are here.

The move from Singapore to Perth realised SGD1.5 million in capital appreciation.

Moving from Perth to Sydney added AUD180,000 to the coffers.

Move from Sydney to Auckland added a further NZD450,000 from a combination of capital appreciation and favourable exchange rates.

Tat might mean hdb resale prices are decreasing. This is wat singaporeans want right?

There's nothing to stop sinkies from cashing out too. I did exactly that way back in 1994.

Dummy.. You should have waited for a few more years and cash in during this Golden Period. Move to Perth then to Sydney then to NZ for what?

should impose the rule that PRs can only sell their HDBs back to HDB.

Dummy.. You should have waited for a few more years and cash in during this Golden Period. Move to Perth then to Sydney then to NZ for what?
The best post of the day. Couldn't agree more with you.

Ah Sam might as well bullshit that he bought many shanghai apartments in early 2000, all appreciated by 5 to 10 times.

I would have gained nothing financially by waiting till today before cashing in. If you factor in inflation and compound the interest on the savings, you can work that out for yourself. You have to consider present and future values.

However, I would have lost a big chunk of my life stuck in overcrowded sinkieland.

I would have gained nothing financially by waiting till today before cashing in. If you factor in inflation and compound the interest on the savings, you can work that out for yourself. You have to consider present and future values.

However, I would have lost a big chunk of my life stuck in overcrowded sinkieland.

The Oz and NZ own inflation rates in the past few years plus their ridiculous income tax rates would have kicked a dent in your savings. And since Perth was your first stop, you surely must have missed out on the resource boom in the early and mid 2000s. Poor Sam.

Singapore, on the other hand, is a risk free asset holding country (thanks to the PAP) and low tax haven. Our currency is strong unlike the other banana republics in the SEA region.

You definitely should have waited to cash out. Where's your faith in PAP?

The Oz and NZ own inflation rates in the past few years plus their ridiculous income tax rates would have kicked a dent in your savings. And since Perth was your first stop, you surely must have missed out on the resource boom in the early and mid 2000s. Poor Sam.

Singapore, on the other hand, is a risk free asset holding country (thanks to the PAP) and low tax haven. Our currency is strong unlike the other banana republics in the SEA region.

You definitely should have waited to cash out. Where's your faith in PAP?

My faith in the PAP is in the fact that I still have SGD assets but not in the form of property.

Sinkie property has had the highest yield and capital appreciation over the past 6 years. What other assets do you own? Singtel/SIA shares? Business joint venture?

True....true..... The smart money is cashing out and moving back into american property......

Only dumfuck sinkies are remaining static and hopin to double their money in a fucking property market that is likely to have seen better days,.....listen to this you dumb fucking greedy sinkies, there are no as many runaway China millionaires to be made who can or wanna stash their dirty or spare cash in sinkieland anymore.........