• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Profiteering during Haze Crisis

greenies

Dear all brothers/ sisters

Can you please share your experience and thoughts on act(s) of profiteering during recent haze crisis?

Learnt from other on-line media that some Pharmacies did sell N95 masks at high price.
If so, why did the Gov. allow such act?

As a nation and under the crisis, the Gov. should prevent such kind of profiteering, I propose.

Bastards like these will always be around to take advantage of others during these sort of periods.

As a nation and under the crisis, the Gov. should prevent such kind of profiteering, I propose.

True to form, sinkies curse and swear that the PAP govt controls their lives but when things go just slightly pear shaped, they go running to nanny Lee begging for help and asking for more rules to be put in place.

What a pathetic bunch of losers. :kma:

............As a nation and under the crisis, the Gov. should prevent such kind of profiteering, I propose.

Dear Greenie:

I may not like the PAP gahmen for certain policies in the past, however this is something you cannot fault them. I believe Sg is a country open for free-trade (mostly) and capitalistic free enterprise allows prices to be subjected to open-market forces. Each pharmacy or store is free to sell at a price the buyer agrees to pay, in the fairest case, it is set by competition. If one feels the prices are still too high, then there is an opportunity for one to start manufacturing that item and undercut the market. So, what's preventing you?

if i spotted one sinkie selling at high price at the street, i will stand beside him giving out free masks..

i want to see how much longer he can last, selling his mask, even at below cost.

Its a free economy, why are you complaining Loser!

Bastards like these will always be around to take advantage of others during these sort of periods.

If gahmen can take advantage of us, why can't these bizmen????
Gahmen screw us daily while these guys once in 50 years

well said. will add to your rep pts after limpeh up all my fan guat zai cronies. our fan guat zai pappies bigade beri powderful. who zapu, tell limpeh. together we will build a better 2molo by sarporting the pappies.

Yes, free economy for biz to flourish.
However, we are talking about national crisis, where everyone needs N95 mask, and Biz is to profit on it!!!

In normal day, let the Biz sets the prices... but, it is still controllable by policies which set supply and demand levels. Ha ha
In fact, there is no (absolute) free economy.
The Gov. policies are to control and set the supply chains and demand level.
For instance, HDB supply level is controlled and its demand is by setting population limit and many rules/ guidelines being eligible or non-eligible.

Dear Greenie:

I may not like the PAP gahmen for certain policies in the past, however this is something you cannot fault them. I believe Sg is a country open for free-trade (mostly) and capitalistic free enterprise allows prices to be subjected to open-market forces. Each pharmacy or store is free to sell at a price the buyer agrees to pay, in the fairest case, it is set by competition. If one feels the prices are still too high, then there is an opportunity for one to start manufacturing that item and undercut the market. So, what's preventing you?

Dear Brother

Please see my reply #11 on free economy and its supply/ demand level.
Think about it... how could the policies make the free economy in control.

Dear all brothers/ sisters

Can you please share your experience and thoughts on act(s) of profiteering during recent haze crisis?

Learnt from other on-line media that some Pharmacies did sell N95 masks at high price.
If so, why did the Gov. allow such act?

e
CUNT which operates CUNITY is definitely in the lead. and imbeciles still ve to pay membership fees to be profiteered. what kinda logic is this?

if the sinkie profiteers didn't do it then the Jews would have taken over the job.

N95 today Shitty Times paper advertised for 90cents each.

This is to stop Profiteer!

N95 today Shitty Times paper advertised for 90cents each.

This is to stop Profiteer!

Great!
But, the act is a little bit late as many reports in the past during haze crisis show profiteering by some retailers, selling at $2.5 per piece.
One reported was NTUC Unity?

Singaporeans by and large are suckers as consumers, crisis or no crisis. The herd mentality is very strong here and Singapore consumers will rush to purchase when they perceive shortage even when they do not need the product. Just look at the ridiculous behaviour during the Hello Kitty craze. Same with the N95 mask. Did everyone really need an N95 mask so urgently from June 19 to 22, not to mention buying in big quantities? If one really needs an N95 mask so badly, is a price difference of $0.50-1.00 per piece a real cause for complaint when people have no qualms in say, paying $2 for a Breadtalk pork floss bun as a matter of routine? Tell me, if one really needs the N95 mask, which is a better value commodity - the mask at say $3 or the pork floss bun at $2?

Dear Brother

Please see my reply #11 on free economy and its supply/ demand level.
Think about it... how could the policies make the free economy in control.

Fren, I fully agree with your social inclination in case of a crisis. In the case of the haze at it's peak last week, I still wouldn't consider that a crisis though. People can choose to stay indoors, and I don't think there were any reports of people collapsing while walking around. I'd rate it as yellow alert, Red alert would be crisis, in which case, your citizen army should be the one going about handing out N95 masks to the people out there.

Off the main topic, in Singapore, demand and supply for many things are regulated. Cars, lodging, and to a certain extent, petrol (the three-quarter tank rule) are tuned by the gahmen. However, the society has come to accept that as normal, and to many, even necessary.