• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee on Singapore's survival....

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said Singapore's survival "depends on our living the Global-Asia story - connecting Asia to the world and vice versa".

In his keynote speech at the first Singapore Summit on Friday evening, Mr Lee said the country is at the crossroads of Global-Asia and must adapt to changes, like all countries and businesses.

Mr Lee said Singapore is closely linked to key Asian markets - China, India and ASEAN - while many MNCs are in Singapore.

He added that global and Asian forces are constantly at play here, and Singapore's survival depends on the Global-Asia story.

Mr Lee said Singapore has to prepare for risk scenarios, such as the economic troubles in Europe and the US, the trend of rising nationalism and the shift in the strategic balance as China grows stronger, just in case they materialise.

He said: "We have to prepare for the risk scenarios just in case they materialise. We need an economy which is resilient, able to cope with a protracted global downturn; we need a strong armed forces and home team of security and police to protect ourselves against security threats and dangers.

"We need to build social cohesion to strengthen our sense of togetherness. While we prepare for this, we also hope that the risks will be successfully contained and on balance I believe this is likely and therefore we should not neglect to prepare ourselves for a good outcome, that is for a challenging but bright future."

To do this, Singapore must first harness the "Global-Asia Confluence" by becoming a springboard for companies venturing into and out of Asia.

The second challenge, said Prime Minister Lee, is to embrace globalisation and at the same time, strengthen the nation to cope with the risks.

One way is to promote economic integration and free trade while the next is to equip people with the skills and mindsets to meet competition.

Mr Lee said it is also important for Singapore to build foreign reserves and strengthen the social safety nets to cope with volatility and uncertainty.

Also key to meeting the challenges is mastering technology to transform Singapore into a smart city.

Finally, Singapore has to adapt to the rapid social changes brought about by social media.

"We are especially affected by this because we are small, we are open, completely English-educated, you don't even need Google to translate the web for you to understand, we are totally wired up and totally wirelessly accessible.

"There is no magic formula or handbook for doing this. Nobody has an answer, all are looking for the way forward. We have to exploit fully the internet and the social media but institute safeguards against its misuse," Mr Lee said.

All these, he said, aim to keep Singapore a special place to live, work and play at the crossroads of Asia and the world.

Mr Lee added that the Singapore Summit is another example of how Singapore can harness benefits of the Global-Asia confluence.

He said the future global landscape will be shaped by the flow of ideas and the summit is a neutral platform to bring together thought leaders and successful practitioners from East and West, not just to discuss global issues in Asia, but also to focus on the ideas, partnerships and opportunities arising from the confluence of Global-Asia.

- CNA/ck

Saw Mr Lee Kuan Yew on TV...He spoke on Singapore 's survival after leaving Malaysia. Power man!!!

Agree.

We, the poor citizens are really struggling to survive ..... especially with the lock-up of the cpf and the ever increasing retirement age. Are we going to work to death ?:mad:

Go global is the message to all Singaporeans....PM Lee said go global. Mr LKY said we survived because of globalisation.

So our CPF money must also go global and invest globally....Am I correct ?

Singapore is a little red dot, very brittle, surrounded by Muslim countries, many races, young country (thought oredy 47), etc

Just say only PAP & famiLEE can manage Singapore lah!

FUCK YOU

Go global is the message to all Singaporeans....PM Lee said go global. Mr LKY said we survived because of globalisation.

So our CPF money must also go global and invest globally....Am I correct ?

No, not correct. If that old fart wants to go global, he can use his own money.

CPF money don't belong to him. CPF money belongs to the CPF accountholders.

No, not correct. If that old fart wants to go global, he can use his own money.

CPF money don't belong to him. CPF money belongs to the CPF accountholders.

Datok, Agree.

How can they suka suka lock up OUR hard earned money by ever increasing the retirement age? Like this, we have to work until 70 before we can enjoy our toil and swet !!! :mad:

We poor people are the worst affected !!! Especially with ailments and still have to work towards the retirement age before we can get our monthly payouts!!:mad:

I think we should have some good news if we continue to ask for early release.

... We poor people are the worst affected !!! Especially with ailments and still have to work towards the retirement age before we can get our monthly payouts!!:mad:
u wat poor? ... stil can afford $500 2 slowly play young melons ...

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said Singapore's survival "depends on our living the Global-Asia story - connecting Asia to the world and vice versa".

What '' Global ''..??? Global his father limp lanjiao lah..

This pussy PM is making his family and his cronies become richer and more richer leeching the peasants's CPF money, the sweat and the sacrifices of Sinkie peasants..

In the end it only benefits him, his family and his cronies.. Ordinary Sporeans are left to feed on crumbs and scraps..

Datok, Agree.

How can they suka suka lock up OUR hard earned money by ever increasing the retirement age? Like this, we have to work until 70 before we can enjoy our toil and swet !!! :mad:

We poor people are the worst affected !!! Especially with ailments and still have to work towards the retirement age before we can get our monthly payouts!!:mad:

Tow Kay,

Thanks for agreeing. Can you up me please?

Kum siah in advance. Will return fave.

Saw Mr Lee Kuan Yew on TV...He spoke on Singapore 's survival after leaving Malaysia. Power man!!!

that's the past, pls focus on the future & how ordinary Singaporeans are going to survive in their old age, everybody will get sick when you're old, fact of nature, people are worried about growing old & you know Singaporeans, don't want to trouble family & friends to ask for money & help, so it's a worrying thought for many.

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said Singapore's survival "depends on our living the Global-Asia story - connecting Asia to the world and vice versa".

LOL. The 'Global-Asia story'. What the fuck does that mean?

Must have been some catchphrase concocted by one of the scholars.

Pinky, you are so full of shit.

LOL. The 'Global-Asia story'. What the fuck does that mean?

Must have been some catchphrase concocted by one of the scholars.

Pinky, you are so full of shit.

Indeed. There are a lot of such jiak liao bees in Singapore who are good at nothing other than spouting corporate speak. KNN my blood pressure shoots up every time some sinkie corporate idiot uses the phrase "think outside the box". And don't get me started on those jokers who use "revert" in business emails. :mad:

Sinkapore's survival depends on leeching the citizens bone dry and laundering dirty money from corrupted foreigners.

Wait till he speak on TV on SINapore survival, after he had left this world..lagi power! only broadcast by Media Corpse, the Official TV Channel!

Sinkapore's survival depends on leeching the citizens bone dry and laundering dirty money from corrupted foreigners.

Since time immemorial. Without the expertise and funds of foreigners, Singapore is nothing but a 2nd-tier city in Asia. :rolleyes: