PMET forced to cab driving to make a living

soikee

Blame it on the 60% who deserve to be fucked by the PAPies!

http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/03/18/a-pmet-forced-to-switch-to-driving-taxi/

I am 45 yrs old and married with 2 kids. Early this year, I applied for a taxi license from LTA. Upon approval, I signed up with SMRT taxi company to take up the taxi course (3 weeks) and fortunately I passed on the first attempt.

I did not take up any government training schemes. Most courses promoted by the government agencies are partially subsidized but little relevancy and only at certificate level.

I started the taxi driving business on 1st April and I have being driving cab for the past 5 months. My monthly average earning is about $2K+ which is sufficient for my personal and household expenses and bills but not much for savings though.

I was retrenched in mid July 2009 as a Senior Manager working in a MNC semi-conductor company, earning S$7,000/month. After I was retrenched, I was not able to get the same employment due to the financial crisis then. So, I decided to move to Insurance and Financial planning but it lasted 10 months, after which I decided to quit and was jobless for almost 6 months. Had written hundreds of resume but to no avail. I think companies are looking for younger candidates like those below 35 yrs old.

In the end, I decided I cannot go on without any work as I need to survive and feed my family and pay bills. Hence, I turn to taxi driving as a stop gap measure and also out of desperation.

I worked longer hours now, averaging 12 to16 hours every day except Sunday which I rested to spend some time with my family. My family has taken to my job switch quite positively as I get to drive them around to malls, coffee shop and favourite food outlets. They supported my decision.

I generally agree that foreigners are displacing us from the job market because the service and hospitality sectors are employing cheaper foreigners to help them lower their costs.

Even though PM Lee has recently announced that the Employment Pass qualifying criteria will be raised from $2800 to $3000, I think it’s a little late. And, I believed the SMEs may under declare or tweak salary to conform to the new policy rule and get away scot-free!

I’m driving taxi for the interim… as to how long, I am still contemplating and on constant lookout for new market and business opportunities that may arise. My advice to those who are jobless now is to take whatever jobs that come to you. Continue to seek passion in the work that you do and be a passionate and optimistic person, seeking continually to upgrade yourself where applicable.

its sad what he has to go through.....and to a certain extent what we all have to go through since we are affected directly or indirectly by this 'Import ' policy

1. manufacturing on sheepishland is some finished biz.
2. its golden era had gone down the drain!
3. honest, now this is some twilight.

This is more common than you expect.
Many sinkies are now reduced to working in such jobs while others are forced to work in their old age.
THIS IS WHAT THE 60.1% CHOSE.
FUCK THE 60.1% and pray that you won't be next.

bro..i kena screwed long ago....its just i never share here . You can bet i was not among the 60%

Many sinkies are now reduced to working in such jobs while others are forced to work in their old age.

work 12 hours a day might as well go sell credit card, can earn 8 - 9k per month

8-9k sinkie dollars?
LANJIAO HOR NI KAR (you would like that don't you?)
Dun use those exceptional cases as examples pls....

Are u sure? I ever pass by those make shift counter at some MRT station. Looking at the sales promoters, very stressful leh. And alot of passer by juz gave em the miss..

It's sales so technically it is not impossible. My friend's 21 year old son working part-time can get 4k per month liao but he is the rare exception rather than the norm.

Last time it is possible but not anymore. Look at the amount of banks promoting their cards now. Any smart person will stick to 1-2 card and clock the points. Having 10-20 cards is stupid.

He should have enrolled in the 赌神 course and make $$$$ with the double-up method.

Even though PM Lee has recently announced that the Employment Pass qualifying criteria will be raised from $2800 to $3000, I think it’s a little late. And, I believed the SMEs may under declare or tweak salary to conform to the new policy rule and get away scot-free!

I’m driving taxi for the interim… as to how long, I am still contemplating and on constant lookout for new market and business opportunities that may arise. My advice to those who are jobless now is to take whatever jobs that come to you. Continue to seek passion in the work that you do and be a passionate and optimistic person, seeking continually to upgrade yourself where applicable.
I belong to this age group and held lower position than this senior manager in MNC. Find it hard to believe a 'senior manager' did not have any career backup plans. The FT policy was not implemented yesterday. He is lucky that he need not compete with FTs to drive taxis.

1. honest, sheepishland golden era has gone.
2. those snr managers from the rank & file kena big time!
3. once its employer downsized or moved out.
4. the next employer just cannot afford the high expectations.
5. such individuals have to return to ground zero again!
6. it is sad but pretty real.
7. hard truth, if sheep don't prepare for the worst-case scenario, scaling down!
8. continue to believe any crap from some sheep!
9. doomsday acoming.

If he works 12 16 hours selling credit cards cannot get 8 9k also can get 4k It all depends on whether you willing or not

The sale person always call asking me to get loans, cards,etc.

I will let him talk lah....when he finish, I ask unemployed can apply or not. He put down the phone immediately.

Nabeh, when need money bank dun wannt loan. When dun need, they kept on calling with offer.

1. honest, sheepishland golden era has gone.
2. those snr managers from the rank & file kena big time!
3. once its employer downsized or moved out.
4. the next employer just cannot afford the high expectations.
5. such individuals have to return to ground zero again!
6. it is sad but pretty real.

Hope the 60% will wake up their idea come 2016.

The sale person always call asking me to get loans, cards,etc.

I will let him talk lah....when he finish, I ask unemployed can apply or not. He put down the phone immediately.

Nabeh, when need money bank dun wannt loan. When dun need, they kept on calling with offer.
Hahaha. Ah Pui, this is what I do when I am stopped by these outdoor sales in Sinkeeland. But the truth is I am unemployed.

Those Fucktard 60.01% are those

elite and p L p and those working

in GLC and GLC controlled companies

and the govt services !!! pui !!!

My heart goes out to this guy. He wrote a decent letter without being drammatic. It is such a shame for him and his family to be retrenched at mid 40s.

What has happened to this country? 25 years ago, the semi- conductor sector was the new way and it delivered so much to this country. He was part of that team. Now we have tossed him out.

When teens and friends ask for advice on their kid's future, I tell them that any advice from this govt tends to focus on the short term and to treat the wider world as potential career base. I remember how this govt trumpeted the need for chemical engineers, made NUS start a programme and by the second batch, this area disappeared.