• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

President rejects clemency petition for Yong Vui Kong

Does President nathan has a family? Does he really care about other people happiness and the precious of human life that make a family complete. I wouldn't want an evil person to be my president. Anyway how many people regarded him as our elected president?

He knows the penalty for the trafficking is the death , why did he want to take .
China was known as the " sickmen of the east" becos of the scourge of opium.
When china refused to open her ports to the ang mos for the importation of opium, the brits declared war resulting in the numerous opium wars. Hong Kong and Macau were ceded to the ang mos. Do you remember the Bruce Lee show 精武门 , at one of the parks , there was a sign "Dogs and Chinese are not allowed into the Park“

Times have not changed much, it is now, "Dogs and SINkingporeans is aloowed not allowed into the caSINoeS".

Difference is, this not Shanghai bund....and this is not another Bruce LEE movies, this is LEEgapore....:biggrin:

japarmy

Should China blame the Ang Moh's for opium? Should the Americans blame the Mexicans for cocaine, marijuana, and meth? I wonder. Mexico sells over $US50 billion in drugs to the US. Are the Mexicans (an oppressed people in the US) forcing drugs down the Americans' throats - I think not. I think the drug users are the problem. Dinesh Bhatia should have been hung by the neck until dead. Let's play fair.

motuiti

It's heartening to read some sympathetic postings against the death penalty. I have always maintained that hanging drug mules will not solve the problem of drug trafficking. The fact that Singapore hangs so many people every year is proof that the death penalty does not work.

There will never be a shortage of desperate people who will risk their lives for a couple of thousand dollars. Hanging these people will not stop the flow of drugs because others will always rise up to take their place.

There must be a more concerted effort to eradicate the problem. Inter-governmental projects to destroy the poppy fields is what is needed. With satellite technology and UAV's this should not be a problem. The question is: Are the governments willing to do this?

the most highly paid cho bal lan politican in the world reject petition and choose to kill poor people.

singapore law on drug need to be rewritten, because killing the poor people does not solve the drug problem.

Queen Seok Duk

Did Ravi highlight to the President why "he is there" ? He doesn't know why he is here, so I don't he is ready to grant clemency.

theblackhole

it'll be a good compassionate gesture if our president can issue a pardon...it'll be one great and bright spark for officious singapore....

let us show to the world that we do have a soft heart......

cowbellc

A nineteen year old is fully capable of understanding the consequences of his actions.

He also should be fully aware that drugs can ruin the lives of those even younger than himself.

He did the crime. He should face the consequences like a man.

Totally agreed.
19 years old is no different from 35 when crime is commited.

theblackhole

Totally agreed.
19 years old is no different from 35 when crime is commited.

if the 19 year old is your son, your brother or your good friend, would you say the same thing?

compassion has nothing to do with right or wrong...it's just being compassionate to all living things.....you don't have to justify anything or clarify anything...just forgive unconditionally and save a human life...that's being compassionate...

don't you want to save your loved one from the gallows? don't you want to save a life? a human being?

be compassionate...that's it. no need to explain anything....

myo539

this is a chance to show how compassionate we can be...but sad...he was only 19!....i hope heaven will redeem him.

You think a 19- year old man is still sucking his mother's milk??? In Singapore, 19 year old men are taught how to protect the country and to kill if necessary in doing so.

This drug trafficker knows full well the laws of Malaysia and Singapore. He took the gamble and lost - he should be sentenced to death immediately.

japarmy

With the US allowing opium to be grown in Afghanistan, and now even marijuana, how can governments claim they are fighting the drug trade. The first question is "why is there a war in Afganistan, at all?"

The second is why does the US permit the drug Afganistan's drug trade to flourish?

The third question is, why does Singapore allow major drug traffickers such as Steven Law, and his wife (who has close connections with the PAP) to base their operations in Singapore?

And then there is Helen Yeo's sister, Juliana Tan (and her drug lord husband, and her ex-boyfriend, Dan de Mirmont traveling between Afghanistan and Morocco, and of course, Yeo Cheow Tong working for the Riadys (convicted criminals in the US).

I wrote about this in my blog at http://johnharding.com/2010/01/18/singapore-%e2%80%93-hotbed-of-terrorists-arms-traffickers-and-drug-lords/.

sadfcuk

it'll be a good compassionate gesture if our president can issue a pardon...it'll be one great and bright spark for officious singapore....

let us show to the world that we do have a soft heart......

The day that happens will be when pigs can fly.

If the President pardons this one, the families of those who were executed in the past for such drug crimes will all ask their lawyers to flip open the case files again to ask for appeal for monetary compensation of their loved ones.

It will be akin to opening a can of worms.

So, no pardon whatsoever. It will stay this way; it will stay this way forever.

theblackhole

yah lah opening a can of worms lah...blah..blah..blah....

compassion is just what it is : compassion...

no need to justify or explain..

if you are not compassionate...there's no need to be lah..

so RIP....

Jabba

you can take up arms and protect your country when you are 18 so you can jolly well eat rope too when you are 18...but you have to wait till 21 to watch tits on the big screen...

UseYourBrain

Death is the process where the soul discard its physical body. For Singaporean death means, No more ERP, no more high HDB houses, no more packed train and buses and no more CPF and income tax to be paid to Govt. Isn't this what Sinkies always wanted?

knightriderz

i tot e president has to act on e advice of e cabinet w regard to clemency petitions? if so, can he rly go against e cabinet n say, 'No, i die die dun wan hang dis bugger?'

fukyuman

What a coincidence. This morning I had a dream. There were 11 prisoners to be hanged but the gallows can only hang six at one time. 0600 hrs is fast approaching and I need to select the first half to be hanged. No time to waste. I drew the first 5 and present their names to the warder. They are the easy ones, prisoners with no relations, no loved ones. The other six will have a few minutes more to live. I fled, trying to plug my ears of hearing their marching footsteps towards their doom. No matter how far I ran, the sounds of their footsteps followed me.

Their deaths will be fast at the hands of the experienced executioner. His eyes has a distant stare as he receives his prisoner, focusing entirely on his task. His assistant pinion the arms while he loop the noose which is specially imported from UK, threaded through a metal eye. Tug it tight, step back and pull the trap door lever. The sound of the neck bones snapping tells him the execution was perfectly executed. The head should not be decapitated by the body weight unlike the amateurish jobs of the Iraqis when Saddam henchmen were hanged.

But this is Asia and Chinese prisoners shits at the thought of horse and cow face guards escorting them to Hades. They wailed, kicking, shrieking and had to be dragged. Anthony Ler was one such case, same as Mimi Wong. They died fighting unlike Adrian Lim, or Pulau Senang's prisoners as they march and sang triad songs. Few warders are needed to prop the wretched man up so the noose can be slipped over. Safety belts are worn to avoid falling together and breaking their legs. How they wish these prisoners can be sedated full of drugs like those about to be beheaded in Saudi Arabia. Hota does not allow that in any case.

The team are given unrecorded leave. Best is to go swimming at the public pool, up and down its length to wash the subconscious guilt, dreading the wheel of karma. Will it be quick? An instant heart attack or pain and agony of cancer? The old man does not care anyway. His sins has already visited his children and grandchildren.

Maverick01

Actually, my 15th and a half.:biggrin:

Prasident Sir,
Your fat stomach showed that you are well into your 20th putu mayam and prata....May we all know when you will start on your bestseller "The prata years - tips to make the most solid crispy pratas" ? We all dying to read that book and not some semen book pls sir.