• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee promise to help the poor in next month budget, GST confirmed 10%

songsongjurong

?

Whenever they promise and deliver help to lesser & lessiest mortals..one thing forty sure, GST is coming sooner than you expect...
18-Jan14-Cover_2-nd.jpg

?

Whenever they promise and deliver help to lesser & lessiest mortals..one thing forty sure, GST is coming sooner than you expect...
18-Jan14-Cover_2-nd.jpg

Helping the poor is really wealth redistribution. Unfortunately it will redistribute more from middle income than from the rich!!

10% GST is inevitable. It's just a matter of time before the dogs implement it.

oh, god... I hope they don't help. Everytime PAP "help" us, it ends up we paying more.....
increase GST, increase minister pay, increase bus/mrt fare, increase erp, increase taxi fare, increase town council fees, increase petrol cost, increase everything under the sun, except our salaries.

As always,they will publicly declare to the world they will give u S$1.00 but later will take back from u S$10.00 .Nothing is free in Singapore Incorporated.KNNCCB to the MIW !!!

Helping the poor is really wealth redistribution. Unfortunately it will redistribute more from middle income than from the rich!!

PAP's way of 'helping the poor' is like attempting to put out a fire by dousing it with kerosene.

Maybe it was part of the plan, or maybe they're just to plain daft to see the truth.

10% GST is inevitable. It's just a matter of time before the dogs implement it.

Some silly things should be exempt from GST. For example, your vehicle gets wheel clamped and the release fee is $100 + 7% GST = $107. I'm sure you can think of other examples.

Will the PAP dogs do something about this? What do you think? :rolleyes:

looks like GE would come way before 2016 :D:D:D

I think their game plan might be: To raise the GST to 10% before 2016, and hope they will only lose 1 more GRC + SMC. Still the majority, and us Singaporeans have no choice but to suck our thumbs harder to wait for 2021. :D:D

I sincerely hope that the PAP does not take any further steps to help the poor.

Helping the poor never results in a positive outcome. All it does is swell the numbers and encourage a crutch mentality amongst those who are given assistance.

The best way of helping the poor is to leave them to their own devices. When they realise that they'll have to work harder in order to keep their heads above water, they'll rise to the occasion and the whole country benefits.

Some silly things should be exempt from GST. For example, your vehicle gets wheel clamped and the release fee is $100 + 7% GST = $107. I'm sure you can think of other examples.

Will the PAP dogs do something about this? What do you think? :rolleyes:

To truly help the poor, I believe that basic necessities shouldn't have GST. However, those million dollar scholars are too lazy to segregate the list out, and decides to lump it all together. :mad:

Bor, Releasing your wheel clamp is considered "service", hence the 7% GST. :D

Sugar, rice, cooking oil, salt. Things like these shouldn't have GST. Brings the cost lower, makes it more affordable for the lower income to buy them. Of course, it indirectly benefits the middle and upper income class. But think about it. Who goes to fine restaurants? Dine at fancy places? Goes exotic holiday vacations? Tax this group I say. Generate your GST income and offset it from another group in the society. Trade-offs are required. The lazy way is to tax EVERY SINGLE THING. Which, honestly, isn't working at all.

1st world standards, 3rd world living condition. That's what the dogs are aiming for. And they are doing a damn fine job. :oIo:

I sincerely hope that the PAP does not take any further steps to help the poor.

I'm not for helping the poor by means of cash payouts and such. That will make them lazy and content. I'm all for helping the poor, in terms of making things cheaper for purchase. Counting on govt handouts is not the right way to do.

"Helping the poor" is simply an excuse for the PAP to increase their revenue stream.

If the intent of the PAP was to REALLY help the poor they can simply reduce the defence expenditure, have GST exemptions on basics like food, medical,... etc

also

they should release people's CPF.

Garmen should help the poor by working closely with lower cost countries to export them..after that release their cpf to them. Without garmen intervention, the lower cost countries does not welcome them too.

To truly help the poor, I believe that basic necessities shouldn't have GST. However, those million dollar scholars are too lazy to segregate the list out, and decides to lump it all together. :mad:

Exactly right. :mad:
You ask any of them, they will tell you that it's administratively cumbersome, but that's only because all of them can easily afford it despite most being undeserving of their exorbitant salaries.

Exactly right. :mad:
You ask any of them, they will tell you that it's administratively cumbersome, but that's only because all of them can easily afford it despite most being undeserving of their exorbitant salaries.

Yeah lor lazy like hell, where got cumbersome when almost every country is doing this?!

I think their game plan might be: To raise the GST to 10% before 2016, and hope they will only lose 1 more GRC + SMC.

if GST is raised before next GE, the MIW risk losing a lot more. integrity is something they value? :p:p:p

Better to raise in 2014 than in 2015. Sinkies have a short term memory.

Sinkies have a short term memory.

not true, Sinkies gian png... throw them some goodies and they selectively forget certain things. once GE over, everything remember again...