PRC New Shitizen (On Free Scholarship?): My Motherland is China!

http://www.zaobao.com/yl/yl090923_001.shtml

以我个人而言,我十七岁就来到新加坡,在这里读大学、工作、定居……十四年过去,我始终明白,我是个中国人。这个认同感是文化意义上的,非关政治、意识形态和环境优劣。我对新加坡也有很深的感情,我欣赏这里的政府和人民。这里有更好的环境,有公平的人才选拔机制,有更健全的制度和清廉的政府,有发达的公共设施和服务体制……我喜欢生活在这里更甚于生活在我的祖国,我想每个选择定居此地的新移民都无需否认这一点。可尽管我从不刻意抵制改变身份认同,但当我想到我的身份,我自然而然就会认定我是中国人。一个人的出生地,就像他的母体,两者之间有难以割裂的文化和地域血缘。既然无法改变,我们不如去尊重这种情感。

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>LauZoeTay <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Sep-22 8:14 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(15 of 21) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>21409.15 in reply to 21409.14 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>ÎÒÊ®ÆßËê¾ÍÀ´µ½ÐÂ¼ÓÆÂ£¬ÔÚÕâÀï¶Á´óѧ¡¢¹¤×÷¡¢¶¨¾Ó¡&shy;¡&shy;Ê®ËÄÄê¹ýÈ¥£¬ÎÒʼÖÕÃ÷°×£¬ÎÒÊǸöÖйúÈË¡£
Following the article at LianHe ZaoBao, this line was written.. I came to singapore when i was 17 years old, i studied here, worked here, and as stayed here...... after 14 years, i still understand, i am a PRC (i am zhong-guo-ren).

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle>Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Ask any chinky sinkie and they'll say the same thing... "I'm Chinese". translated into Mandarin it's "Wo shi zhong-guo-ren".

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgbfr1" width="1%"></td><td><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td rowspan="3" style="vertical-align: top;">
</td><td height="8"></td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">s written.. I came to singapore when i was 17 years old, i studied here, worked here, and as stayed here...... after 14 years, i still understand, i am a PRC (i am zhong-guo-ren).

</td></tr><tr><td></td></tr></tbody></table>

Ask any chinky sinkie and they'll say the same thing... "I'm Chinese". translated into Mandarin it's "Wo shi zhong-guo-ren".

wo ye si zhong guo ren, wo mu chin, mu guo si, zhong guo...zhong guo si wo men, mu guo...

ZHONG GUO WEI DA.!... heh heh heh...we are SIN ga pour..SINgaporeans..you bet!

salah lah. Your chinese no good. Zhong Guo Ren = Chinaman. Hua Ren = Chinese.

Singaporean Chinese will use the term huaren not zhongguoren.

我是新加坡人!

无论我住在那里, 我还是新加坡人!

我不是中国人! 因为我没有中国护照!

我只有新加坡护照!

不过我可以肯定我是百分之百的华人,你们说的炎黄子孙! 哈哈!

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/VwEm3oxIOwk&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VwEm3oxIOwk&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

以我个人而言,我十七岁就来到新加坡,在这里读大学、工作、定居……十四年过去,我始终明白,我是个中国人。这个认同感是文化意义上的,非关政治、意识形态和环境优劣。我对新加坡也有很深的感情,我欣赏这里的政府和人民。这里有更好的环境,有公平的人才选拔机制,有更健全的制度和清廉的政府,有发达的公共设施和服务体制……我喜欢生活在这里更甚于生活在我的祖国,我想每个选择定居此地的新移民都无需否认这一点。可尽管我从不刻意抵制改变身份认同,但当我想到我的身份,我自然而然就会认定我是中国人。一个人的出生地,就像他的母体,两者之间有难以割裂的文化和地域血缘。既然无法改变,我们不如去尊重这种情感。

that is good, tell people you are a china man, at least more respectable than telling them you are a singaporean. even he has pink IC, he should tell people he is from china.

true!!

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/GYWKDmwa3Ks&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/GYWKDmwa3Ks&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/XvE5y7TAZUw&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/XvE5y7TAZUw&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/tSuEZSm8ZEA&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/tSuEZSm8ZEA&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/rkZ_A0MV3V0&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/rkZ_A0MV3V0&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Translated................

With the talk about "integration"

(2009-09-23)

Hot Topics
Hui-Wen Chang

In recent years, with the influx of new immigrants, "integration" and "integration" has become a hot topic, by politicians, academics, the media and extensive public debate. But I still have not seen on the "integration" and not specifically defined. For example, what constitutes an "integration"? "Integration" is there something more specific indicators? How to reach the community of "convergence" is more and more similar to different groups, or we each have their own strong luster, but it can get along well? Whether they are new immigrants, the "exotic" character is gone, localized accent, he really "into" the; whether, if people think that, as in Singapore only if they had a complete national identity not be completed until the "integration"?

Regardless of whether or not these problems have been widely accepted standard answer, or a limited field of vision, I do not see, I only talk about what I personally consider to "integration" or "integration" should have, conditions, or that my three measurement factors, and I am social "integration" of some views.

The first factor is "peaceful coexistence" (Live in harmony). And regardless of whether these new immigrants still liked to gather in their respective circles, living habits, they will speak what the accent, tend to say what kind of language, take a look at these new immigrants and natives, between the community between the different ethnic groups, whether be able to live in harmony, in some between groups, the existence of some kind of tension (tension) and instability factors.

Judging from the current situation, the Singapore society, between the old and new immigrants, between the different groups of migrants there is no obvious tension, we can live in harmony. But this does not mean you can sit back and relax, and policy-makers and the mass media need to always remain prudent in order to avoid potential tension, malicious generate and spread.

For example, the importation of foreign workers in the past two years, caused some people in the local fluctuations, caused some dissatisfaction among local people on the outsiders. Although we have repeatedly stressed that foreign workers to lower labor costs in China and promoting China's economic development significance, and to clarify the foreign workers are new immigrants, but still could not avoid "adverse impacts to fish" phenomenon.

Whether Singaporeans are ready for it?

With the recent adjustment of the Ministry of Manpower labor policy, strengthen management, the situation has noticeably improved, but fluctuations of public opinion prior to or reveal to the government: When the government support in certain industries, when a large number of imported foreign workers have not fully taken into account replaced the employment of workers in Singapore; when the Government was planning for the future blueprint for a large number of the occasion of the introduction of new immigrants, whether it has laid a solid foundation for education and publicity to get people's understanding and support of this plan?

The Government prior to the implementation of major initiatives, especially when this move will affect ordinary people's employment, daily life and social life, you should ask this question: whether Singaporeans are ready for it? Otherwise, the steps go too fast, did not fully take into account the psychological feelings of local people, as well as the job market, the absorptive capacity of the local community, even if it is conducive to long-term development of the wise, will give rise to resentment and become a potential "tension" roots.

The second factor is the "respect" (Respect). In the premise of peaceful coexistence, when the old and new immigrants, between different ethnic groups still maintain a certain distance between the not yet developed a close relationship between neighbors, before it can be the first to achieve mutual respect? Even if do not understand each other's differences, whether it must respect these differences, rather than easily denial, contempt, attack? In my opinion, so that we achieve the degree of mutual appreciation may require high, but the respect for others (even if the growth of this and your background, ways of thinking totally different) it is the residents of a civilized society should have the personality and demeanor. If the habit of thinking among the different groups can be respected, tolerant of differences, that is social "integration", ethnic relations in a healthy expression.
Respect for the step further, I will talk about the third factor - "cognitive" (Knowledge). Here, I use "cognitive" is the word may be a bit abstract, but if I use "knowledge" or "understanding" would dilute the word to express what I have been active understanding of the meaning of access to knowledge. I am referring to is the initiative to get information about other groups in society, religious practices, living habits, etc. common sense. Would like to stress that this does not refer to in-depth understanding, but to the basic, common-sense understanding, and social groups on communication between the daily. New immigrants should not be on the local customs, especially the different ethnic beliefs, habits indifference. For example, some people might Sheng Guo pork plate on the Islamic tableware collection vehicle, or invite colleagues to his Hindu taste of beef, which has virtually become an offense, which offense is derived from the "ignorance "(Ignorance).

Appreciation and understanding of open channel

Therefore, China's new immigrant communities engaged in volunteer work, I often just arrived immigrants, and some mention of such details. If we intend here to a long and happy life, we can not always be holding their same old, you want to take the initiative to understand the social customs, behavioral norms, to go to acquire the necessary knowledge. And "cognition" are equally important for local people, some of the bias for the new neighbors in fact derived from the "ignorant." The Government in assisting the integration process, has repeatedly stressed that among the new immigrants and local interaction, which is open to understand, cognitive channel, eliminating each other's ignorance.

If the new immigrant groups to comply with our legal system and general norms of social behavior, identity across ethnic groups, and universal moral values, able and locals live in harmony, mutual respect, can be more understanding of local cultural practices, in my It seems that this is a good way "integration" of. Between the old and new immigrants in Singapore society, between different ethnic groups if the three conditions mentioned above have, I think this is a "fusion" as a society.

The struggle new immigrants do not have to ask for my own utilitarian or for this country, do not have to speculate, questioning other people's motives, because the questioner himself may not have a fair measure. When the new immigrants in the local work hard and seek development opportunities for their own, he is for this country to seek opportunities for development, he is the promotion of social functioning of numerous one arm.

The hope that the new immigrants will soon get the same sense of identity with the locals, it is naive. The establishment of identity (Identity-building) is different from the legal process, instrument seal the physical properties of things. Identity has a strong emotional sense of identity, not nationality passports can be easily shaken. Personally, I find, I am 17 years old came to Singapore, where the university, work and settle in ... ... over the past fourteen years, I still understand that I am a Chinese. This sense of identity is cultural sense, not political, ideological, and environmental advantages and disadvantages. I also have deep feelings in Singapore, I appreciate the Government and the people here. There is a better environment, there is a fair mechanism for selecting personnel to have a better sound system and a clean government, has well-developed system of public facilities and services ... ... I like living here much more than living in my homeland, I want to Each of the new immigrants choose to settle here, is not necessary to deny this. Although I have never deliberately be resistance to change of identity, but when I think of my identity, I would be found naturally I am a Chinese. A person's place of birth, like his mother's body, fragmentation between the two is difficult cultural and geographical kinship. Since we can not change, we ought to respect such feelings.
Hypocritical "identity" Performance

When Mr Lee appears in a particular discussion of the issue of new immigrants at the time, there was new immigrants from China can not help Ms. generous confession "Siyeyaosi in Singapore." Do we actually need such hypocritical "identity" show do? If I were a wise Singaporeans, I am more willing to accept a contradiction despite a sense of identity, but honest work, a new compatriots.

"Identity" is a human process, although you can fertilize help them grow, but in the end have to respect the natural way, so time to bring the fruits of maturity. A part of China's first generation of new immigrants on the national identity, though still have reservations, but they were born and grew up in the second generation have generally been "I am a Singaporean," sense of identity, their national identity and local children is almost the same, which is naturally ripe fruit

A new immigrant friend told me that his son returned to China's grandparents home feel that China is not only the water so bitter, only willing to buy the supermarket to drink mineral water, but also always said "you Chinese" How to what gave him the feeling Some of helplessness. But I do think that on this point, do not have to hi do not have to worry about, but do not interfere. Children's identity a new identity, but without the barriers, so as not to have mixed feelings in the future, lost, and this might be better for them. But at least, do not let them lose their bodies, "ethnic Chinese" mark, we should guide them to respect their distinctive ethnic groups, unique culture, while respecting, understanding the cultural identity of other ethnic groups.
Finally, I want to say that "integration" of the society does not have to "assimilation", let alone so that we resemble each other. If we can maintain a society where different ethnic characteristics and personality, we should be able to accommodate new immigrants and personality characteristics of the body. Diverse and rich society, because it is like more than one out of civilization, colorful prism reflective light, Singapore's charm and vitality of all this. It wins in the blend, harmonize, but to maintain a variety of cultures, ethnic groups living character's personality and character, as with the very different colors draw pictures. Regardless of color how to enrich, it is still a complete picture, as regardless of the number of edge surface, it is still the one hand a complete mirror of our society and not because of its rich and diverse and fragmented. Singapore is beautiful, so it must not be monochromatic.

The author is China's new immigrant groups will be director of Huayuan, articles represent the personal views

Fuck your mother Shina pig!! The Great Nippon Empire will sack the Nanjing city again!! hahaha!!Banzai!! Banzai!!

USA army can easily defeat them.

Bro Singveld, not to forget to mention the Great Niipon Empire army & the Great Indian army or the Great Russian army!! I always welcome India to rule Tibet, Russia/korea to rule north east china & Japan to rule Taiwan cos these people are more civilised & cultured than the Shina pigs!:D

salah lah. Your chinese no good. Zhong Guo Ren = Chinaman. Hua Ren = Chinese.

Singaporean Chinese will use the term huaren not zhongguoren.

I beg to differ.

Zhong Guo Ren = Chinese.
Hua Ren = of Chinese descent.