PM Lee "One whole FAMILY earn $1,000/mth can buy flat" (so why you guys complaining?)

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/national-day-rally-2013-live-updates

pm6.jpg

HOUSING

8.20pm: “We built record number of new flats, delinked new flat prices from resale market and allowed singles to buy BTO. We want to help Singaporeans own their own homes, raise loving families and build strong communities. I will make sure every Singaporean family who is working can afford a HDB flat. We can do that.”

8.24pm: “A family earning $1,000 can afford a 2-room flat. Those who earn $2,000 can buy 3-room flat. And those who earn S$4,000 can afford a 4-roomm flat if they use their CPF to pay off 25-year loan. We will give families who can afford 2-room flats Step-Up Housing Grants to help them upgrade to 3-room flats. We will also extend grants so that a middle-income household will get up to S$20,000 more if they buy a 4-room flat.”

Full story at: http://tdy.sg/14r1W4i

Re: PM Lee "One whole FAMILY earn $1,000/mth can buy flat" (so why you guys complaini

More support to help lower, middle-income afford a home: PM Lee

16016454.JPG

National Day Rally 2013: New grant for updgraders, more subsidies for middle-income households

BY
SUMITA D/O SREEDHARAN
-17 HOURS 26 MIN AGO
SINGAPORE — More support will be given to lower and middle income households so that they will be able to afford a home, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Families who opt for two-room flats and wish to upgrade to a three-room flat later on in life, can qualify for a Step-Up Housing Grant, which will help them defray some of the cost of upgrading.

The Special CPF Housing grant (SHG) will be extended to those who wish to purchase four-room flats. Currently, it is only open to those who purchase smaller units such as two or three room units. The income ceiling will also be raised so that middle-income households will be eligible.

With the changes, a middle-income household stands to get subsidies of up to S$20,000 or more if they purchase a four-room flat.

Mr Lee assured: “I will make sure every Singaporean family who is working will be able to afford a HDB flat.” :eek:

However, he cautioned that bringing down Build-To-Order (BTO) flat prices would hurt all homeowners. Instead, the Government will work to keep BTO prices “stable”, and increase support for low- and middle-income households.

He acknowledged that Singaporeans are still worried about rising property prices despite the policy shifts in the last two years to improve the housing situation in Singapore. Singaporeans also want their homes to ideally be both a home and an asset - Mr Lee cited the example of a participant at the Our Singapore Conversation dialogue session who said she wanted her property to appreciate in value but also wanted cheaper housing for her kids.

While Government cannot deliver on everything, it can maintain the value of Housing and Development Board flats for old age, while keeping flats affordable for future flat buyers, he said.

Re: PM Lee "One whole FAMILY earn $1,000/mth can buy flat" (so why you guys complaini

Truly a wonderful and caring government.

However, in my opinion, they're giving away too much to the undeserving and this may result in the entitlement mentality amongst Singaporeans becoming more firmly entrenched.

If LKY was still in charge, he would expect people to actually work hard in order to earn their just rewards.

Scroobal (clone) said:
8.24pm: “[B]A family earning $1,000 can afford a 2-room flat.
Full story at: [url]http://tdy.sg/14r1W4i[/url][/QUOTE]

Just nice for new citizens (ah tiongs, ah nehs and pinoys) who are going to form the bulk of the projected 6.9m. It will prevent similar episodes of 22 PRCs, each paying $250/-pm cramming into a 4-room flat, ([url]http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?159473-4-RM-HDB-Flat-Sublet-to-22-PRCs-by-PRC-Main-Tenant&[/url]). To these foreigners the 2-room flats would be heaven compared to their shit-hole living conditions of their native homeland. Singapore is truly looking well after the welfare of new citizens. Unless there are restrictions on the resale of these 2-room units, after a few years, foreigners would be able to sell them on the open market at huge profits and balek kampong.

Yeah, and buying an overpriced pigeon hole and saddling yourself with hefty debt is the ultimate life goal for a Sinkie. :rolleyes:

Worst still...the average sinkie Joe needs to make sure he has a job so to pay for his flat mortgages and stress up much just to keep his job and constant job seeking....for a flat which eventually does not belong to him..

How fucking stupid is that?

Worst still...the average sinkie Joe needs to make sure he has a job so to pay for his flat mortgages and stress up much just to keep his job and constant job seeking....for a flat which eventually does not belong to him..

How fucking stupid is that?

Sinkie MUST be fucking stupid.

He never said Sinkie should 'own' them.

Read between the lines when he talked.

That is how successful ones thrive on the island while others perish. hahaha

and you bunch of losers still stubbornly stay in sinkieland... good luck for screwing up your future generation.

And i wonder which short arsed minister that drove the prices of HDB up in the 1st place.

1985. central Sgp, >$2k salary can pay within 10 yrs for a 4rm.
1978, Whampo Market area, 4rm point block, almost $10K.
Now, 2room x25yrs loan.
He forgot to ensure locals' employability. or did not care at all.

1985. central Sgp, >$2k salary can pay within 10 yrs for a 4rm.
1978, Whampo Market area, 4rm point block, almost $10K.
Now, 2room x25yrs loan.
He forgot to ensure locals' employability. or did not care at all.

Back then 2 room flats were for the poor folks.
My family was poor, my dad sole breadwinner did not have cpf as he was self employed and still he was able to afford 3 room flat at least.
In fact since decades ago they have stopped building 2 room flats and 3 room altogether....
Now they bring these tiny flats back....
Pap is moving the country in reverse direction.

Singapore has one of the lowest unemployment rates in the world. What more is there to ensure? :rolleyes:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_unemployment_rate

Please once again...those who have studied the statistics, will know that the figure is "massaged",,,yes! we do have one of the lowest unemployment rates in the world...but there are a lot of unemployed people...who drift in & out of jobs...who in some quarter reporting are listed as employed!!

Ok, we still better off...still well fed & there no street protests...but all these have sunk to the bottom of the barrel like 'dreg' & soon one day the BOTTOM WILL FALL OFF - WE WILL BE IN DEEP TROUBLE!...bring in more FT...the bottom will go!!

He should be ashamed that there are people earning $1k per month. :oIo::kma:

He is not the one who should be ashamed. It's the useless people earning this sort of chickenshit salary who should be ashamed of their inability to earn more in such a dynamic and thriving economy.

It proves just how useless some sinkies are. :rolleyes:

If we were in the US, the opposition would challenge this idiot to show how he arrive at his numbers. $4000 a month able to buy a 4-room flat with a 25 years loan? Yeah, sure... if all your $4000 goes to the home loan.

He is not the one who should be ashamed. It's the useless people earning this sort of chickenshit salary who should be ashamed of their inability to earn more in such a dynamic and thriving economy.

It proves just how useless some sinkies are. :rolleyes:

$1k is no chickenshit. One can buy a HDB flat in Sinkieland you know?
Decades down the road, they can sell it and retire comfortably in other countries.

Back then 2 room flats were for the poor folks.
My family was poor, my dad sole breadwinner did not have cpf as he was self employed and still he was able to afford 3 room flat at least.
In fact since decades ago they have stopped building 2 room flats and 3 room altogether....
Now they bring these tiny flats back....
Pap is moving the country in reverse direction.

The reverse direction applies only to non-Elites, ppl with stagnanted salaries or ppl who simply in their view just are the undesirable types.

Now ppl have to ask themselves here.

Do you fall into any of the above categories?

If we were in the US, the opposition would challenge this idiot to show how he arrive at his numbers. $4000 a month able to buy a 4-room flat with a 25 years loan? Yeah, sure... if all your $4000 goes to the home loan.

No he did not say that.

Or he could mean, now if you earn $4000, Sinkie can just start to hope and find that pigeon hole.

Upon signing OTP the next month your pay should be more than $4000.

By next year after owning your pigeon hole for a year, your pay should be more then $6000.

In other words, what he meant was, if you think your pay would only come to at best $4000, you should be looking to go to JB instead. LOLOLOLOLOLOL