• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC FTrash Conducts Large-Scale Fishing in Drains. No Action Despite Complaint to NEA

[h=1]DEAR TRS, PRCS ARE DOING ILLEGAL COMMERCIAL FISHING IN OUR LONG KANG[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
2 Nov 2014 - 11:14am

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Dear The Real Singapore,

I want to report a case of illegal commercial fishing in my house area. Please keep my identity anonymous. As you can see from the photos, these PRCs are attaching a large net across the entire long kang trapping whatever fish that is swimming through.

Worse of all they are throwing plastic bags and all sort of rubbish into the long kang too!

This will greatly reduce the diversity of fishes in our long kang because whenever they pull out the fishes there are a dozen fishes in the net. Our Long Kang is already very polluted by a lot of rubbish being thrown in there and such commercial fishing method is definitely illegal. I have lodged a complaint to NEA and I haven't heard back from them.

xV1vqpK.jpg

P1QF292.png

brKP0xu.jpg

tFnbH5U.png

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

I hope some actions can be taken towards these PRCs because they are endangering our waters and for recreational fisherman like myself, I certainly do not wish our long kang to have 0 fishes in there.
From what I can see, these PRCs do it every few days and it seems like they are cooking these fishes for themselves to eat everyday. Such behaviour should not be tolerated as it is damaging to our environment.

Mohd Shahri

Re: PRC FTrash Conducts Large-Scale Fishing in Drains. No Action Despite Complaint to

deleted...

Re: PRC FTrash Conducts Large-Scale Fishing in Drains. No Action Despite Complaint to

If they fish to makan themselves is okay lah.....those longkang fish probably overdosed on heavy metals and pollutants.

Wow this is taking it a little far lei, fishing from a drain can be considered commercial fishing, kinda far fetched. More likely Mr m&d unhappy about loss of his fishing spot or eye red when he has lack of catch compared to the 2 PRC.

Personally, I think environmental damage/protection has to be an effort from more channels other than those who engage in fishing, but looking at it from the activity of angling, fishing should only be permitted on a rod and reel. Net fishing should be banned, allowed only to those who possess a commercial fishing licence. Also, for those who fish for recreation, make it illegal to keep fish under a certain size, and limit the catch to 4 or 5 fish per outing (that's a lucky haul already).

And anglers caught using live bait - jail sentence for them.

To enforce this, form a Park and Recreation Ranger Squad with powers to arrest.

If they fish to makan themselves is okay lah.....those longkang fish probably overdosed on heavy metals and pollutants.

maybe they are catching fish to make those fish slice soup for sale at koufu or kopitiam food court?

anyway its crazy,when i saw two tiongs draggin a net the size of two tennis nets from one side of the bridge to the other,what can they possibly catch from the river?

maybe they are catching fish to make those fish slice soup for sale at koufu or kopitiam food court?

anyway its crazy,when i saw two tiongs draggin a net the size of two tennis nets from one side of the bridge to the other,what can they possibly catch from the river?

What they catch? discarded condoms, sanitary pads, discarded disposable diapers, "hoon kee" butts...plus the fish, they just throw into the stock pot..so next time, you eat at Food court with the ah tiong serving you....consider where they got the fishes to make fish soup stock... ha ha ha

mmmmh yum!!shi chuan mala mah puo tofu with kallang fish soup.derrricious!!!!!oishi desu!!!!!

PRCs have an ingrained habit of ignoring any law or local custom that stands in their way of making money / saving money. That includes public defecation to save on the entrance fee for the public toilets.

hope PRCs can eat our stray cats and dog problems............rats too..........away..........